We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chain hotel in a historical place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Ranked #13 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A chain hotel in a historical place”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I gave it a "very good mark" because the location is superb and the staff is polite and attentive. However, being in the center of Moscow I would prefer something that bears at least some historical feeling. This hotel lacks even a hint of it. It is just a very chain hotel, similar to any other Marriott anywhere else. If you decide to stay there, make sure you are not at the 7th floor: the rooms are really small and the only window is almost nonexistent. I spent one night there and felt really claustrophobic. Then I moved to a junior suite on the 3rd floor, which was much larger, but the only window, again, was facing an inner court. I believe that they might have street-facing rooms, I was just my bad luck. Another detail I did not like was the hordes of security guys in the lobby. Otherwise, it's a good place - as close to most Moscow attractions as it could be.

Room Tip: Ask for a street-facing suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear War-chique,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your comments, which are extremely important for us.

I do hope to welcome you back personally to the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora in the near future, and we will try our best to accomodate you in a room to your liking.

Looking forward to see you in Aurora,

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    271
    39
    19
    9
See reviews for
143
274
60
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Marriott Royal Aurora is located at a great location close to the historical center (Red Square, Kremlin, Bolshoi), restaurants and metro. We stayed as a group (3 families) and had a great time. The facilities were excellent and the staff attentive. We had a guide called Daniel from Toursbylocals.com and he was awesome and did not use the concierge that much but the few times we asked them for information, they were not very helpful. The breakfast spread was very good and the check-in, restaurant and services desk staff were excellent. I will recommend the hotel highly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Vidyap,

On behalf of all the team at the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora may I thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at our hotel.

I was delighted to note that you had a memorable time with us. Recognition and attention to detail are extremely important to us, and I am pleased to learn that we lived up to your expectations in this regard. I will be sure to share your kind words with all our staff.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, and we will make our best to provide you the service you have the right to expect from Marriott. .

Warm regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had three days in Moscow at the start of a Volga Dream holiday in June.

The Aurora is in a very convenient location and is well appointed with attentive well trained staff. We enjoyed the breakfasts as part of our package but the prices for other meals and drinks at the hotel were outside any holiday makers' budget. Perhaps OK for those on expense accounts. There are plenty of affordable and good quality restaurants close to the hotel, however, and we enjoyed searching them out. We also were able to walk to Red Square etc after our hectic days on excursions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear denis y,

I would like to thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your opinion is very important to us and I will ensure this is shared with all members of the team.

I do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Marriott Royal Aurora.

Kindest Regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Olga and Sofia were outstanding, booking circus tickets, train tickets, and ground transportation. Very professional and accommodating. Lovely hotel, great location, close to Red Square, Kremlin, etc... Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gord G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Gord G,

Thank you so much for your comment.

I was delighted to note that you had a memorable time with us. Recognition and attention to detail are extremely important to us, and I am only too pleased to learn that we lived up to your expectations in this regard. I will be sure to share your kind words with all our staff, especially Olga and Sofia.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a nice hotel that is walking distance to everything AND with friendly staff than loo no further than the Marriott Royal Aurora. We've traveled a lot and this is one of the best hotels. One of my favorite parts? Comfortable beds! Really. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor come with free breakfast, mid day snacks and happy hour. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kertehQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear kertehQT,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words, which are extremely important for us.
I was happy to learn that you were satisfied with our hotel and service, and I do hope to welcome you back personally to the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We spent two nights here at the beginning of a tour holiday in Russia. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the Bolshoi theatre and 5 minutes from Red Square. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Wi fi is free in the lobby and worked reasonably well once you found a good spot.

Breakfast was very good and our tour group had a room to ourselves which enabled us to get to know each other before our river cruise.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby to suit all budgets.

Our only criticism is that the bureau de change in the lobby charges commission to change large value rouble notes into smaller denominations. This means that visitors who have only just arrived in Russia have no small notes to give as tips.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanJoan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear IanJoan44,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Marriott Royal Aurora for your recent stay in Moscow.

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for your positive comments, it is really very important to us.

I am sorry to see that you were not completely satisfied with our Bank service - we have passed your comment to the exchange office.

We place great value on your continued relationship with Marriott, and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With warm regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I really like the Aurora Marriott, the rooms are not the most amazing I have stayed in, however your paying for the location.

The place is perfect and the reception staff were brilliant. They could not accommodate more. The spa is nice and a welcome retreat. I really enjoyed Moscow being from the UK its not the easiest places to get too but the hotel could not accommodate more.

The executive lounge provided a good selection of nibbles, not sure why they do not serve spirits (especially vodka in moscow).

All in all a great experience. You are perfectly located - I asked for a table at the o2 lounge at the Ritz which I recommend and conierge booked it. I also did the opera at the bolshoi which you can book tickets online and is reasonably priced (about 20 quid compared to the ballet at around 150 quid).

Moscow is expensive but is a wonderful city - generally they have no understanding of service - you will find the strangest service in the world here. Expect small portions (no wonder the women are so slim) starters after main courses and drinks not what you expected. However its a fascinating city well worth visiting.

As someone advised me - you meet a Russian in London with a Louis Vouitton suitcase, he bumps into another Russian who says - did you buy that suitcase in London for £100.00, the russian replies why would I want to buy it in London for £100.00 when I can buy it in Moscow for £500.00 !?

As I experienced at the airport (worst food and service ever) - how much is a small beer - Answer : 415 roubles, how much is a large beer ? - Answer : 415 roubles - ....ummm ill have the large beer and leave half then ....

Welcome to Moscow :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londondave91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear londondave91,

On behalf of all the team at the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora may I thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at our hotel.

I was delighted to note that you had a memorable time with us.Recognition and attention to detail are extremely important to us, and I am only too pleased to learn that we lived up to your expectations in this regard. I will be sure to share your kind words with all our staff.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 316 in Moscow
3,023 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 316 in Moscow
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel

Property: Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Address: Petrovka St., 11, Moscow 107031, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#8 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#9 Family Hotel in Moscow
#11 Business Hotel in Moscow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel. It`s the only hotel in Russia provides a butler service to all guests. This luxury Moscow hotel in city center is the perfect base to explore everything this metropolis has to offer. With 232 guest rooms and suites, all day dining Aurora restaurant, famous for Sunday brunches, Polo Club restaurant, the original steak house in Moscow, you will have precious memories of your visit. The lobby bar is an ideal place both for an internal drink or a meeting with business partner. The event management team in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel has a high level of expertise in ensuring the smooth running of any event. There are 6 meeting rooms, 580sqm of total meeting space in the hotel. Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel offers popular service - outside catering. The hotel is few minutes away from historical places of interest such as Red Square, Arbat street and most popular shopping centers: TSUM and GUM. Warm and welcoming service coupled with fantastic amenities make us a unique Royal hotel in Moscow city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing