We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get more authentic than this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #18 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It doesn't get more authentic than this”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you want to have a true Moscow experience - you have to stay at this landmark hotel. The location is the closest you can have to center. Yes, it's a bit old school (in a charming way), but you have plenty of new in Moscow. If you want the scene - go to Ritz rooftop for drinks right around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycgirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    374
    121
    39
    26
See reviews for
212
452
123
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife & I spent a long weekend here recently for our first trip to Moscow. As everyone rightly says the location is fantastic, right on Red Square within easy waling access of the Kremlin, St Basils, The Arbat, the Bolshoi and lots of other great attractions. As we only had a couple of days to see Moscow this, coupled with having a Metro station right on the doorstep made a big difference. We had one of the cheaper rooms, without a Red Square view, but this was still of a high standard and as it was round the back of the hotel it was very quiet. We had great service from the staff, the concierge even taking us outside the hotel to point out some things to us rather than just pointing at a map. There are some very good deals that can be found that make this good value as well as good quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a fine stay at the hotel in mid October, nice room, nice food, good location - what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

I inadvertently left my light weight fleece at the hotel in my room and realized as I was boarding my plane. I contacted the hotel at my next destination and they confirmed that they found my light fleece are holding it for me. I asked them to send it back to me and offered to pay. They quoted me an exorbitant 95 Euros, which doesn't make any sense as the hotel is in Moscow and I am Canadian. Point is, I let them know that this seemed outrageous for an item that weights 200 grams. I told them I was perfectly happy with regular, slow shipping, but they just stopped communicating with me. I am disappointed with the lack of follow up from this hotel. My fleece has not yet been returned, and I cannot seem to get in contact with anyone. Considering I stayed there for 6 days on a business trip, I would hope that I could at least retrieve an item of clothing at the end of my stay.

I expect more from an SPG hotel for such a simple and surely, often occurring situation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank teaearlgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us! It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your room, hotel food and location.

I was upset to read about the difficulties you have experienced trying to get back the sweater that you have left in your room. I know that our Guest Relations Department is in contact with you discussing different ways of sending it to Canada. Unfortunately, Canada is in the list of countries where usual Russian Post does not ship any parcels. However, I am sure that we will find a solution which will be acceptable for you.

Should you need my personal assistance in this matter please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@national.ru.

With best regards,
Marina Migalenko.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bressanone, Italy
Level Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have a good breakfast with a view on the Kremlin. Take a swim looking over the roofs of Moscow. The only point of criticism is that there are not enough plugs for the modern day traveller at the writing desk. Within easy walking distance is the GUM, the Lenin mausoleum, Red Square and much more. Metro stations are right there as well.
Beware of police barriers in the evening that might require you to walk great distances to get back to your hotel.
Travel to and from the airports is, except if you have a really early morning flight, will take about two hours by taxi. You might want to book your taxi witht the airline (S7 for example) - as efficient as the twxis provided bytxhe hotel but a lot less expensive (but also less nice cars).
Service can be kind of "moscovite" - kind of professionale but slow and lacking the friendliness one might be used to from Europe or the US. Might be due to tge language barrier as well. Not everybody in the hotel speaks English.

Room Tip: A room not facing the Kremlin is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzmoedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzelia, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The National Hotel combines the grandeur of a period property with the high standard of service found at the best Starwood locations.

This is my first visit to Moscow, it was primarily a business trip but the proximity to the Kremlin and the Church of the Accenture gave me a reason to get out and snap a few pictures. Location is amazing, luxurious fittings & furnishings and an onsite top notch restaurant all combine to make this a great stay!

If you're looking for a great hotel in central Moscow, look no further. It really is that nice!

Highly recommended +++++

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yharary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Location, location, location. It is just brilliant as it is very central and next to the Metro (tube/ underground).
They serve one of the best breakfasts; also, they have a smoking breakfast room with a fantastic view - overlooking the Kremlin.
The swimming pool is pretty cool.

On a negative note: some rooms have beds with not very comfortable mattresses (old?); also, a spa could do with some better toiletories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandreBykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

There are many reviews about the great location (which it has) and the tired decor (which there is) but what I cant fathom out is the surly slow service.. There is a lovely - but very smokey -atrium bar. Two evenings I arrived after 9pm to find uncleared tables, a bar packed with empty glasses and worse still both nights I had to wait for 20 minutes (yes 20) to get served and get a drink. This is not acceptable, I dont think I am being precious but really surely a hotel of this reputation and cost can do better. I come to Moscow 6 times a year and it is really time to try other properties.

Room Tip: chose a quiet one and in the newer part
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudophUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 309 in Moscow
2,777 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing