We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again”
Review of Golden Ring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Ring Hotel
Ranked #33 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

From the get-go, the staff were generally helpful, very patient and polite - important for a westerner trying to navigate the intricacies of Russian Travel arrangements.

The "Standard Room" I was allocated was not large, but certainly adequate and it was tidy and well equipped. As witth nycbornuk, I had a problem with the Air Conditioning not working, and rather frustratingly this required escalation to Management to get fixed. Once resolved though, the room was very comfortable. It had a great view out over the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (one of the "Stalin Skyscrapers") and the Catherdral of Christ the Saviour. I think I was booked in on a corporate rate which for Moscow Prices was very reasonable (just under GBP200/Night tops including Tax and Breakfast).

The Breakfast Buffet offered a wide choice of hot and cold options, and the harper playing in the background gives at a good Unique Seling Proposition, but I would probably not have gone for it were it not included in the price - normally it's around GBP26. I didn't dine in the Hotel as there are plenty of other options nearby on Arbat St, but the Russian Hunt Restaurant Menu did look very enticing and there are a couple of other Restaurants in the Hotel.

The only other niggle was that a number of the facilities (the Souvenir Shop, Business Centre amongst others) had signs up saying that they were closed for 10 minutes "for technical reasons"
when in fact they were not open at all for long periods during their advertised opening hours.

So - not a perfect stay, but with all problems resolved (eventually), a comfortable room at what by local standards is a reasonable price, and a great location near Arbat and a couple of hundred yards from Smolenskaya Metro, I would have no problems about staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Head of the Commercial Department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear our guest!

Thank you for your priceless review! It is very importnat for us. Our aim is to become better following your comments.

We would like to welcome you during your next stay to visit our panoramic restaurants: Winter Garden (22nd floor) and Panorama Restaurant (23th floor). Each of them is unique in its own way. The tables are set out in such a way that every guest has a captivating view on the city of Moscow from the height of 80 metres! The culinary art of the “Golden Ring” has been recognized not only in Russia but also outside the country- the Hotel’s chefs are regular participants in international culinary competitions, and also carry out festivals of Russian cuisine and other countries.

Regarding your negative experience with air condition and working procedures of my assosiates I promise you to decide and solve these quations.

Welcome to our hotel!

Sincerely yours,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    309
    92
    28
    15
See reviews for
59
132
65
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

English speaking staff, clean and tidy room, still surprised by the smoking inside the coffee areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Head of the Commercial Department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear our Guest!

Thank you for your priceless review of the Golden Ring Hotel Moscow!

We appreciate that you have spent your time to comment your stay with us!

You are mostly welcome!

Sincerely Yours,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Deasent business trip hotel with English speaking staff.

Excellent breakfast, best so far in Russia with live musicians.

Interiors slightly outdated but views and free wifi compensate that.

Good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trave4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BortElena598, Head of the Commercial Department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your time spent to write the review here.
We appreciate it so much!

We kindly ask you to come back! :-)

You are mostly welcome!

Sincerely yours,
Bortnikova Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Reasonably priced hotel for "Moscow standard". I had a breathtaking view on Moscow as was lucky to have a riverside view on the upper floors: particularly stunning at the sunset and at night! Very polite, friendly and helpful staff. But was truly exceptional is the quality of ironing and dry-cleaning: my shirts were returned in about 1 hour perfectly fresh and impeccably ironed!

Room Tip: try to get upper floors riverside rooms for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen-Jerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BortElena598, Head of Commercial department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest!

I would like to thank you for so kind review.
We always try to do our best to meet your needs and expectations!

You are mostly welcome!

Sincerely Yours,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed twice at this hotel and while the staff are friendly, the place is really nice and clean - neither time could I get anyone to address the fact that I was sweating in my room as the windows wouldn't open and the ac was not functioning. Room temps above 85F aren't good for sleep so I didn't get much :( based on my experience I will use this hotel in the winter months only

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank nycbornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BortElena598, Head of Commercial department at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your review.
We will take into consideration all your remarks regarding the air condition system.
And I would like to emphasize that we take care of the guest safety therefore our room windows are not opened so easy. The Golden Ring building has 23 floors!

Next time I would recommend you to call at the Reception and ask to open window in your room.

You are most welcome!

Sincerely yours,
Elena Bortnikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I have been coming to the Golden ring since 2006, 3 - 4 times a year. This is a well located 5 star hotel. After so many years the staff now recognise me which is nice, (even though they have never recognised the fact that I am a loyal customer with an offer of an upgrade, as I receive from other hotels worldwide). Rooms are good, food is very good but beware of the slowest bar service in the world.
During my last stay, (last week), i had to get the duty manager involved to get a hot chocolate served at the bar and guess what after all the inconvenience involved they still charged me for the drink.
However, this should not put you off - it is a good hotel and the fact is I have been returning here for many years so that says it all.

Room Tip: get a high floor facing away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BortElena598, Depity Sales Director at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Guest!

We appreciate very much that you have found time to leave the review about our hotel! Thank you for so warm words. We do our best for you!
We will take your remarks into account about service in our lobby bar!

Be sure you are mostly welcome!

Sincerely Yours,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Top notch hotel, very helpful. rooms good, food good. couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BortElena598, Deputy Sales Director at Golden Ring Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Guest!

We appreciate very much that you have found time to leave the review about out hotel! Thank you for so warm words. We do our best for you!

Be sure you are mostly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 315 in Moscow
1,485 reviews
Presnensky
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Arbat
Moscow Marriott Hotel Novy Arbat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Lotte Hotel Moscow
#1 of 315 in Moscow
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Ring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Ring Hotel

Property: Golden Ring Hotel
Address: Smolenskaya St., 5, Moscow 119121, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Khamovniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#33 Business Hotel in Moscow
#34 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Ring Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Golden Ring Hotel!We invite you to enjoy the following services: accommodation booking, best offers of buffet breakfast in Moscow, panoramic restaurants located on top floors, dedicated weekend brunches, banquet halls, conference halls with equipment and catering options, fitness and Spa, secured garage parking, tire fitting and car wash, hi-end Japanese restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Ring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Ring Moscow
Hotel Golden Ring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing