We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value, Great Service”
Review of Hotel Savoy Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Moscow
Ranked #197 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Arrived here early and they allowed me to check in early in to my room. The hotel is simply magnificent. Breakfast is amazing, and free wifi everywhere. My only gripe is that smoking is a problem, not just here but throughout Russia. A hotel with no smoking rooms shouldn't have seats in the hallways with ashtrays for people to smoke at. Especially if there is poor air circulation to begin with. The smell of cigarette smoke lingers everywhere, and at times does come in to the room. Barring that, the staff is very attentive, courteous, and polite. The concierge is a lovely lady who will guide you to wherever it is you wish to visit in moscow.

Room Tip: If smoking is a concern for you, I found getting a room as far away from the elevator as possible wo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AfshinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Savoy Moscow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 773 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good solid hotel. Very comfortable with a great location. Short walk to Red Square and Kremlin. Convenient to about three different subway lines within a short walk. Front desk not particularly warm, but courteous and proper. Rooms nicely appointed and clean. Gorgeous breakfast room with a decent buffet.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JRLAW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

All things considered this is a very nice hotel to stay at for a fair price. The location is great, the rooms are generally clean and the staff was helpful. You are right next to quite a few sights including Red Square, the Kremlin, Tsum and the Bolshoi Theater. The drawback was that it just feels dated. The rooms may be clean but they are an old feeling clean.

Watching the people dodge cars racing up on the hill outside the hotel was like watching a real life game of frogger. (There’s an underpass to avoid this)

The one thing I will warn is that the tub/shower is quite a bit high up. I can easily see person slipping and getting hurt badly on the way down. If you are elderly or have mobility problems this could be an issue. Most of the staff speaks English with no problems at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Without a doubt, the rooms at the Savoy are gorgeous. They are absolutely up to the standard of any top rate European hotel, including every decorating detail and every hygenic comfort in the bathrooms. Indeed, even the hallways are adorned with lovely original oil paintings of Russian countrysides. The breakfast, which is included, is served in the hotel's restaurant which is truly over the top decadent in the style of many of the ornate palaces which you might find yourself visiting while in Russia. The food was typical breakfast fare. And good luck trying to get someone to pour you coffee, just get up and get it yourself. : )
The reason I didn't rate the hotel higher is probably a function of the fact that it's run by… Russians. I know that sounds terrible, but after an extended stay in the country I've come to the conclusion that the Russian people just don't really understand the concept of the "service and hospitality" industry. We had several encounters with the folks at the reception desk at the Savoy that were very unhelpful - and they really seemed completely unaware that we were unsatisfied and that they had not helped us out at all. Including annoyed looks when we asked directions or when we asked them to call a cab for us.
The first example of this lack of awareness was apparent when we checked in - after many, many hours of travel, the person at the reception desk was highly concerned with our paper work and whether we had paid in full for an extra bed in the room. She literally disregarded my confirmatory paperwork until her manager could come and clear our check in. It was so strange, yet it was the type of service we would receive over and over again. At any other hotel at that level, there would be no such undignified conversation at check in. I mean, was she going to not let us have the room??
Another time, there was some confusion over a bar tab. The bartender charged us for doubles for each of our drinks, without informing us, so that when we got the bill it was twice as high as expected (and prices are high in Moscow). When I questioned it, he refused to discuss it with me at all. He literally said nothing. He simply called the manager of the hotel, who explained that such drinks (on ice) are typically served as doubles, which is why he had done so. When I asked why he didn't inform us in advance (we now had a $175 bar bill), he just said he didn't know. The manager then just stood there silently, and finally said we would have to pay the full bill. It was just so weird. No effort at all to placate us or smoothe things over - it's like they just didn't really care what our opinion was at all. Maybe because we weren't business travelers, but hey…..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed two nights in August and were delighted. At 70 rooms, this is a bit large for calling itself a "boutique" hotel, but you do feel pampered as if going to Chanel in Paris, and the place is small enough that it feels intimate. Concrete example: people addressed us by name at the restaurant and remembered the beverages we had ordered on the previous day.

The hotel has been renovated and retained its Belle Époque style and splendour... the ceiling decoration at the restaurant is worthy of a museum. Service was the best we experienced in our 10-day tour of Russia: staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient, all fluent in English.

Our room was very well-insulated and quiet; perhaps others who have written other less positive reviews were assigned to a different wing. If you have problems with noise during the night, ask for a room facing away from the street; our room was perfect.

The hotel location is two blocks from the Bolshoi, three blocks from Red Square. Very convenient. As for taxis, staff will call you a regular taxi if you want one. If you prefer a hotel car, the price can pre-arranged, so there will be no issue around that.

Breakfast was not especially varied, but of excellent quality. Only two kinds of cold cuts, but both excellent. Just three kinds of cheese, but all very good. Just three kinds of bread, but excellent, etc.

Room Tip: There is a construction site across the street, but the rooms facing away from that are very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FernandoLanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is set on a fairly busy intersection, just across the road from the Kremlin - TIP, make sure you use the underpass to get to the Kremlin, DO NOT try and cross the road. From the outside the hotel looks like a view on a 19th century postcard and on stepping inside its confirmed....lots of ornate facades, marble and gold leaf.
The staff were very pleasant, but not as "service minded" as you expect in other like hotels in the major cities of the world....sure they would attend to any request but you had to attract attention and ask for "it".
My bedroom was huge and the bed very large, slightly on the high side but good all the same. Bathroom a bit dated but no real problems.
Generally everything in Moscow is expensive and this hotel was no exception, but due to the location it was worth the price, with the Metro a few steps away.
As mentioned in other reviews breakfast was very good and if you enjoy a big breakfast worth the money, however like most hotels if you just want coffee and a pastry its better to visit a coffee shop near red square.
This is a good hotel for a few days, but any longer and I would want something with more to offer than location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS031951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The savoy is located at 5mn walk from the Kremlin. We stayed here over Christmas where we had a nice suite. The breakfast room is breathtaking and you feel you are in the 19th century. We did not found the staff specially nice or helpful and the bar area doesn't go with the ambiance of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 326 in Moscow
3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Moscow

Address: Rozhdestvenka Street/ 3/6, Bld. 1, Moscow 109012, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#32 Business Hotel in Moscow
#36 Family Hotel in Moscow
#91 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $181 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy hotel is a proper place for travelers who put at a high value service and comfort. It is a historical hotel located in the very heart of Moscow, within a walking distance from the major tourist attractions, the Kremlin, Red Square, the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters. Now it is one of the first designer hotels where the ambience of the old Moscow mansion goes well with all present-day services and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Moscow
Moscow Savoy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing