We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imperially Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Immaculate, tasteful, thoughtful, quiet, accommodating. Bathroom with every amenity including wash cloths AND bath mitts and magnifying mirror. The breakfast was generous and excellently prepared and accommodating of every nationality and palate; the dining room view of the Kremlin and St. Basil’s incomparable. The staff at the front door, front desk, breakfast and lobby bar were all congenial and helpful. The rooms were generously proportioned and elegantly outfitted without becoming uncomfortably opulent. It was the best blend of history giving you perspective but not being stifling or musty, and the appropriate level of luxury for most of us enjoying a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandlun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
There are newer reviews for Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel in fantastic! Great location , very good service . Very warm welcome! Breakfast buffet : diffrenent kind of bread, cheese , ham , fruits , champagne! Walking distance to Red Square, restaurants or Metro!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Higher floor will make you 100% peace!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for such a nice review. I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic position - cannot beat it. Across the road from Red Square and plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. It's also five hundred metres from the Bolshoi - easy by foot ! We had a junior suite - very spacious and comfortable. The room housekeeping is of a very high standard - but why no tea making facilities ? They charge about £10 for a single pot in the restaurant . Bit of an omission for such an expensive hotel. The hotel do not enforce their own no smoking policy - which states no smoking in Public area except the bar- the room corridors had people smoking which leaked into our no smoking room and the bar was so smoky we only went once. Out of five breakfasts I had the wrong order four times. With the exception of the reception staff and concierge the staff did not speak much if any English. But this is standard across Moscow, they don't feel the need or make much of an effort for anyone other than home grown tourists. Unlike other hotels of this type the doormen don't hold open doors - they push it open and you have to rush through before it hits you in the face .
So why have I given it 4 stars - it's a fantastic building - Lenin stayed here - room 107-according to the plaque. It's got a lot of style and it's in a fabulous position

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E3388travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent visit and for your detailed review. We always highly appreciate our guest’s opinion and constantly working on improvement of our service. We will take a note of all suggestions you have made and will be looking forward to offer you excellent service during your next visit.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Kind regards,


Marina Migalenko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is full of old fashioned glamour with marble floors and early 20th century furnitures. The location is excellent at walking distance from Red Square, the Kremlin and the major shops. If you have the possibility, upgrade to the Kremlin view : unforgettable ! With the dobble windows system you will never heard the heavy traffic. You have to be prudent with the bathroom if you use the jacuzzi, it may be slippery. The staff are efficient, helpful and polite.
Overall the experience was excellent and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your resent visit and for your review. I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

With best regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was amazing, it's location, the staff service and breakfast choice.
OK, it was one of the more expensive hotels that we have stayed in, however, it was perfect for visiting all of the sites, the staff members, from the receptionist, bell person, concierge and doorman, were so helpful and polite, it made for the perfect stay.

Everything is within walking distance and there are so many delicious restaurants near to this hotel, if you do not want to pay a higher price to eat, then take a walk down the road to one of the many restaurants near by. We had booked a room with a view of the Kremlin & Red Square and it WAS worth every penny.

Thank you to all of the staff concerned.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view, it is worth the extra!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location in Moscow. The front desk staff was very friendly and courteous.

I used one of my suite night SPG awards and overall the room was nice, however there was no complementary coffee or any way to warm water for tea.
According to all the signs I was in a non smoking floor, however the minute you step out of the elevator you could smell the heavy cigarette smoke.

Overall the experience was excellent. My idea of providing feedback is for you improve on those areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone as you could not ask for a better location in Moscow.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of the street but never heard the heavy traffic. It was nice to have a ver...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexmurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We highly appreciate your comments and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay in Hotel National.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

When it comes to decent hotels in Moscow, we didn’t have much choice. Since the city is very expensive, the hotels are not cheap either. The National, however, had a competitive price, therefore we didn’t hesitate to try it. Also, who wouldn’t like to try a hotel in which Lenin himself used to stay.

After a very troublesome and complicated arrival (caused by the city), we were greeted by professional staff (who, unlike other people in Moscow, spoke English), explained everything and shown the way to our room.

The public spaces in the hotel look rather nice – the antique furniture, statues and the grand staircase create the right flair that you expect from the National. Although the furnishing is old, it’s still well preserved and you don’t notice any signs of wear unless you look very closely.

Since we previously communicated with the hotel staff, we were promised to get a nice room with a lot of sunlight. And that is exactly what was given to us. The traditionally furnished room had a wall-to-wall window and was located on the highest floor. We didn’t have red square view - the room overlooked the neighboring Ritz-Carlton and a bit of the Tverskaya street. Furnishing looked very luxurious and grand, the size was more than enough and the bed and linens were amazingly comfortable. What amazed me the most, however, was the soundproofing. Apart from the bedroom and bathroom, there was a little entrance hall separating the room from the main hallway. It means there are 2 doors between you and the hallway guaranteeing that no noise will disturb you. Also, the double windows let absolutely no noise in, although Tverskaya is probably the busiest street in the whole city. The bathroom was also very nice, it could look a bit more elegant, though. All in all, the room was excellent.

The hotel also offers a little pool and whirlpool on the top floor, both of which offer a great way to relax after exploring the city. There is also quite a nice view from the pool, so the whole spa is an enjoyable place.

Last but not least, I would also like to comment on the location. As many other reviewers suggest, it is perfect. I think there is no better location for a hotel in Moscow. The National is right in the middle of everything. It’s just across the street from the Red Square (meaning the Kremlin, St. Basil’s Cathedral, GUM and some other sights) and the subway station is right next to the entrance. If you don’t have much time to see the city and central location is therefore very important to you, look no further.

Unfortunately, the only really good thing about our stay in Russia was the National. It was the only place where we felt good and welcome. I’m sure that in case we visit Moscow again, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackkk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 326 in Moscow
3,132 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Savoy Moscow
#198 of 326 in Moscow
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range: $181 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing