We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,702)
Filter reviews
3,702 results
Traveler rating
2,562
806
211
83
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,562
806
211
83
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bolshoi theatre red square harp music art nouveau historic hotel perfect location caviar breakfast room concierge team superior room old style wonderful hotel blinis high ceilings metro station four seasons business trip
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 3,702 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food services, entertainment, view, room variations such as size and additional amenities, spas and fitness centers, ease of access and location may be considered in establishing a standard. Hotels are independently assessed in traditional systems and rest heavily on the facilities provided.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Meruzhan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for rating us with five stars. I am delighted to see that you appreciated the convenient location of Metropol, good food service and combination of historic charm and modern facilities. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!

Kind regards,
Ksenia Agafonova
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Best breakfest buffet in a wonderful place with harp music, very well situated hotel, easy acess from the Airport by train and metro. A house with a great history, nearby Bolshoi opera, good service, nice

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christiane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Christiane,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind feedback on your recent visit to The Metropol. We appreciate you for rating us with five stars. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and how highly you valued convenient location of Metropol, rich history, good service. I am especially pleased to see that you enjoyed buffet breakfast with wide range of dishes and harp live music.
It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!

Kind regards,
Sophie Yudina
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was great experience for us.We are going to come back there one day for sure! Location, staff, and the room were great. Thank you so much for this hotel that you still have such a long time, and you keep this old atmosphere inside the hotel and rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eva252122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Eva,

Thank you for the lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to The Metropol! It is real pleasure for us to read your comment about convenient location, great staff. We are especially pleased to read that you appreciated our efforts to restore the reputation of the legendary hotel by following the traditions and preserving historical values of this unique architectural monument. We truly appreciate your kind compliments and thank you for your review and for rating us with five stars. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Sophie Yudina
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Any concerns about the austere exterior of the Metropol and its airport-like security on entering were quickly banished by the ornate chandeliers, efficient team at reception and effortless check in. An army of liveried porters whisked my luggage away at lightening speed.

A standard room on the fifth floor with king-size bed and panoramic views of the Bolshoi Theatre. Parquet floors and neutral, unpretentious décor are complemented by high ceilings, delicate ceiling roses and matching cornicing. I slept well despite the enormous chandelier dangling above me. An assortment of pillows had me chucking out z’s in no time and the double-glazing kept the urban soundtrack to a dull hum.

Palatial architecture, exotic rooftops and golden domes as far as the eye can see.

Bathroom is dated but tidy, and significantly improved by the presence of Floris toiletries. A bath/shower combo, with omnipresent retractable washing line… although I have a sneaking suspicion the caviar and champagne set probably don’t hand-wash their smalls.

Complimentary wifi in-room and all public areas.

The sense of space, the corridors are so wide you could drive a Lada or two down them with ease. And the chandeliers, location, food, more chandeliers, service ... did I mention the chandeliers. More caviar is just a phone call away.

Chaliapin bar is famous for its cocktails but provides light snacks, too. Savva offers an elaborate gastronomic menu of ‘new Russian food by Andrey Schmakov.

I didn’t order room service. When the palatial dining room beckons with stained glass, gold and marble, why would you?

When caviar, smoked salmon and champagne are on the breakfast buffet menu it would be bad manners not to partake, particularly when serenaded by a lady playing a golden harp. The fitness food selection was a nice touch with all manner of healthy options, but with bubbles in one hand and smoked salmon in the other … well, I’m not an octopus.

Value for money: Can you put a price on history? Presidents, princes and politicians have stayed here. It was a favourite haunt of the KGB and Michael Jackson played piano in the main Metropol Hall. The hotel was built the same year as one revolution and only 12 years before another that toppled 300 years of Romanov rule.

Facilities: Apparently there is a sauna and spa. I got completely lost and ended up back in the cocktail bar.

Perfect for: A few days sightseeing in Europe’s biggest city. The landmarks that aren’t walking distance are easily accessible by Moscow’s beautiful metro. If it’s a male voice announcing the stations you’re heading into the city, a female voice and you’re going the other way.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great historical hotel located in the best possible location close to Kremlin and other historical places. Close vicinity to shopping and restaurants makes this hotel a top location. The hotel is a classical hotel from 1905 and provides all what you can ask for in service, fantastic breakfast and a very attentive staff. Can highly recommend a stay at here.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank claesbjorkeroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such kind feedback on your recent visit to The Metropol and for rating us with five stars.
We appreciate you recommending our hotel to other travelers. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and how highly you valued the central location of Metropol, classic historical interiors and fantastic breakfast. I am especially pleased to see that you enjoyed the work of staff. This is exactly what we are trying to achieve. We certainly hope that should you visit Moscow again, you will choose to stay with us.

Best regards,
Ksenia Agafonova
Guest Relations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews