We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Google central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Ranked #14 of 323 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Google central hotel”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel in good location, 5 mins walk to the Bolshoi and 15-20 to red square and moscow does take time to walk around. Lots of restaurants, bars and shops nearby
Helpful staff. Lovely big room and bathroom.
Wi Fi in room would have been preferable

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear AnnieL79,
Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora.
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our hotel, and I am glad to inform you that we have free WiFi in public areas and in the rooms for Gold and Platinum members of the Marriott Rewards program. We are constantly worling over new internet offers in the hotel.
We do hope to see you back in Aurora, and we will do our best to make your stay most pleasant.
With kind regards,
Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    274
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
150
281
62
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel presents itself as the best in town but as I could compare it to an earlier stay in the Ararat Park Hyatt the differences became clear. This hotel has nothing special and my first irritation came when the reserved non smoking room was not available and I had to stay in a smoking room. Next to this, the smoking tables in the breakfast area were pretty close and one could smell the smoke. Disgusting! The room rate was lower than the Hyatt, however for what you get it is still wildly expensive, even though this is Moscow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear D B,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Marriott Royal Aurora.

I am sorry to see you experienced problems with smoking in the hotel, and I am glad to tell you that we are doing our best to enlarge the number of non-smoking rooms and public areas in the hotel. We are also planning to make the hotel non-smoking in the near future.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Marriott Royal Aurora.

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited in Nov 2012, no suprises - nor bad, nor good. You always find what u expect in Marriott. Great location if you want to have the Red square and Big theatre at your door step as well as other places worth seeing. For ladies travellers, i felt safe walking around alone later in the evening.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ZuzanaCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear ZuzanaCZ,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Marriott Royal Aurora.

Your comment is very important to us and we do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Marriott Royal Aurora and making your stay most enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

While this hotel is not cheap by US standards, it is fairly priced for Moscow so we did not expect very much. We were blown away! Large room, spotless clean, giant bathroom. phenomenal service. Location could not be better. We walked almost anywhere we needed to get and took a train a couple of times which was steps away. We used the hotel transportation to get to the airport which reeked of smoke in the back, so that was a turn off. But since in Russia more people smoke that don't, they probably do not have a clue that it could bother anyone. This is the only place I would ever stay if I were back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OnlyModa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear OnlyModa,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words, which are extremely important for us.

I was happy to learn that you were satisfied with our hotel and service, and I do hope to welcome you back personally to the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just returned two days ago from Moscow where myself and 3 business colleagues stayed at the Aurora for 5 days. We paid over $200,000 Rubles ($6,000) not counting the restuarant or generous tips given to the staff. We Will not stay there again. Rooms are around $400 a night (with their VAT tax), and the value simplly doesn't meet the price when other hotels for around the same price like the Metropol or Savoy are closer to Red Square and offer more luxury.

Be prepared to spend ALOT in this hotel. Coffee and rolls are free from 6AM to 8AM, however, if you arrive 5 minutes late (which happened to us one morning), they charged us $12 USD for a small cup of coffee. Breakfast is over $50 USD and is sub par. When i tried to reason with the restaurant manager about how much we were spending, and that we've been here every morning and despite the free coffee, still left generous tips to the staff, that being a few minutes later and whacking us $48 USD for 4 small cups of coffee is not being very guest friendly. No flexibility.

Also be prepared to smell like smoke. There's smoking everywhere. They say some of the rooms are non-smoking, but it comes up through the registers and your non-smoking room still smells of smoke.

Bell hops speak little to no English and acted annoyed when we tried to ask directions to some place - even just to point us in the right direction.

check in staff was friendly. Location is decent. But remember, you're staying in the Times Square equivalent.

Extrememly disappointed in our experience. The $12 cup of coffee cost the Aurora thousands. We won't be back.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor facing a small courtyard. much quieter than my colleagues who faced the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Corey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Corey E,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay in the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora.

I am very sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to make a very favorable impression on your next visit to Moscow. I would like to assure you that your experience is not reflective of our usually high levels of service and guest satisfaction.

We initiated complimentary tea/coffee in the early morning time served in the Lobby Bar to deliver an enhanced service for guests leaving the hotel early and who may not wish to have breakfast. As the Lobby Bar opens at 8 AM, we offer all the drinks and food items from the menu from this time. I have reviewed your comments with all the team in the Lobby Bar as we would not wish to appear inflexible and in future we will have a limited additional time when complimentary coffee will be made available.

Regarding the smoking in the hotel, I am glad to inform you that we are enlarging the non-smoking public areas and number of non-smoking rooms and next year we are planning to make the hotel completely non-smoking.

Dear Corey E, we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and we will do our best to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

When in Moscow I tend to stay in Aurora as it's high quality and close to my office.

You cannot ask for more, clean and comfortable rooms, very good breakfast. One thing this hotels excels on is service - everyone is extremely attentive and the staff do everything to make your stay more comfortable. Small things like glass of champagne at the beginning of your stay to a complimentary coffee with your wake up call. Now people call me by my first name and remember so feels like among friends.

Highly recommend to everyone, business or leisure.

Room Tip: Access to VIP room gives you light dinner snacks and free wine/beer plus free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear AdamPal,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind words, which are extremely important for us.
I was happy to learn that you were satisfied with our hotel and service, and I do hope to welcome you back personally to the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora in the near future.

With warm regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

When I stay at a Marriott I expect attentive service and well appointed rooms. The staff was quite welcoming. Because of confusion over the time change, I arrived one day after my scheduled reservation. The staff handled rebooking and had us in our room immediately with no hassle (and no charge for the missed day). All of the staff are proficient in English. The room lived up to Marriott standards, the marble bathroom spacious, updated, and very clean. The variety and quality of breakfast, snacks and drinks served in the concierge lounge were well above-average. Ksenia, one of the hostesses, set the standard for friendliness and helpfulness. Every morning her smiles gave us a great start on the day. The hotel location is within a couple blocks of the Bolshoi, Chekhov Theater, Red Square, the Kremlin and several art museums as well as the shopping district. Great property. Great location. Great service. I recommend that you have the Marriott arrange car service to and from the airport. We got a taxi at the airport that cost $170. The hotel car service back to the airport was only $140 and so much more comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street and was very quiet. I assume walls are thick because there was no residua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Molly H,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us. We have proudly shared your kind words with our team.

I was delighted to see that you were satisfied with our hotel and services, and I do hope to welcome you back personally to the Marriott Moscow Royal Aurora.

With kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 323 in Moscow
3,069 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel

Property: Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Address: Petrovka St., 11, Moscow 107031, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#9 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#9 Family Hotel in Moscow
#11 Business Hotel in Moscow
#14 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel. It`s the only hotel in Russia provides a butler service to all guests. This luxury Moscow hotel in city center is the perfect base to explore everything this metropolis has to offer. With 232 guest rooms and suites, all day dining Aurora restaurant, famous for Sunday brunches, Polo Club restaurant, the original steak house in Moscow, you will have precious memories of your visit. The lobby bar is an ideal place both for an internal drink or a meeting with business partner. The event management team in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel has a high level of expertise in ensuring the smooth running of any event. There are 6 meeting rooms, 580sqm of total meeting space in the hotel. Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel offers popular service - outside catering. The hotel is few minutes away from historical places of interest such as Red Square, Arbat street and most popular shopping centers: TSUM and GUM. Warm and welcoming service coupled with fantastic amenities make us a unique Royal hotel in Moscow city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing