We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, mostly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropol Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Ranked #12 of 308 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Macau
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location, mostly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location couldn't be better: besides the Red Square, the Gum, the Bolshoy, metro stations, etc. etc...
However, the interior, although renovated, has a strange feeling to it: the rooms are huge but 'naked'. The bathrooms, on the contrary, are smallish, with a half size bathtub.
We never tried the breakfast, but we did go to the swimming pool. I had the feeling I was in a soviet style health club.
If not for the location, probably wouldn't choose it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post a review. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room and fitness center. Your constructive feedback is extremely helpful, and I have passed your comments to our management.
On a positive note, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great location of our hotel.
We would like to make it our mission to turn your average experience into a great one and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Moscow.

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,839
    621
    155
    60
    28
See reviews for
383
675
242
1,035
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

just returned from Moscow, weather in 30's sites were amazing, restaurants great, hotel absolutely fantastic, staff were so helpful, we had a room overlooking revolution square, so clean, we looked out one side of the window to see the Bolshoi theatre and the other side to red square, so central. The breakfasts were superb in fantastic surroundings with fountain and harpist playing. this has been a visit which will be long remembered. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Metropol Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service, found the room and breakfast convenient regarding your needs. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Moscow.

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Metropol is considered to be a historical hotel. No wonder it is a symbol of Moscow which is more than 100 years old. I used to stay here 20 years ago when I was still a child, I came here with my parents. Things has changed but for good.
The interior of the hotel is luxurios as it used to be, the fountain, the furniture, the paintings and glass windows, the ceiling, it's amazing. But the thing I particularly enjoyed was the excellent service we were provided with. Everybody starting from the doorman is so welcoming, so kind and attentive. I really felt that I was taken care of although the hotel seemed to be fully booked. I could never say I'm a fan of Russian cuisine but the way they serve it here deeply impressed me.
Also, the hotel has a quite convenient location, it's in the very centre of Moscow.
I wish I could stay here longer, this place is really worth visiting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Metropol Hotel! Your kind words concerning our elegant interiors, convenient location and attentive staff are truly appreciated. It is our mission to make our guests feel very special and it's a great pleasure to get such a flattering comment from you regarding our team. We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us!
Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from a business metting in Moscow. Was only staying at the Metropole fr two days. Location is fantastic, next to the Bolshoi. Service is top notch- you really do feel like home. What I liked most was the authentic russian breakfast buffet in the morning!! Also, the price that Metropole is probably one of the best of 5 star hotels in Moscow, which are all usually pricey. All in all Metropole is awesome! I had a fantastic two days in Moscow, even managed to do some sightseeing in the little free time I had. The Kremlin is a must, as well as Gorky park (it's been facelifted recently). That's about all I had time to visit. But from past experiences I cna also recommend going to Strelka, which is this island in the middle of Moscow. It houses lots of trendy nightclubs and cafes/bars, as well as designer shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilia1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your time and effort to post your review. We are very pleased to learn that you has such a fantastic stay with us, enjoyed our authentic Russian buffet breakfast and found the level of service convenient regarding your needs.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Metropol Hotel!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have you ever heard of the Metropol hotel? If you haven't, then it is a must for you to go and experience this amazing hotel. Almost two weeks ago I had a business trip to Moscow which turned out to be a greatest vacation I ever had in Russia.
It was my first time in this hotel which is in the very centre of the city, just two minutes walk from the Red square and Kremlin. People working here are extremely attentive, they predict your desires, they know the surroundings, they are the face and the heart of this marvelous hotel.
First of all, I was impressed by the interior, by the music playing in the lobby and the smell of coffee in Shalyapin bar. The food in the restaurant is magnificent, one can always find something good and delicious.
The rooms are very comfortable and nice. There is also a spa centre available for the guests, not very big but very quiet.
If ever you come to Moscow, never miss a chance to experience the best hotel ever! I would like to thank the staff as people are always welcoming and hospitable there.

Room Tip: Theatre view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Metropol Hotel during your recent stay in Moscow. It was a great pleasure to read your review with such a kind compliments. We are very glad to learn that you had such a wonderful time with us, enjoyed our interiors, music in the lobby and food in the restaurant. We are delighted to get such a flattering comment from you regarding our staff. It is always enjoyable when our guests recognize our efforts, thank you. We greatly appreciate your kind review and will definitely share it with all our staff members.
We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I spent one night in the hotel on 20th April 2013. It was a marvellous place to stay. Breakfast in the Metropol's dinning room is an experience which we both very much enjoyed. The open areas on the ground and third floors are a pleasure to relax in and admire. The staff are very helpful and a pleasure to talk to.
We didn't use the Spa. The bedroom was very nice and comfortable although would benefit if updated. We would very much like to stay there again.
The hotel was very well located for Red Sq..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Metropol Hotel! We truly appreciate your kind compliments and thank you for rating us with five stars. We are pleased to learn that you found the room and breakfast convenient regarding your needs. Please let us know if you have any special requests or preferences for your future stay at Metropol (j.peretrukhina@metmos.ru). We truly hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Moscow.

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just finished one of my best meals at Metropol Hotel Restaurant. The dining room is just beautiful and the service was great. After a not very good experience at a hotel here in Moscow (while on a tour) and also after experiencing Hilton at Leningradskaya (which is very, very good) and where I'm staying right now, I can tell that Metropol will be my next choice in Moscow definitely. Location is really superb with the Bolshoi Theatre in front of the hotel and the Kremlin by a short walk. This is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Metropol Moscow, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time and effort to post your review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel's location, our dining room and the level of service convenient regarding your needs. Please let us know if you have any special requests or preferences for your future stay at the Metropol (j.peretrukhina@metmos.ru). Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
Julia Peretrukhina
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 308 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol Moscow

Property: Hotel Metropol Moscow
Address: Teatralny Proezd, 2, Moscow 109012, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Moscow
#3 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#7 Business Hotel in Moscow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropol Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious five-star historical hotel in the very heart of Moscow. Maximum proximity to the main sightseeings of the city: Bolshoy Theatre, TSUM, GUM, Red Square and others. The incredible beauty of the exterior of the building.'Metropol' Hotel is a hotel-museum with 800 units of antiques in halls and suites. One of the most beautiful restaurants of the city - 'Metropol' restaurant - is located here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metropol Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Moscow
Metropol Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing