We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Kremlin, history abounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #19 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location for the Kremlin, history abounds”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel National is perfect for anyone who's anxious to experience imperial formality. The hotel is deathly quiet, the rooms large and well appointed, the restaurant full of past glory. All in all, I enjoy staying here from time to time, but the stuffiness is an occasional pleasure, not for constant use. The immediate area, despite it's proximity to the Kremlin, is very, very quiet. If one wants peace, the National will give it.

Room Tip: don't worry about it. Every room is very good to excellent, in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbcarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    385
    123
    40
    26
See reviews for
221
466
124
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Unidentified
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This will take you back in time with its pre-revolutionary interior feel and "Soviet" views. The hotel sits on the edge of the Red Square, and if you're lucky with the room assignment you might have a glimpse of the landmark from your room.

I stayed twice briefly in the past week, having to sprint in/out of Moscow. The room both times faced onto another building. The bed was extremely comfortable, the linens luxurious, and the room very clean. However, it felt quite small -- especially when entering a small door after walking down (or up) a couple of steps. It felt like a little hutch in a warren. On the other hand, the bathroom was nicely sized with a good bathtub and good water pressure for the shower. There is a fluffy bathrobe and good thick slippers to pad around.

The hotel can arrange transport, but it's very expensive.

There is an ATM around the corner -- when you exit the hotel, turn left and turn left again at the corner. The ATM is about twenty feet up the street.

Service, in general, is very good at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asoloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had a very hard time deciding where to stay when booking our trip to Moscow, but this hotel was fantastic. Me, my husband and 10-year-old son stayed in a business suite, which was the perfect size for us; not too big and not too small. The indoor pool was awesome.

One of the best things about this hotel was that it was incredibly quiet. Between the silence and the super comfortable bed, the sleep quality was amazing. I appreciated it, especially when dealing with jet lag.

The location was perfect, right next to Red Square and the Metro. Lots of shops and restaurants all around. The atmosphere was great - it felt like you had stepped back in time. The staff was extremely professional and helpful. The room was always sparkling clean. Actually, we didn't want to leave.

A few words of advice: start the visa process as soon as possible (it takes time to process) and consider hiring a tour guide or participating in a walking tour your first day in Moscow in order to get your bearings.

A few words about getting there: we flew into DME and took the AeroExpress train into the city and hired a taxi from the train station (we found a taxi right outside the train station and were at the hotel in no time at all - very simple). I considered the idea of hiring a private car, but it really wasn't necessary.

We really loved Moscow and hope to return some day. You can bet we'll be staying at Hotel National.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadHatterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

you don't visit Moscow to stay in a sanitized American chain hotel. This visit should be a cultural tour that embraces the people, art and history of this amazing city. The National is a great destination in this wonderful city. I was skeptical at first, but hated to leave.

Room Tip: don't stay unless you can confirm a room looking out the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterm312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My first time to Russia! Loved the "old world" feel of this hotel. Furnishings were Louis XIV with a heavy Russian feel. This seemed appropriate for the location right off Red Square. Room was not big, but quite nice and the bathroom was clean and the water hot.

Service was great and professional. Exactly what you would expect at these prices.

If I return, I will look for something more "touristy"; but that is just me looking for more experiences.

A good hotel for a professional or quick trip to Moscow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have been on a business trip to Moscow and stayed in this hotel in April 2013. The service was great from the beginning till the end! Food at the restaurant was delicious, wine expensive but very nice, the room was big and spacious (the decoration is old style but it is a question of taste). There a pianist playing in the bar downstairs. The restaurant closes at 11pm but you can eat 24h at the bar where the menu is very long and the choice nearly the same as at the restaurant upstairs. The hotel is located just opposite the Red Square.
There is a concierge who is very helpful if you want taxis, tickets for Bolshoi or anything else. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I have been in a Junior Suite but I recommend taking a Superior room as they (weirdly) have better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L4M4RM0773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in Hotel National for 3 nights in Moscow. It was chosen primarily due to the unbeatable location and its heritage. Red Square was literally just across the road, took less than 5 mins to get there.
We stayed in the Classic Room (no view from the small window) for 1 night and spent another two in the Studio Room with Street view. Classic Room was quite small, basic old world furnishing, nothing worth commending really. The Studio Room on the other hand was much more spacious, with separate cloak, dressing areas, writing desk etc. Also classic old world furniture. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Besides the great location, what made it an extraordinary experience was the stunning view of Kremlin in the breakfast room. You can see the sun rise behind the Red Square. Breakfast was also an impressive spread, fresh bread, Russian porridge, salad, regular caviar, lot of selection of fruits, freshly squeezed juices, full strength coffee etc. No better way to start the day!
Service was unfortunately frosty for a Luxury Collection hotel. Check in was snail pace. Considering my friend is a platinum SPG member, we were surprised there was no room upgrade, not even a recognition or welcome drink. That prevented it from getting a full 5 star rating.
So all in all, despite the high price, I would recommend it for its location and stunning view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Red Square. The view is breathtaking. Breakfast is a must do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenheaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina M, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel view, the breakfast and found our location very convenient. We are lucky to be located so close to Moscow’s most important attractions.
I regret to learn that we could not live up to your expectations with the hotel staff and with the SPG recognition.

I would like to assure you that all necessary measures were taken to avoid its happening in the future.
Kindly be informed that whenever possible, we do provide complimentary upgrades to our Platinum Preferred Guests.

I do hope that you will return to us again in the future and we will have the chance to improve your impression about our Hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you in may 2013.

Best regards,
Marina Migalenko,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#12 of 315 in Moscow
2,938 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 315 in Moscow
1,485 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing