We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From great to dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #18 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“From great to dreadful”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a traditional palace hotel in Moscow. I don't like traditional palace hotels much and I don't like Moscow at all, so it was going to be hard for me to like it. In several respects I did. The reception staff were great, so were the room service staff. The concierge would have been good if they hadn't tried too hard. For example, I asked if a car had been booked as requested. All I needed was 'yes' or 'no'. My bag was collected, I was taken out to the car and then asked if I had checked out. I hadn't, but had called the hotel to charge my card as I wouldn't have time to check out. This explanation got lost in translation and I seemed to be treated as some sort of criminal. That resolved itself but it should never have happened. The style of the hotel isn't to my taste and the guests are the rather uninteresting ones you find in these hotels, but the room was big and good nonetheless. What wasn't acceptable were the staff in the bar. I ate there several times. Why I persisted, beats me. The first time, two courses took an hour each to arrive. The next time I asked that that didn't happen again and so they brought both courses at the same time! Some of the staff seemed completely untrained and to lack even the slightest bit of common sense or even good manners. The problem is there are no great hotels in Moscow. The Hyatt is bland and could be anywhere, the Swissotel is the same, but with a stunning view from the bar. The Ritz is expensive even by Moscow standards. The Savoy is probably the nicest, but if I had to, I'd stay at the National again. I just wouldn't eat there. The location is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank censington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel K, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us during visiting Moscow and also for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback. I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel location and the friendly manner of our Front Desk staff and housekeeping.

I regret to learn that we could not live up to your expectations with the style of our Hotel and with your Bar experience. Your comment will be taken into consideration by the hotel team and we will organize additional trainings for our employees.

However, we are very proud of the 100-year history of our hotel and classical architecture with modernist decorative elements. The Hotel combines the best of the centuries-old traditions of Russian hospitality and entrepreneurship.

Dear Guest, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience at check-out, and for having missed the opportunity to impress you and we do hope to welcome you back in the nearest future to ensure superior and personable service for you. We are deeply grateful to you for the loyalty expressed towards Hotel National and hope that next time you will find our improved restaurant services on the proper level.

Kind regards,
Pavel Kosenkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    395
    124
    40
    26
See reviews for
226
473
126
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for my husband's birthday. The location just 3 minutes walk from Red Square was absolutely perfect. The stay was expensive, more than £250 per night, but for a short break it was worth it for us as having not been to Russia before, the metro was pretty hard to fathom, so it was ideal to be close to most of the main tourist spots. The service was overall excellent, although the restaurant service was quite slow, and I was astounded that even a fairly low quality glass of wine cost around £20!! The facilities are good, there was a lovely bar area where we ate and drank a couple of times and although smoking is not prohibited, it wasn't as intrusive as it might have been thanks to the high ceilings and good ventilation. There was also a pianist one evening which was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at the National in November 2012 on a business trip to Moscow. The hotel is large, well run and very well run. Your could not ask for a better location with Red square opposite and a host of great restaurants and tourism attractions nearby. My room was on the 3rd floor and was very grand with ample space, large wet room and very efficient and quiet air conditioning. The staff were very well mannered and attentive and the food is good here. My only real recommendation for improving my stay would be to ban smoking in the bar, restaurant and lounge.

Room Tip: Avoid the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel K, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time and post such a great review about your stay in Hotel National.

It is truly a pleasure for me to hear that you have enjoyed our location which is indeed close to Kremlin, shopping area and restaurants. I am very glad to read your nice words about friendly manner of our service. I will share your kind feedback with the staff. As for Bar and restaurant, I will take into account your recommendation.

Let me thank you for your kind comments. I am looking forward to welcoming you again in Moscow!

Kind regards,
Pavel Kosenkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The biggest advantage of the hotel is the location and the view! Exactly oposite of the Red square. The room was excellent and especially the bed. The best mattress ever! The breakfast is quite expensive and it is nothing special, i think it is so expensive because of the view.
The hotel has a swimming pool on the top floor. It isn't very big. There is a sauna, steam room and a gym. All of them free of charge. The wi-fi is very good and it is free in all the areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietro_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel K, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I am very glad to read your nice words about the hotel location and our room quality.

I regret that you were not satisfied with our breakfast.
Please be assured that I have sent your comments to our F&B Director for further regarding.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Pavel Kosenkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The best location in the city, with a very comfortable room and good attention.
The hotel really was a good choice, if anyone decide to visit Moscow i would definitely recommend this one.
I didn't try the restaurant because there are many places all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the National for 3 nights on business wanting to stay centrally in a hotel with character and history - the National delivered. It is a grand building with old world charm. The picture gallery near the restaurant showing 100 or so years of the comings and goings on the street outside of the hotel and on Red Square was a great bit of history. I particularly like the photos of the nuclear warheads being parade through Red Square! If you like very modern hotels, this is probably not for you.

Bedroom - Very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean with an incredibly comfy bed having the deepest mattress I have ever slept on! Complimentary bottled water in the rooms.
Restaurants – Breakfast is very expensive if paid for separately and very average.
Staff – Friendly and helpfully.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel K, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback posted on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel.
I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our history, gallery and architecture of the Hotel.
However, I am very disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectations with breakfast. I have copied our F&B Director for further consideration.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to Hotel National!

Kind regards,
Pavel Kosenkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Friendly helpful staff, all english speaking. Excellent location across from the Kremlin. All conveniences in the hotel. Good breakfast, nice rooms and a great excercise facility.

Additional benefit is that a subway (Metro) stop of the green line is outside the door: This is really convenient for those a little adventurous - you can save lots of time if you arrive daytime to Sheremetyevo or Domodedovo by taking the train (aeroexpress: http://www.aeroexpress.ru/en/) to town and then taking the greenline to Teatralnya. Buying a train ticket is really easy on the ticket machines (english language option), buying a ticket for the Metro is almost as easy in the cash windows. The subway is safe, clean, fast and on time a train every 2 minutes. If you do not find the hotel once you get to Teatralnaya - just say "Hotel national" to anyone and likely they will point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrdlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 316 in Moscow
3,023 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 316 in Moscow
1,505 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing