We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful 'Budapest Hotel"”
Review of Budapest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Budapest Hotel
Ranked #81 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful 'Budapest Hotel"”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived at 6:30am and was immediately showed to our junior suite! Wow that was totally unexpected! The room was simply beautiful and spacious. Hotel is only about a 5 min walk to Red Square and The Kremlin so we walked there daily.

The breakfast is the same fare daily but at least there are choices. The staff are the friendliest I have come across and speak great English!

The only drawback is that if you get a room near the CLUB (situated next to the hotel) and you don't enjoy loud beats that totally ruin your sleep, then it's best you let the manager know you want a room away from loud noises. Now let's be honest here......there is always noise outside the room window! Why? Because you are in MOSCOW city!!

The staff make and attempt to accommodate your requests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohanamnms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    223
    155
    47
    23
See reviews for
64
152
69
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Fair rates, good breakfast buffet, decent rooms, great location in town walking distance from Red Square. Failed to give me wake up call, failed to pick me up at airport, failed to deliver message to guest because "he had already checked in".

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JackGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Not cheap, but hotels in Moscow aren't. Rooms start at about 7000 RUB; we chose a "Deluxe" for 8300. On the other hand, the location is great: five minutes to the Gulag musem, ten minutes each to Bolshoi Theater and Modern Art Museum, maybe twenty to Nikulin Circus and to Kremlin. Walking distance to a couple of excellent blues clubs (Bilingua and B.B. King). Lots of restaurants, bookstores and groceries (good one near the Lubyanka metro)

Hotel was built in the 1870's, and you can still see faded elegance: high ceilings, broad stairways, curved hallways, etc. Room was well-equipped and comfortable. Actually possible to take a bath in the bathroom. Room was quiet (except for a nearby disco on weekends). Good selection at breakfast buffet, especially the roast vegetables. You can use the concierge and (for a fee) the Business Center at the adjacent 5* Peter I. Believe they also have a fitness center, but didn't check it out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GWH3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice hotel, just 10 mins walks from four metro stations (Teatralnaya, Lubyanka, Kuznetsky Most and Okhotny Ryad) and close to Tverskaya street. They also have a bank and grocery store just 2 mins from the hotel. Breakfast was satisfying and filling. Rooms were clean.

Reception was friendly and helpful, and answered our questions about travelling. Given that we used the metro a lot and exclusively, I would (on my next trip) prefer a hotel right next to the metro station. The short-10 mins walk can look daunting when returning at the end of a long day. But I certainly think, the hotel was worth the price ($239) we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dukkar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here for four nights recently. Rooms are a little tired looking and could do with a refurb but the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is excellent, the bar pleasant. My only complaint is that the internet was unusably slow - too slow even for email, much less web browsing.

I had a room at the back which was quiet, I didn't hear a nightclub at any time. Aircon worked well. Expensive but that's Moscow.

Room Tip: From the two reviews below, sounds like you want a room at the back of the building. No view, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you need a reliable business base, where you can get a good night's sleep, then this hotel is not suitable.

I wasted around 5 hours trying to set up Internet, only to give up and go round the corner.

You also get charged an exorbitant additional fee just to use the Internet ( and just for one day!)

You really have to jump up and down for the staff to even begin paying attention to you.
Most of the staff, it seems, would rather be elsewhere.

Beware also, rooms on the 'gentlemans club' side of the building. This club plays loud doof- doof music till 6.00am so sleep on this side of the building is impossible.

Fortunately there many other good hotels in Moscow, where the provision of good service is in the frontal lobe of the staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the gentlemans club side like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moscowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Large hotel in excellent location, just a few minutes stroll from Red Square and the Kremlin. Staff friendly and efficient. The room was adequate but not not fantastic, reminded me of the 1980's..a bit beige. Very clean and the air conditioning worked well and was very welcome indeed (July). Breakfast was standard buffet style but excellent, in fact much much better than I have had in Paris and Genoa recently.
The one downside was the proximity of a local night club which banged out the music at night. To be fair it did stop on the dot of 1.00 am each evening and did not keep me awake. This however would be the single thing which would stop me picking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back of the hotel would be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tverskaya
Peter I
Peter I
#40 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Tverskaya
Kamergerskiy Hotel
Kamergerskiy Hotel
#87 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Tverskaya
Assambleya Nikitskaya
Assambleya Nikitskaya
#58 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Godunov Hotel
#101 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Tverskaya
Kuznetskiy Inn Hotel
Kuznetskiy Inn Hotel
#84 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Tverskaya
Courtyard Moscow City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Hotel

Property: Budapest Hotel
Address: Petrovskiye Linii St., 2, Moscow 127051, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Budapest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Hotel is excellently located in the very heart of Moscow, just steps away from the Bolshoi and Maly Theaters, Red Square, the Kremlin museums. The hotel was built in 1876 by the architect Freidenberg and now it is a cultural value of Moscow city. The Hotel has 116 rooms, including 51 Standard Single, 20 Standard Double, 37 Deluxe and 8 Premium Suite. Each of them is individually designed and decorated. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioned, a bathtub or a shower, telephone, satellite TV, a mini bar, safe box, a hairdryer, Internet access. All rooms are 100 % non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing