We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #18 of 323 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The best location in the city, with a very comfortable room and good attention.
The hotel really was a good choice, if anyone decide to visit Moscow i would definitely recommend this one.
I didn't try the restaurant because there are many places all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    397
    125
    41
    26
See reviews for
230
477
128
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at the National for 3 nights on business wanting to stay centrally in a hotel with character and history - the National delivered. It is a grand building with old world charm. The picture gallery near the restaurant showing 100 or so years of the comings and goings on the street outside of the hotel and on Red Square was a great bit of history. I particularly like the photos of the nuclear warheads being parade through Red Square! If you like very modern hotels, this is probably not for you.

Bedroom - Very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean with an incredibly comfy bed having the deepest mattress I have ever slept on! Complimentary bottled water in the rooms.
Restaurants – Breakfast is very expensive if paid for separately and very average.
Staff – Friendly and helpfully.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel K, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback posted on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel.
I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our history, gallery and architecture of the Hotel.
However, I am very disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectations with breakfast. I have copied our F&B Director for further consideration.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to Hotel National!

Kind regards,
Pavel Kosenkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Friendly helpful staff, all english speaking. Excellent location across from the Kremlin. All conveniences in the hotel. Good breakfast, nice rooms and a great excercise facility.

Additional benefit is that a subway (Metro) stop of the green line is outside the door: This is really convenient for those a little adventurous - you can save lots of time if you arrive daytime to Sheremetyevo or Domodedovo by taking the train (aeroexpress: http://www.aeroexpress.ru/en/) to town and then taking the greenline to Teatralnya. Buying a train ticket is really easy on the ticket machines (english language option), buying a ticket for the Metro is almost as easy in the cash windows. The subway is safe, clean, fast and on time a train every 2 minutes. If you do not find the hotel once you get to Teatralnaya - just say "Hotel national" to anyone and likely they will point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrdlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I wrote my terrible experience as soon as I left the hotel (my iphone was stolen in my room from the hotel service and nothing was done about it), but the worst arrived a few days after my arrival at home: We paid our room online and still, when we arrived at the hotel they pretended it wasn't paid.
They requested a card again and charged "as a guaranty" for the room (again). The rate for 4 nights was in the end charged twice, and we had to call, send emails and threaten them repeatedly in order to have our money back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank smarkanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel K, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your experience and apologize that there was no follow up on such an important matter.

I would welcome the chance to speak with you about your stay – please contact me anytime at gm@national.ru so we can investigate all the details further.

Thank you,
Pavel Kosenkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Everything is close to perfection here: the service is excellent, the room with a beautiful view to the Kremlin is spacious and confortable.
The Alexander Bar at ground floor has excellent food and the service is quite professional.
One of the few spots in Moskow where most of the people has good command of English.
The location within walking distance to most of the city attractions is perfect.
It is expensive as everything in Moskow.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms with Kremlin view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingsao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

As others have mentioned, this hotel is located across the street from The Kremlin,Red Square, St Basil's and a few other great sites. This is a major plus.

As for as the actual hotel, the room was spacious with the best mattress and pillows in the world. The bathroom was also pretty big.

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke pretty good English which was a relief.

Next time I go to Moscow, I'll be staying here. I wish I could give 6 stars!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavel K, General Manager at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for your kind comments about our property as well as our services. It is very important for us to deliver personal and friendly experiences to all of our guests. Pleased be assured that we keep a focus on this.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to Hotel National!

Kind regards,
Pavel Kosenkov
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

You can't get much more central than the National. Across from the Kremlin and a short stroll to Red Square and all other central attractions.

There is such a timeless quality to this hotel. Great breakfast, good service, and free WiFi.

I would only stay here in Moscow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlagwoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 323 in Moscow
3,069 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Savoy Moscow
#25 of 323 in Moscow
765 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 323 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing