We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a good surprise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Ranked #13 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was my third stay in Marriot Aurora in 5 years and what a good surprise! The location is great near the red square and the bolshoi theater. The rooms are confortable and the breakfast excellent. The service was great as you can not expect in Moscow!! All the staff, security, reception, concierge, food and beverage + house keeping so helpful and smily!! 1st time that we provide me a wake up call including an expresso + fresh orange juice served in my room with no extra charge!
Wifi in your room is optional, free in the lobby.... nobody is perfect!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Patjeninks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Patjeninks,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your kind words to all members of the team.

I would be only too pleased if you were to return to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 991 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had brunch here with frinds and family.
It was a fantastic bruch. Focus on lunch - not breakfast. Very large section with varaity of food that you could go and get yourself.

Very enjoyable and I am sure we will be back. The location of the hotel/resturante is very central

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JensPerregaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear JensPerregaard,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Marriott Royal Aurora. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and especially Brunch, and I have passed on your kind words to the team.

We will all be delighted to see you back in the Marriott Royal Aurora.

Best regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Hotel in good location, 5 mins walk to the Bolshoi and 15-20 to red square and moscow does take time to walk around. Lots of restaurants, bars and shops nearby
Helpful staff. Lovely big room and bathroom.
Wi Fi in room would have been preferable

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear AnnieL79,
Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our hotel, and I am glad to inform you that we have free WiFi in public areas and in the rooms for Gold and Platinum members of the Marriott Rewards program. We are constantly worling over new internet offers in the hotel.
We do hope to see you back in Aurora, and we will do our best to make your stay most pleasant.
With kind regards,
Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel presents itself as the best in town but as I could compare it to an earlier stay in the Ararat Park Hyatt the differences became clear. This hotel has nothing special and my first irritation came when the reserved non smoking room was not available and I had to stay in a smoking room. Next to this, the smoking tables in the breakfast area were pretty close and one could smell the smoke. Disgusting! The room rate was lower than the Hyatt, however for what you get it is still wildly expensive, even though this is Moscow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear D B,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Marriott Royal Aurora.

I am sorry to see you experienced problems with smoking in the hotel, and I am glad to tell you that we are doing our best to enlarge the number of non-smoking rooms and public areas in the hotel. We are also planning to make the hotel non-smoking in the near future.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Marriott Royal Aurora.

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Visited in Nov 2012, no suprises - nor bad, nor good. You always find what u expect in Marriott. Great location if you want to have the Red square and Big theatre at your door step as well as other places worth seeing. For ladies travellers, i felt safe walking around alone later in the evening.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank ZuzanaCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear ZuzanaCZ,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Marriott Royal Aurora.

Your comment is very important to us and we do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Marriott Royal Aurora and making your stay most enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

While this hotel is not cheap by US standards, it is fairly priced for Moscow so we did not expect very much. We were blown away! Large room, spotless clean, giant bathroom. phenomenal service. Location could not be better. We walked almost anywhere we needed to get and took a train a couple of times which was steps away. We used the hotel transportation to get to the airport which reeked of smoke in the back, so that was a turn off. But since in Russia more people smoke that don't, they probably do not have a clue that it could bother anyone. This is the only place I would ever stay if I were back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OnlyModa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear OnlyModa,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words, which are extremely important for us.

I was happy to learn that you were satisfied with our hotel and service, and I do hope to welcome you back personally to the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just returned two days ago from Moscow where myself and 3 business colleagues stayed at the Aurora for 5 days. We paid over $200,000 Rubles ($6,000) not counting the restuarant or generous tips given to the staff. We Will not stay there again. Rooms are around $400 a night (with their VAT tax), and the value simplly doesn't meet the price when other hotels for around the same price like the Metropol or Savoy are closer to Red Square and offer more luxury.

Be prepared to spend ALOT in this hotel. Coffee and rolls are free from 6AM to 8AM, however, if you arrive 5 minutes late (which happened to us one morning), they charged us $12 USD for a small cup of coffee. Breakfast is over $50 USD and is sub par. When i tried to reason with the restaurant manager about how much we were spending, and that we've been here every morning and despite the free coffee, still left generous tips to the staff, that being a few minutes later and whacking us $48 USD for 4 small cups of coffee is not being very guest friendly. No flexibility.

Also be prepared to smell like smoke. There's smoking everywhere. They say some of the rooms are non-smoking, but it comes up through the registers and your non-smoking room still smells of smoke.

Bell hops speak little to no English and acted annoyed when we tried to ask directions to some place - even just to point us in the right direction.

check in staff was friendly. Location is decent. But remember, you're staying in the Times Square equivalent.

Extrememly disappointed in our experience. The $12 cup of coffee cost the Aurora thousands. We won't be back.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor facing a small courtyard. much quieter than my colleagues who faced the s...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Corey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Corey E,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay in the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora.

I am very sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to make a very favorable impression on your next visit to Moscow. I would like to assure you that your experience is not reflective of our usually high levels of service and guest satisfaction.

We initiated complimentary tea/coffee in the early morning time served in the Lobby Bar to deliver an enhanced service for guests leaving the hotel early and who may not wish to have breakfast. As the Lobby Bar opens at 8 AM, we offer all the drinks and food items from the menu from this time. I have reviewed your comments with all the team in the Lobby Bar as we would not wish to appear inflexible and in future we will have a limited additional time when complimentary coffee will be made available.

Regarding the smoking in the hotel, I am glad to inform you that we are enlarging the non-smoking public areas and number of non-smoking rooms and next year we are planning to make the hotel completely non-smoking.

Dear Corey E, we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and we will do our best to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 326 in Moscow
3,128 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel

Address: Petrovka St., 11, Moscow 107031, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#8 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#9 Family Hotel in Moscow
#11 Business Hotel in Moscow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $200 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel. It`s the only hotel in Russia provides a butler service to all guests. This luxury Moscow hotel in city center is the perfect base to explore everything this metropolis has to offer. With 232 guest rooms and suites, all day dining Aurora restaurant, famous for Sunday brunches, Polo Club restaurant, the original steak house in Moscow, you will have precious memories of your visit. The lobby bar is an ideal place both for an internal drink or a meeting with business partner. The event management team in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel has a high level of expertise in ensuring the smooth running of any event. There are 6 meeting rooms, 580sqm of total meeting space in the hotel. Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel offers popular service - outside catering. The hotel is few minutes away from historical places of interest such as Red Square, Arbat street and most popular shopping centers: TSUM and GUM. Warm and welcoming service coupled with fantastic amenities make us a unique Royal hotel in Moscow city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing