We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #18 of 320 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Location is fantastic, a real selling point! Room was clean and spacious, with plenty of hanging space for our 4 night stay, ability to hire a (limited) selection of English DVDs to watch, comfy bed, big bathroom and bottled water provided. Nicely decorated and hair dryer & toiletries provided too. Concierge and porters were helpful and reception were efficient and friendly. Never ate at the hotel due to the expensive price.

Would recommend and would return and use again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieCatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena B, Sales & Marketing Team at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel National! It’s a true pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

Also we like a lot to be described as "a Lovely Hotel"! It's great to see comments like yours because they show us that we are on the right way to create a hotel that's loved by our guests.

We are always glad to welcome you back to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel!

Warm regards,
Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    397
    125
    41
    26
See reviews for
229
476
128
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

How could we fault a hotel with a view like the one from the hotel National? The Kremlin, Red Square are all just across the street!
We arrived very early after travelling from St Petersburg on the overnight sleeper train and although there were no rooms available the reception offered to take our mobile number and call us as soon as it became available.
Our standard room was a good size, with a huge comfortable bed and separate lobby area. As mentioned in previous reviews storage is not great although the small wardrobe was Ok for our 3 night stay.It was also very quiet considering a main 6 lane road was outside!.
Our room was on the fifth floor near to the swimming pool and spa area, this is a real bonus to relax after a long day walking around the sights of Moscow, especially as it is open until 10pm.
Our rate did not include breakfast and the cost of room service or to purchase independently was very expensive but as there are so many restaurants and coffee shop nearby this was not a problem.
The concierge team are excellent with many helpful tips on how to organise your stay and where to eat etc.
We had a great stay and it was a wonderful place to base yourself in central moscow, close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DkJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena B, Sales & Marketing Team at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate that you have taken some time to share your impression about the hotel with us. It’s a great pleasure to learn that you found Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel a nice place to stay in.

Also we are glad to know that you have been delighted with our location. National is indeed in the direct vicinity to all major sights and shopping areas of Moscow center.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was there for 4 nights in February for work. The staff barely speak English so it was very hard communicating with them.

The room: it was like stepping into a very old 18th century house with 'period' furniture, but it just looked bad rather than interesting. I couldn't control the air con so I was freezing cold even though I tried to put the heating on. The bathroom had one incredibly huge shower (you could fit a double bed in it, that's how big it was) so standing there naked while you wash was not nice as you felt cold. They do give you free bottles of water because you mustn't drink tap water. The whole concept was odd.

The public spaces: bizarre. It was like walking through a Victorian England house, way overdone and more about the looks than functionality. The bar had printed pictures stuck under the glass on every table, like it was 1982. Also, they play cheap band covers of famous songs (they are covers of Abba, Britney Spears, etc.... it was just cringeworthy).

The food: TE-RRI-BLE. I had the buffet breakfast every morning and the choice was poor, the atmosphere was way too stuffy, the eggs were really watery and the fruit tasted VERY strange and it was NOT fresh. At all. It was refrigerated for a couple of days clearly. I ordered different items from the room service every night and they were all really weird - what they do is they create their own dishes and give them normal names. You can't call something a Caesar Salad if it's creamed lettuce only. That's just an example, but everything was really really weird tasting, worse looking and not at all what you would expect. For my final meal I went to their main restaurant and they gave me the fattiest, greasiest steak I've ever had in my life. I always love steak and would never not eat one, but I actually had to leave it because it was more fat than meat (you couldn't cut around it) and all I ended up having was bread & butter.

The location: opposite the Kremlin and the Museum of Natural History. It's great to visit the Red Square, etc. and there's a tube stop in the corner.

Overall: run away and stay elsewhere - for the money you pay, you know you deserve more.

Room Tip: Pay more and stay in a room in the front so you can see the Kremlin - otherwise, you'll face ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena B, Sales and Marketing Team at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share feedback from your most recent stay. Please be assured, we do value all guest comments and we have reviewed the issues raised with our Food and Beverage Director.

Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction of food and service during your stay with us. This is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests and we are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused. Our goal is to provide our guests with a memorable and enjoyable experience from start to finish and we are truly sorry that we did not carry out this promise.

Dear Jonathan, we trust that this one time situation would not tarnish your opinion of our hotel as it would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Warm regards,
Sales & Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Yesterday, I was at this hotel, and have meeting with my friend in lobby-bar. We asked for LongIsland coctail - they bring it to us with unwashed lemons with adhesive labels!
They responded to our claim only for the third time. As compensation they brought to us a terrible cake, except that margarine - there was nothing. By the way, cocktail is cost 780 rubles (about 20 euros!), when the average cost of such coctail in Moscow - 350 rubles (8-9 euros)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aleksandra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia B, F&B Director at Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with the Tripadvisor community.
Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you at the Alexandrovsky Bar.
We always do our best to provide an excellent service to all of our guests, so thank you for turning our attention to this problem. We were unpleasantly surprised that this might happen at all and we will definitely deliver the training for our bar stuff in order to prevent our guests from being similarly inconvenienced in the future.
We are aware that your opinion of our service has been affected by the handling of your concerns and can only hope that in time, you may reconsider your position and choose our bar for the meeting again.

Best regards,
Nadezhda Panicheva
F&B Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Watching the Kremlin from your breakfast table is a great experience!
Good size room, nice and friendly staff and fantastic breakfast buffet! I didn’t have the chance to have dinner at the hotel so I can’t judge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Fabulous amazing hotel near the red square. Very romantic for the breakfast with an unique view on Kremlin. A little expensive but Moscow is the most expensive city in world. I recommend these hotel for people who stay like me for a short time. Thanks a lot for all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egmar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

it does what it says on the tin- english speaking staff in a luxury hotel. fantastic location with a wonderful view of the red square during breakfast. highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 320 in Moscow
3,063 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 320 in Moscow
1,521 reviews
Hotel Savoy Moscow
#24 of 320 in Moscow
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: 15/1 Mokhovaya Street Bld. 1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 320 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903 by famed Russian architect Alexander Ivanov, Hotel National has been an awe-inspiring historic landmark for more than a century. Located at the very heart of Moscow's historical, cultural and business center, the magnificent hotel opens spectacular vistas of the Kremlin and the Red Square.The historical grandeur and understated elegance of the property, together with the The Luxury Collection's signature services and state-of-the-art technology, makes Hotel National a favorite destination for sophisticated global explorers visiting Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing