We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain but efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Ranked #25 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Place seems busy all three days I was there. It is located close to downtown, but good ten minutes walk to the subway, so probably not good for individual tourists without prearrange bus tours, etc. Rooms are clean and nice, but I was not able to get a queen/king bed and with two beds in the room it seems small. Also the bed was OK, but not that comfortable for a big person. Two strange things. First, small towels keep vanishing from the room, dirty one were not replaced. So on the third day I had three big towels, but no small left. Also, they make you sign check with price indicated at breakfast even if breakfast is included in your rate. Seems strange and not reasonable. Staff is nice, polite, speaks English and trying hard even if it is not easy all the time with so many guests. Restaurant are expensive and food is more on average side. Nothing too exciting is found on food or wine menu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have spent two weeks at this hotel this year and can't say enough great things about it. I highly recommend the executive level. The breakfast and evening buffet's are among the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. And, the team of servers and attendants are outstanding, welcoming, and understanding of weary business travelers. The rooms are quiet and well cared for. This is not a brand new property -- but they do a great job of keeping it relevant. Very reasonable compared to other similar hotels in Moscow.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay on the executive level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smdath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Rudge, General Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear smdath,

Thank you so much for this great review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you here again in the future.

Kind regards,
Robert Rudge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have spent there for a conference 4 days. The hotel was very big and comfortable but the charge
for the first night was ridiculously double than the other nights. The food in the hotel was ok and
The service quite good and the staff friendly and polite.

Room Tip: All rooms were comfortable and of good size. The first floor is a smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demetris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights on business, nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
Its immaculately clean, great linens, spotless bathrooms. Some have said out of date or in need of a refurb - certainly not my experience, its all very well maintained and fresh.
As with other places in Moscow, take a deep breath when receiving the bill, food and drink are expensive.
Its not the City Centre - thats reached in about 20 mins (rush hour) or 5-10 mins by cab, I didnt try out the metro, but think from the map there are about 3 stations within 10 mins walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beltel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Rudge, General Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Beltel,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It makes us happy to hear our guests are enjoying their stay with us. You are correct – the metro is very close to the hotel and 3 different stations can be reached within a 10 minute walk. We look forward to seeing you here again.

Kind regards,
Robert Rudge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have been here several times,leisure or business,each time i was very happy with outcome.I experienced service for regular room while on leisure or lounge for buiseness. Food,service,staff,gym,pool always at best. Prices in restaurants are high like in every hotel in Moscow yet difficult to swallow when the bill comes. Cakes in the bar are delicious

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Rudge, General Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear PT,
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoy staying with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you here again.

Best regards,
Robert Rudge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week, while travelling on business. I have to say – it was a great experience. For a foreigner, Moscow is a great, but difficult city: taxis are unreliable, winter lasts for 6 months, people aren’t always too willing to help….But last week, while at this Renaissance, I felt like I was at home. The staff was great, friendly and extremely helpful. The receptionists spoke good English and were very accommodating to my needs (directions, laundry, ordering a taxi, etc). I enjoyed the 495 Restaurant: good service and amazing French onion soup, truly a “must-try” dish. Breakfast at Vienna café was delicious, with a great variety of options. The hotel is not in the very heart of the city, however it is relatively close to everything necessary and they provide free shuttle service to the center. They also have a decent-size gym with all the necessary equipment to satisfy anyone. I had a great stay, feeling “at home”, while away from home. I will definitely come back to this property in the spring.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickael_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Rudge, General Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Mickael_Review,
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. Moscow is indeed a great city, but at times it certainly can be a bit difficult to handle, especially as a foreigner. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are happy we helped you feel at home during your travels. We look forward to seeing you here again.

Kind regards,
Robert Rudge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is a good 12-minute walk from the closest metro station (Prospekt Mira). The rooms are basic and comfortable.

The swimming pool was clean, with a decent size sauna and a lukewarm Jacuzzi (which was a pity).

Breakfast was very good, with sufficient variety of choices that varied throughout our 4-day stay. It would have been nice if free-wifi can be extended beyond the lobby into the breakfast area.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

What ruined it for us was the service. We had a bad experience trying to book a private tour to the Kremlin with the concierge. He was extremely unhelpful, rude and spoke with sub-par English proficiency for a hotel staff. We wanted a quote breakdown per person with or without pick up service from the hotel. He claimed that the quote came from the tour guide as a whole and he couldn't break it down. We then asked him to call the tour guide for a new quote because we wanted to change the tour details (additional person and longer time commitment from the tour guide). Suddenly, he was able to give us a quote without calling the tour guide. Then we found out that there was a quote breakdown from the tour guide, but he lied to us. At the end, we did not feel comfortable booking with him because he acted like a grumpy mafia. He even asked for all money up front without receipt! That sounded very fishy to us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charminglamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Rudge, General Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear charminglamb,

Thank you for your review, and I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I looked into your experience with the concierge team. From my understanding you were exploring many different options during your stay, and I think that over that time many of our concierge were trying to help as you were approaching them. I am sorry that some confusion may have been caused. For certain you should have received a receipt from us when we took your deposit and I apologise for that. The concierge deposit this money with the booked Tour Guide so that they may prepay tickets in order to avoid queues/line ups and to improve your experience.

We hope to see you here again.

Kind regards,
Robert Rudge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#21 of 327 in Moscow
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 327 in Moscow
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow

Address: Olympiyskiy Ave., 18/1, Moscow 129110, Russia (Formerly Renaissance Moscow Olympic Hotel)
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Philistine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Moscow
#8 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#10 Business Hotel in Moscow
#16 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $63 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow 4.5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow is located next door to the Olympic Complex, 15 minutes from the historic centre, main inter-city railway stations and Aeroexpress terminals, 10 minutes' walk to local theatres. The hotel offers its guests a complimentary shuttle service to the Moscow Metro, the city centre, business centres and exhibition halls. We offer individual service to satisfy your business and leisure expectations: 492 guest rooms, 12 conference rooms of different capacity from 18 up to 650 people, Priority check-in, VIP Lounge, Executive Rooms, Studios and Suites, restaurants and bars, 24 hour in-room dining, health club, swimming pool and saunas, business centre facilities, car parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. According to main travel portals our guests consistently rank us among the top hotels in Moscow. The hotel joined the Halal Friendly Hotels program and China Friendly Hotels program and offers special facilities for Muslims and Chinese guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Moscow
Moscow Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing