We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Classic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #18 of 321 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very Nice Classic Hotel”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Rooms: The room was nice - especially for what I paid(8,000 RUB, roughly 240USD). I knew going in I would not be receiving the best room at that rate but I was pleasantly surprised by the room I received(expected a 3rd floor closet at that rate). I was in the back corner top floor. If you book a classic non Kremlin view room you will be towards the back and thus as high a floor as possible is recommended. The room was 4 star but small, functional for two adults without a problem. The furnishings were top notch and left nothing to be desired. The classical area of the hotel is very nice but the newer I believe back section was good as well.

Common Areas: All of the common areas are 5 star clean. I am surprised at how clean it was when you factor in the weather and dirt being dragged in. The lobby bar was nice for a beer with a Christmas tree etc adding to the mood. The classic stairway was nice for some photos. The Ritz and Park Hyatt are more of the western mega chain feel than the National (Giant lobby's etc). I felt the National was just as high of quality and with a better history.

Location: The location simply can not be beat. It is at Red Square and walking is no more than 2 minutes. The area is very safe and is very heavily filled with security as one would expect so close to the Kremlin. I never once felt unsafe at anytime of day or night. The location is amazing, plain and simple nothing compares from what I saw - although Metropol was a very solid location as well.

Service: The service was very very good from the ever friendly doorman whom provides weather updates and is always welcoming to the bar staff. I do not speak Russian but never had a problem communicating. They were very friendly and accommodating. The room was always made up spotlessly and turn down service was nice. All of the staff I encountered were nice.

Concierge: The concierge and her staff are top notch and made reservations for me. The two different women I dealt with spoke english very well and went out of their way to help me. They are an A+ staff. From arranging car service to general dinner items or directions they were great.

Breakfast: Expensive. I enjoyed it once but at 55USD a person I didn't feel the need to do it more than that. There is champagne included so having a few mimosas balanced the cost to me.

General Tip: Ground floor left hand side of the GUM is a grocery store. You can get beer, soda, champagne, etc for 1/6 the cost and food for cheap as well.

Overall: Highly Recommend- This hotel reminded me of the Royal Hawaiian in Hawaii. It is classic - not old or dated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PadresDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such a detailed review. We are genuinely happy to know that you had enjoyed so many aspects of your stay in our hotel and our service was superior your expectations.

We highly appreciate all your comments and looking forward to see you again.

With best regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    397
    125
    41
    26
See reviews for
230
477
128
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The location is perfect, right in front of red square. Service is adequate but not the white glove you would expect from a "Luxury Collection" property. Breakfast is ridiculously expensive (US$50 per person) so unless it is included and you don't want to pay additional US$100 per couple each day just to have breakfast, you may have to have a very basic breakfast at the cafe which is also expensive (US$20 per person) and they charge when you want an extra cup of coffee.

The decoration is outdated, pictures hanging on the wall of mediocre quality. There are better options in Moscow.

Room Tip: Ask for Red Square view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to know that our service was not at the level of your expectations. We are constantly on research and improvement of our service and would be glad to see you again in Hotel National, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

With kind regards,


Marina Migalenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was very concerned about finding a hotel that met my picky requirements, especially in Moscow. I cannot tell you the time I spent researching all of them on Trip Advisor. Finally, due to the reviews on the location, I booked without any high expectations. Upon arrival (using public transportation brought it's own challenges to getting to the hotel), the location could not have been better. The staff was friendly and fluent in English which is not always the case. I was expecting a dated, closet of a room but was pleasantly surprised with the size and the bathroom which was completed updated. The concierge was a wonderfully warm and helpful woman who provided us with all the information and suggestions we could hope for. We could not have picked a better hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_sven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sven,

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very pleased that our service exceeded your expectations. We genuinely value our Guest’s reviews and glad that you enjoy your stay with us.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

With kind regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

i really enjoyed the location right in front of red square but the room standard was very very small i did not expect such a tiny room with view on backyard.Bathroom need to be refreshed , shower si sometime cold and suddendly warm, room is noisy too ....Staff is great and helpful,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PARISFRIEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us during your visit in Moscow and for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that the room you stayed in did not met your expectations. Please accept our deep apologies. We will take a note and try our best to offer you excellent service in your next visit.

With kind regards,

Marina Migalenko
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed one night in the National Hotel and would recommend it strongly. Good location, excellent informal dining room and a nice room. The concierge, Maria, was wonderful and in addition to much helpful advice recommended two excellent local restaurants. Our only complaint was the price of breakfast - GBP70 for two people. A strange country where the best opera tickets can cost less than breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seymour F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, great location, very clean, comfortable beds. Close to metro and express train cheap and easy to navigate. Only downside is no express check out - 1 person on desk at check out time - too long to wait just to hand over a key!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, UT
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel had great service and the location is very convenient to the Kremlin and Red Square, walking distance to lots of things with shopping malls and restaurants all around. Also you can walk to the Bolshoi Theatre easily. However, the rooms are not the greatest. The courtyard view is not a view at all, the mattresses need replacing, and the smell of smoke even on the non smoking floor is hard to deal with. The restaurant was good although expensive. In the rooms, I did like the door separating the entry with the bedroom to help mitigate noise from the hallway. The history of the building is cool. Internet is very good and FREE! The gym is passable and the pool looked like it would work for doing laps.

Room Tip: If you have the money, upgrade to the Kremlin view. They wanted almost a $100 a night more which I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 321 in Moscow
3,069 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Savoy Moscow
#25 of 321 in Moscow
765 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 321 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing