We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Ranked #12 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
213 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, accommodating staff”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

When I think about this hotel, I think about its location and its staff.

If you are planning to go sightseeing in Moscow, this hotel is in an excellent location - it really couldn't be more convenient. It is within walking distance to the Zum Shopping Mall, Gulag Museum, Bolshoi Theater, and Red Square - in addition to many other attractions. From the entrance to Red Square, it is an easy walk to the GUM Department Store, St. Basil's, Lenin's Mausoleum, the State Historical Museum, and The Kremlin. Additionally, as others have mentioned, it is an easy walk to the Metro. Be aware that the hotel is located approximately one hour from the Moscow Airport - so plan accordingly. However, it is located only about 20-30 minutes from the train station - so if you take a train to/from St. Petersburg, it is very convenient.

The hotel staff was extraordinarily accommodating. The Front Desk staff was helpful and efficient at check-in. The concierge was able to answer questions and provide clear directions - as well as maps and tour information. If you are not on a tour, this is helpful - the signage in Moscow can be confusing. The staff in the executive lounge was extremely service oriented - actually waiting on you at your table, which I've rarely seen in other hotels. The butler service was lovely to have - though we really didn't use it. The staff in the restaurant, where breakfast is provided, was also helpful - and had several people who spoke English quite well who would step in and translate for the cooks who made food to order. The people in this hotel really seemed to want to be helpful, they seemed to enjoy working with customers, they were always smiling, always accommodating and spoke excellent English. This hotel seems to have invested in customer service training for staff - and it shows.

The hotel lobby is lovely - very large and welcoming. The executive lounge was very nice - with hot and cold food options including selections like beef stroganoff that really could serve as a complete meal. The restaurant serves a complete buffet breakfast - and as a Platinum Marriott member, you had the option of breakfast in either the executive lounge or the restaurant. The restaurant breakfast is far more extensive and was quite good. Our room was dated, though large, and had both a bathtub and a walk-in shower. Internet connectivity was frustrating and does need to be improved - it was difficult to get and keep a connection.

The hotel does provide Visa support documents in a timely manner and was very efficient in emailing answers to questions that we had.

Moscow is an amazing city - large, bustling, vibrant, and historic. This hotel, due to its location, made it easy to see and do everything we had planned. And, due to its staff, gave us all the information we needed to have a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeeingTheWordFromORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that we have proudly shared with our team!
I am happy to see that we fulfilled your expectation, and our only goal is to make our guests happy and satisfied.
Thank you for mentioning the Butler service - this is a unique feature of our hotel, and I am very glad that our dear guests mention this in the feedback.
Thank you again for your warm words, and looking forward to welcome you back!
Best regards,
Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    255
    39
    19
    6
See reviews for
131
259
56
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was booked into this hotel for my first trip to Moscow.
I was there primarily on business, but I did get to also spend some spare time exploring.
My flight arrived very late in the night and by the time I got the to the hotel it was well after midnight. Arriving in a new city in the middle of the night can be a little jarring, but the hotel bellman and front desk attendant made me feel very welcome and comfortable.
The rooms have an old world feel. The bathroom and other amenities were well appointed.
Given it's central location and professional service, I would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for giving your feedback following your stay in Marriott Royal Aurora.
I am delighted you enjoyed our services, and I will share your kind words with the whole team.
Also I would like to tell you that our hotel will be facing major renovation, and I do hope to see you back in Aurora!

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have just returned from Moscow after staying in this hotel. It is located in an area which is lively and busy. If you are going to Moscow for leisure, then I recommend this hotel. There are many restaurant near the hotel. In fact there is a sort of food street nearby where you get a lot of food option.

Tsum Mall is just 2-3 minutes walk. It is worth paying a visit whether you plan to buy anything or not. The nearest Metro station is just 5-7 minutes walk. You can walk to Kremlin in around 15 minutes.

Hotel however is old and the furniture looks a bit tired. Breakfast was reasonable; not outstanding. I did not otherwise eat in the hotel and therefore can not comment on food quality.

The room had tea/coffee making facility, free bottles of water and iron/stand. The room size was big by all standards even though I was in a standard room. The temperature control did work but at times it used to get trapped between Hot and Cold resulting in a constant tripping noise of the switch.

Front Desk staff was courteous and helpful speaking good English

If you get a good price then this hotel surely is worth trying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JavedAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your stay in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora.

I am happy to read that you liked our hotel, and I am glad to tell you that we are facing major renovation soon.

I do hope to see you back in Aurora,

Warmest regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

What a great position walking distance from Red Square and I the heart of the shopping and cafe culture.

The hotel is immaculate and the staff are faultless. The rooms are well equipped but if I am being picky would say the decor was a little dated.
The chocolate from the turndown service every night was an added bonus :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Marriott Royal Aurora.
We pride ourselves on the service and were delighted that we met your expectations.
We will be happy to see you back. I have passed on your kind words to our team.

Many thanks once again,

Kind regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a perfect hotel with all the wonderful ammenties. Large, beautiful lobby, with beautiful large rooms.
The breakfast buffet was superb!
The special members of Marriott received wonderful snacks, beverages of all kinds; including wine, etc.
The staff was pleasant, very helpful.
It is centrally located to those sites of interest.
A bit expensive but well worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nemabalcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback, it is very rewarding to us all!

I am happy to see you were satisfied with our services, and I do hope to welcome you back in Aurora.

Warm regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff were the first thing to recommend this hotel, whether front desk, restaurant or breakfast room they were friendly, helpful and efficient. Room was well appointed and of a good size. The Hotel itself is centrally located in an up-market area of Moscow with lots of restaurants round about. Moscow is expensive and the coffee at the Marriot was $AUD13.79 - Ouch! but it was nice! I was appreciative of the ATM in the lobby as it seemed to be nice and safe and meant not being concerned outside in the street. All major sights are either a walk or metro ride away. Don't be daunted by the metro and cyrillic language with a little thought and planning its easy to navigate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidT1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with us.

I am glad to see that we lived up to your expectations, and I do hope to see you back in Aurora.

Kindest regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I wrote a review on this property in March 2012. Just returned from a visit last week, and they did it again - a year and half since the last visit and 2 different people welcomed by name on site. Everything about this property is first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback following your stay in Marriott Royal Aurora.

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Warmest regards,

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 309 in Moscow
2,777 reviews
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel

Property: Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Address: Petrovka St., 11, Moscow 107031, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#7 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#9 Family Hotel in Moscow
#11 Business Hotel in Moscow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel. It`s the only hotel in Russia provides a butler service to all guests. This luxury Moscow hotel in city center is the perfect base to explore everything this metropolis has to offer. With 232 guest rooms and suites, all day dining Aurora restaurant, famous for Sunday brunches, Polo Club restaurant, the original steak house in Moscow, you will have precious memories of your visit. The lobby bar is an ideal place both for an internal drink or a meeting with business partner. The event management team in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel has a high level of expertise in ensuring the smooth running of any event. There are 6 meeting rooms, 580sqm of total meeting space in the hotel. Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel offers popular service - outside catering. The hotel is few minutes away from historical places of interest such as Red Square, Arbat street and most popular shopping centers: TSUM and GUM. Warm and welcoming service coupled with fantastic amenities make us a unique Royal hotel in Moscow city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing