We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katerina City Hotel
Ranked #177 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed May 29, 2013

...beware if you are visiting when there are national holidays. We stayed just prior to the Victory Day celebrations and found the restaurant closed for the whole of our stay. Otherwise the hotel was excellent - a good bar, decent rooms with a free mini bar and excellent breakfast. Walk to the metro is about 10 minutes which is useful as not much else nearby. Also their is a small gym and excellent jacuzzi, steam room and sauna - all free to residents.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CJT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your review.
I am sorry we were giving misleading information - the a la carte menu is available in several eating spaces: the bar, the restaurant hall and in rooms. The restaurant hall was closed but you could get the same dishes in the lobby bar or in room, both 24/7. We will change this information in future, thank you for noticing. Hope to see you as a guest gain soon!
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 891 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel - clean rooms - good restaurant and easily accessible to all sights in Moscow. We will be back !! Situated south east of red square only two stops on the green metro line, this has robe an ideal location. If I can offer any advice make sure your guide will stop for freshments and comfort breaks. There's so much to see they just want to keep going. Great start to our trip, the hotel restaurant and staff are very good. We will definitely be back !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Martin, thank you for your kind words, they mean a lot to us!
Also thank you for taking time to leave a review. Look forward to have you as guests again soon!
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business and on first arrival it looked quite basic, but it's better than that. I think it's fair to compare it in look and feel to a holiday inn, but then there are a few things that make it better.

First of all the cost, hotels in Moscow are so expensive and Katerina City is a bit less so. I think it is excellent value.

Then you get free Wifi and free minibar (no alcoholic bev), which is very nice. The breakfast is included and it is reasonable with enough fresh, hot and cold options. The juice and coffee were a bit disappointing, but other than that its fine. The food they serve for lunch and dinner is not bad at all, tried a couple of things and it was all fresh and nice.

The location is quite central and walking distance from train and metro. The train station has a direct connection to the airport, which is another plus.

Walking distance from the hotel are a few nice restaurants, I especially liked the Georgian place down the road so you're not stuck in the hotel in the evening.

All in all an excellent value hotel and I'll definitely be staying here next time I'm in Moscow.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Micbiel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for saying that Katerina City hotel is excellent value!
Great that you enjoyed your stay. Good advice about the Georgian restaurant - it is a nice option. We look forward to see you as our guest again soon!
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After a terrible not able to get on a plane & lost a precious day in our Moscow trip, we are so glad we have booked this hotel and finally starts to enjoy our holiday. Although we checked in in the midnight, the receptionist was very efficient & helpful. Our 1st room had a minor problem with the air con & hotel staff came checking within 5 min & then finding us another room ASAP. All these little things added up & have created a great 1st impression.

We got the room 719 and liked it very much. The layout & furnish is quite unconventional and the team has put a lot of good details (free mini bar + unlimited bottled fizzy & still water) into the room.

But what impress me the most is that we wrote feedback to GM making suggestions on pillow & toilet amenities and we have that FIXED the NEXT day. It shows how determined the team wants to impress every customers. In addition, we came for wedding anniversary celebration & a complimentary sparking wine was given. Given we booked under non-refund T&C's and GM is kindly enough to waive the charge for the 1st nite that we didn't make.

The breakfast is very good.

10min walking distance to the airport express to Domodedovo DME Airport (@Rub 320) & metro station

easy walk ~45min to Red Sq along the river in front.

There's sauna & steam bath & Jacuzzi and very clean.

External of the building is not most appealing but interior is very well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambamb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest, I am glad to hear you started to enjoy your holiday at our hotel! Thank you for the detailed review and for the kind words about our service. Nataliya, the General Manager is very dedicated to guests needs. Sincere congratulations on your wedding anniversary! Hope to see you as our guests again soon! Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a recent Go Russia Tour. Very impressed with rooms and staff. Spent a lot of time in the entrance/bar area with other members of the group and felt very welcome to do so. Mini-bar in room excellent, breakfast - wonderful choice, would definitely visit again if going to Moscow.

Room Tip: We had a pleasant view over the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Stuart,
I am very glad to hear you liked the rooms, staff, the lobby bar area as well as the free mini bar and breakfast. Hope to see you at our hotel again!
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is placed in an ideal location. On two main lines. A scenic river side walk to the Red Square. . The hotel itself is exquisitely clean with constantly immaculately dressed staff. Who were nothing but polite and attentive and always quickly on hand..

Great Bar. Food and a wide selection off breakfast.
Can't really ask for more..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words, they mean a lot to us! Glad you enjoyed your stay - welcome back soon!
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were very happy with our stay. Very clean, very helpful staff and spoke some English which was more than we had experienced elsewhere. Great breakfast, lots of it and good selection. Loved the free mini bar snacks and soft drinks - a real big help. Bedrooms are basic but you have everything you need and they're very clean (rooms reminded us of Premier Inns in the UK). We suggested that they fit safes in the bedrooms (as opposed to being available at reception) and this is already in hand. We think the hotel is slightly on the edge of the centre but close to the Metro and wasn't a problem for us. Great internet access.Nice being by the river too. Our only niggle was that we arrived at 7am after an overnight rail journey and were told that whilst our bedroom was ready to check in we weren't alllowed access for another 2 hours unless we paid £40. This was very disappointing - discretion should have been used,afterall they had nothing to lose. By the way, we read the feedback about the birdsong at breakfast - we quite liked it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrea26shelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear guest, I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! In-room safes are on their way, as you mention. Agree that you should have got access to you room - I will put our staffs attention to this point. Glad you liked the bird song :)
Hope to see you as our guest again soon!
Katerina Cronstedt, Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Hotel Brighton
#34 of 327 in Moscow
249 reviews
Presnensky
Peking Hotel
Peking Hotel
#71 of 327 in Moscow
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zamoskvorechye
Aquamarine Hotel
Aquamarine Hotel
#15 of 327 in Moscow
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina City Hotel

Address: Shlyuzovaya Emb., 6, Moscow 115114, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#23 Business Hotel in Moscow
#91 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $58 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Katerina City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katerina City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina City Moscow
Hotel Katerina City
Hotel Katerina Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing