We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!!!! Central location, beautiful rooms, excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #17 of 328 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2010

This was one of the most amazing hotels I've every stayed in. We arrived at the Hotel at night, and the first impression is how amazing it is to be situated right across the street from the Red Square. Upon entrance, the hotel is luxurious and beautiful. The waitstaff are helpful, courteous, and friendly. The bell hop was very attentive and took us to our room.

The room was gorgeous. So elegant and luxurious, a beautiful first impression of the great city of Moscow. The bathroom had everything - down to the details; robe, slippers, soaps and bottled water. The beds were lovely, comfortable. The room is extremely quiet and the room service was top notch!!!

We also used the pool and the hot tub - the facilities were clean, excellent. The locker rooms, very clean, stocked well. And there was no one but us, I'm thinking bc it is Dec. and low tourist season? But it was such good fortune to have these facilities in the -20C weather! We ordered room service twice, and it was excellent. The food was hot and tasty, and the service was quick. In the morning, the breakfast that is included with your stay was one of the most comprehensive mix of a variety of foods. Almost any kind of breakfast you were in the mood for was available. The only comment I would say is that some of the fruits served were not ripe enough upon serving. But most of them were, and everything was acceptable. But you eat breakfast overlooking the Red Square, and that memory was hands-down the coolest thing ever.

Really, I saw very little shortcomings for this hotel. As compared to the price of other hotels in other parts of the city, this is the hands down winner. What you spend on the hotel, you save on very expensive taxis and traffic and hassle. The hotel is within 10 minutes walking distance of all the major sites, including: The Kremlin, St. Basil's Cathedral, GUM (my personal favorite!), the Red Square, and the city tour bus. If you are in Moscow, do splurge and stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDT_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

Could'nt rate this hotel highly enough, it was fantasic, service lovely, staff fab, breakfast outstanding, expensive....yes, but well worth every penny

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Dot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Le Royal Meridien National hotel, is an old school luxury hotel. Located next to The Kremlin and The Red Square.

Check-in was quick. Asked for a quite room, and that´s also what I got, even if it was overlooking Tverskaya Ulitsa(main shopping street), and the Ritz Carlton. Good soundproofing.

The bed was large for a single room, and the room was decorated in a classic style. The bathroom had both a shower and a tube, and was very clean.

Selection of TV channels was okay, and the mini-bar was well stocked.

There was a good selection for breakfast, but a little annoying that the people that worked there was a bit "over attentive" . Making me eat my breakfast faster, than I would normally do. Other than that there is nothing to complain about, since you have The Kremlin and The Red Square as view from the breakfast room.

Check out was quick.

I had to store my luggage for a couple of hours, and that was no problem at all.

Overall a good hotel experience.

Tips!
If you´re taking the "airport express train" from the airport like I did, to transfer to Moscow metro and then to the hotel, you should learn how to read russian first. There are no signs in english(or any other language), and don´t expect people to help you if you ask, not even the police. I got to the hotel eventually, and that´s because I´m used to finding my way. Anyway.... bring your camera. The metro stations in Moscow are beautiful.

Bring warm clothes if traveling nov-apr.

GUM is the most beautiful shopping mall in the world, so no trip to Moscow is complete without some shopping here.

Moscow is expensive, but the price level is like in Oslo, so no big shock for me. Food is cheaper, and imported luxury items more expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oslo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Its a great hotel, staff were very friendly, clean and great service. What stood out were the restaurants and the good food. The restaurants serve a variety of cuisines. ‎

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

What a great hotel! What a great location!

Staff were incredibly helpful and kind. They really could not have done more to help us.

The room was HUGE - sleeping and sitting area, the an office area and a dressing-room. The furniture was beautiful and all matching - chairs, sofa, bed - even the bedspread matched the furniture's upholstery.

The breakfast was great with spectacular views over Red Square and the Kremlin.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Within days I stayed at the National and the Savoy. What a difference. Both are 5-star hotels. The Savoy is a much better deal for the money. I asked the National for Visa support which they completely ignored. I did the same at the Savoy and told them of an early arrival as well. They not only allowed me to check in early without ny additional charge, they also sent me the necessary visa documentation right away. I know where I will be staying next time I'm in Moscow.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BHSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I stayed here on business and the hotel was good. Provided nice accomodations though the rooms are relatively small. Great breakfast buffet!

Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
1  Thank MakTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 328 in Moscow
3,186 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Savoy Moscow
#167 of 328 in Moscow
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 328 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range: $168 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing