We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but great for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katerina City Hotel
Ranked #205 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed February 10, 2013

First off, the wireless in this hotel is free and fast, which makes it a no-brainer if you're travelling on business. Even better, it's a non-smoking establishment, which helps in a city where people still smoke in restaurants, taxis and, well, everywhere. It's not a fancy place (hello Ikea) but the beds are comfortable, everything works in the bathrooms, the breakfast buffet is quite amazing and after a long day, you can have a bowl of borscht and a pint of Russian beer at a reasonable price. Oh, and the gym was my private health club for all but one of the days I was there. It could use a workout mat rather than a dusty rug and some of the equipment is ancient. But the treadmill works fine and free weights are free weights, no matter when they were made, right? One word of caution: the restaurants suggested by the front desk staff? NOT worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisafitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, great to hear you accredited the free wifi, we know how important it is. Also we are pleased to hear you like the non-smoking environment since we are the only two hotels in Moscow who are 100% non-smoking. Glad you liked the restaurant and the gym, will definitely update the gym with a new workout mat! And last but not least: there are new, clear instructions at reception (and on our web site) on surrounding restaurants. These restaurants are all tested by me personally, now you can trust the advice 100%! :) Hope to see you with us again soon!
Katerina Cronstedt Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 883 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel near the terminal from Dom airport (5 min walk max). Think Premier travel inn and you won't be far wrong. Good restaurant with reasonably priced dishes. Breakfast I would say is not very good by western standards though plentiful and diverse. Receptionist fab! Very helpful and attentive. Room comfortable with good mattress and pillows, I had a high room with river view- good views of the city. Not sure if I'd agree on the rates advertised as I paid £230 (inc b'fast per night) but in comparison to some hotels in the area this was cheap! Lastly free open access wifi was FAB!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear guest,
Glad you liked our restaurant, though I would like to hear in more detail what you didn't like with the breakfast? Please feel free to contact me with your ideas! Great to hear you found room comfortable and staff helpful, and that liked the open access wifi! Look forward to see you again!
Katerina Cronstedt Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It seems clear from the other reviews that in terms of a Moscow hotel the Katerina City is a good choice, and I agree that the service is very good. Reception were helpful with any request that we had. The hotel is not central - it's 2 stops away on the metro although the station is very close by. As we were staying during the winter we did not feel confident using the metro late at night, so remained in the area in the evening, and there isn't much nearby.

The decor of the hotel rooms is a bit unusual with more blue and yellow on view than I've seen in a long while. However, the rooms are clean and a good size. We were there in the depths of Winter and the hotel is very toasty. Breakfast offers a large selection and after some confused looks we did quite enjoy the birdsong which gets piped in while you eat.

Room service is available, but there seems to be some confusion over whether you pay there and then, or when you leave (we ended up doing both). The hotel does not change currency (it does have an ATM), but they can tell you where the nearby exchange booth is - trust me you won't find that unless they tell you.

Overall you can get a clean, warm room - but perhaps something more central might have suited us a bit more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to leave a review. I am glad to hear you liked the service at Katerina City hotel. Yes, we are located 2 metro stops from red square, travel time, according to mosmetro official site, is 5 minutes. Glad you liked the unusual decor!
Katerina Cronstedt
Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Katerina City Hotel was a very clean and comfortable hotel during our 4 day stay in Jan 2013. We were upgraded to a suite which was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast is amazing and there are coffee/tea facilities in the rooms (well the suite at least). The staff were helpful and polite. We decided to stay an extra night and I accidentally booked the Katerina Park Hotel, the staff sorted it out for me with no extra charge or fine which was great. The hotel is a 5 mins walk to the train station, which is also the train station that you can get a direct train to the airport. Overall great hotel, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear guest, I am so glad to hear that you "would return"! Great that you found our hotel clean and comfortable, liked the breakfast and found staff helpful. There are coffee/tea facilities in all Large rooms, good that you enjoyed them. Hope to see you soon again!
Katerina Cronstedt
Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an enjoyable place to stay if it were in any city. The fact that it is in Moscow is truly amazing. The staff are friendly and atmosphere in the hotel is quiet and business like. Everywhere is clean and tidy. Atttention to detail is evident from the layout of the hotel to the breakfast included in the room price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear guest, good to hear that you found Katerina City "an enjoyable place to stay"! Attention to detail is our middle name :) we simply love our guests and our work! Thank you for taking time to leave a review, hope to see you soon again!
Katerina Cronstedt
Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel overall. Within walking distance to a metro stop. The staff was very helpful and spoke great English. The breakfast is a huge plus, great selection of eats. The sauna and hot tub are a good way to relax after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank certraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to leave a review. I am glad the situation at reception was solved quickly and it is great to hear we are your choice in Moscow!
We look forward to see you again soon.
Katerina Cronstedt
Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three nights with colleagues. Something went wrong with the booking and we had no reservations on arrival (not the fault of the hotel) but the receptionists dealt with the situation with professionalism, speed and good humour - an attitude I have found when I have stayed here before. Despite the difficulties check-in was a great experience. Rooms were made ready within half an hour. Nothing was too much trouble. This hotel has a Scandavian feel, not unnecessarily plush, but modern, clean and well managed and the price is reasonable for Moscow. It is my hotel of choice in Moscow.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - at least I have never been affected by traffic noise on thsi or previous visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina_Cronstedt, Owner at Katerina City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to leave a review. I am glad the situation at reception was solved quickly and it is great to hear we are your choice in Moscow!
We look forward to see you again soon.
Katerina Cronstedt
Managing Director Katerina Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
SunFlower Park Hotel
#60 of 327 in Moscow
882 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Aquamarine Hotel
Aquamarine Hotel
#14 of 327 in Moscow
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Presnensky
Peking Hotel
Peking Hotel
#69 of 327 in Moscow
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina City Hotel

Address: Shlyuzovaya Emb., 6, Moscow 115114, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Moscow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#23 Business Hotel in Moscow
#94 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $77 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Katerina City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katerina City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katerina City Moscow
Hotel Katerina City
Hotel Katerina Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing