We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old Savoy!”
Review of Hotel Savoy Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Moscow
Ranked #156 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very beautiful ancient manor at the center of Moscow!Walkable distances for the Kremlin and Red Square,good malls and magazines,Also at the back of the Bolshoi!Food could be better as the restaurant is a piece-of-art!And there are fine restaurants close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the low numbers!They have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 794 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is just around the corner from the Park Hyatt Ararat, close to Red Square and the Metro, and across the street from the Hotel Metropole. This is a historic property, and we stayed here and at the Hyatt to get the taste of the new and old Moscow. The breakfast buffet in the palatial dining room was sumptuous. The concierge was patient and helpful. Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed the large marble bathroom. The doormen and people at the front desk were especially courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adrienne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is my favorite hotel in Moscow which i use on my trips to Moscow. The rooms are historic and a decent size with nice marble bathrooms. The staff overall are super nice and helpful. The only exception being the bar staff on the ground floor who seem to be half asleep and not particularly interested in serving you, but this is the only fault i can find with the hotel. Breakfasts are varied and tasty and the restaurant is incredibly beautiful, it's like eating in a museum. The food in the restaurant / room service is very nice and mainly traditionally Russian, it is slightly pricey though but this is in line with all other five star hotels in the city.

As I am a regular in the hotel the stuff recognize me and also they put fruits in my room and a bottle of sparkling wine to say thank you. Occasionally I get upgraded as well.

The hotel is a short walk away from Red Square, the Kremlin and is very close to some of the best restaurants in Moscow.

So if you are looking for a hotel to stay on business or as a tourist i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EugeniaRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

All "good" hotels in Moscow are expensive, and the Savoy is no exception. However, by comparison to some of the others, it is slightly better value for money, but all things are relative!

The Savoy was the first western standard hotel to open in Moscow and in 1990 was an oasis of civilisation in the (then) Soviet slough of despond. It had its faults (mostly the staff's attitude and lack of service) but that was a small price to pay at that time not to stay in the old Intourist slum. Since then, the Savoy has moved on but the staff's attitude remains mixed with some not quite getting the concept of "service", although others are very good (especially the younger staff). All the reception staff I dealt with were helpful and friendly - I was most impressed - with very good spoken English.

The hotel itself is very comfortable in an old fashioned way and undoubtedly has "style". However, I definitely did not like the fact that people were smoking cigars in the public spaces, and sitting in the bar's gallery I had noticeble cigar smells pouring over me from the air conditioning vent!

The rooms are reasonably well equipped for business travel with free wifi (which works throughout the hotel) but it is not the fastest broadband I have used. The TV has a number of English language news channels but no English entertainment channels. The room I stayed in was very comfortable, but noisy because it was right by the lift and overlooked the front door - better sound proofing would have been nice. There were not enough power sockets by the desk, which was somewhat small and crowded because the rather large flat-screen TV took up 2/3rds of the space - it would have been better mounted on the wall. The curtains were very thick with a blackout lining, which was a nice touch so it was possible to cut out all the outside light.

Getting to the restaurant is a bit of an oddessy but well worth it - a beautiful room with excellent food. The buffet breakfast was good but not exceptional.

The hotel is reasonably well located - not quite as central as some of the others - but the atrocious Moscow traffic makes access very, very difficult. It is located in a busy but narrow side street and it takes at least half an hour by car to get more than 1km away from the hotel during the morning or evening rush hours and finding a (temporary) parking spot anywhere near the front entrance is virtually impossible, even with the hotel's uniformed doorman trying to control the space in front of the doors - making arrival and departure with suitcases fraught!. Double parking becomes the norm, blocking the road, so one can be within 100 metres of the front door and not moving for minutes at a time whilst others are loading and unloading.

All in all, some plusses and some minuses, making it an average hotel to stay in the middle of Moscow for a business trip. There are about a dozen similar quality hotels in the city centre and I will continue to check the prices of all of them and choose the one with the best rate on the day - if it is the Savoy, I will not reject it, but I would not choose it if one of the others is cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meatcruncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Arrived here early and they allowed me to check in early in to my room. The hotel is simply magnificent. Breakfast is amazing, and free wifi everywhere. My only gripe is that smoking is a problem, not just here but throughout Russia. A hotel with no smoking rooms shouldn't have seats in the hallways with ashtrays for people to smoke at. Especially if there is poor air circulation to begin with. The smell of cigarette smoke lingers everywhere, and at times does come in to the room. Barring that, the staff is very attentive, courteous, and polite. The concierge is a lovely lady who will guide you to wherever it is you wish to visit in moscow.

Room Tip: If smoking is a concern for you, I found getting a room as far away from the elevator as possible wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AfshinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good solid hotel. Very comfortable with a great location. Short walk to Red Square and Kremlin. Convenient to about three different subway lines within a short walk. Front desk not particularly warm, but courteous and proper. Rooms nicely appointed and clean. Gorgeous breakfast room with a decent buffet.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JRLAW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

All things considered this is a very nice hotel to stay at for a fair price. The location is great, the rooms are generally clean and the staff was helpful. You are right next to quite a few sights including Red Square, the Kremlin, Tsum and the Bolshoi Theater. The drawback was that it just feels dated. The rooms may be clean but they are an old feeling clean.

Watching the people dodge cars racing up on the hill outside the hotel was like watching a real life game of frogger. (There’s an underpass to avoid this)

The one thing I will warn is that the tub/shower is quite a bit high up. I can easily see person slipping and getting hurt badly on the way down. If you are elderly or have mobility problems this could be an issue. Most of the staff speaks English with no problems at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 327 in Moscow
3,313 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Moscow

Address: Rozhdestvenka Street/ 3/6, Bld. 1, Moscow 109012, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#16 Family Hotel in Moscow
#32 Business Hotel in Moscow
#88 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $149 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy hotel is a proper place for travelers who put at a high value service and comfort. It is a historical hotel located in the very heart of Moscow, within a walking distance from the major tourist attractions, the Kremlin, Red Square, the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters. Now it is one of the first designer hotels where the ambience of the old Moscow mansion goes well with all present-day services and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Savoy Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Moscow
Moscow Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing