We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Ranked #12 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our first trip to Moscow and we couldn't have made a better choice for a hotel. Terrific location just behind the Bolshoi ballet and a two minute walk to Red Square. Impressive lobby and dining room. Our room was clean, modern and roomy with all the accessories you would expect in a top notch hotel. The concierge was very accomodating and the hotel offers transport services (for a fee) that are a life saver as getting a taxi in a rush is not easy. The breakfast buffet is a treat offering American and European cuisine.

Room Tip: We stayed in the area overlooking the dining room which is the newest part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here 2x last week. First visit I received standard king room on 6th floor facing interior courtyard. At second checkin (had a 1-night trip in between stays) I pulled rank (Marriott Plat status) and asked for a better room. Received a larger one but then my colleague (who has no status) said he got the same one on the first visit. Better to do afternoon checkin if you can as staff is more experienced. In general all staff are friendly and speak pretty good english. Had to borrow an iphone charger as mine broke - no problem!

The standard rooms are spacious and well furnished with flat screen TV and stocked refrig. However be aware prices are outrageous :( Very quiet for a big city with major traffic at all hours. However the bed sagged a little and the bathroom was pretty small with very little room on counter. Shower had good water pressure. Wifi connection is fast or you can plug the ethernet cable into a router (I use Airport express) to set up your own network. Second visit had a room that was larger with a couch and large bathroom with a long counter. Also a much firmer bed. Note: When you order wakeup call they will offer to send free coffee or tea with wakeup - nice way to start morning :)

Executive Lounge is open 6am-12am though they don't kick you out at 12. Tte lounge is one of the better ones in terms of food, the breakfast was a mini-replica of the restaurant buffet with nice selection of cut fruit, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, cold meats, etc. plus made-to-order coffee lattes, etc. Multiple staff members to see to all your needs. You could almost make a meal at dinner time if you like the hors d'ouvres as they have pancakes and other healthy items - not the usual fried crap. Very friendly staff will bring you as much wine & beer as you like (and can take glasses back to room).

Used the gym 2x (free) - one of the better ones I've seen with a nice selection of cardio and weights plus they hand you free headphones for personal TV viewing. Nice pool, towels, etc.

My corp rate included free breakfast. The latter was sensational, a huge buffet in the 2nd floor restaurant with made-to-order omelettes or eggs, fresh cut fruit, lots of meats, bacon, oatmeal, yogurt, and smoked fish included salmon. Pretty much everything you could want, plus juices, even champagne.

All-in-all I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone, the only major minus is the incessant indoor smoking which is permitted everywhere in Russia. The lobby is filled with d-bags smoking cigars and cigarettes - the executive lounge is better though still has a smoking area. Also prices are high - $8 for a shoe shine, $8 for twix candy from minibar - yikes! and $30 for daily internet though I think you can use multiple devices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boraxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

First I need to admit it is very good hotel. Very comfortable with good service, good breakfast iv very good location in City center. However it is unnecessary expensive. Room rate given is without VAT and finally they add 18% but… you have to pay for internet connection in your room!!! In 5* hotel overpriced you need to add 30 – 50 Euro for 2 days Internet!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maciej Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location of this hotel is great. I got a good deal via a travel web-site and thought it was good value. The room was spacious, and well maintained. Unlike other contributors I found the concierge service very helpful. They certainly did not push the hotel car when I asked about a city cab instead and called a very good, metered cab company that charged me the expected price.

Breakfast and mini bar prices are extortionate though, but there are plenty of good cafes around where you can get a great breakfast for a fifth of the hotel price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would definitely stay here again. The rooms were very comfortable, and going to bed was like sinking into my own personal cocoon. Bathroom was spacious with lovely lemongrass-scented products. Excellent breakfast buffet with ten different kinds of juice, delicious coffee, great pastry, and a talented omelette-chef (he didn't speak much English, but figured out that I wanted egg-whites).

Location is great - walkable to Metro. You can also walk to the Kremlin and Red Square although it's a bit of a hike. Right on the main street of Moscow with restaurants and shops.

The only issue I have is that they charge 18% VAT on everything - including food, which is absurd.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momdaughter2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is in a decent location for central Moscow, the rooms are large and clean and the service is fine.
I was a little surprised that none of the staff really spoke English (though that is true of all Moscow, even the real tourist traps), but it isn't their fault that I can't speak Russian and they were friendly and helpful.
Pay Wifi is a bit unusual in a supposedly premium hotel but not really a massive issue, it was reliable and fairly fast.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels in Moscow and it is not the rooms or the decoration that make it the best but the value for money.It is much less expensive than all other 5 star hotels but it offers exactly what you need from a 5 star city hotel: Huge rooms,great service and the best location next to the best restaurants,shops and cafes of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LieseMunich33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 327 in Moscow
3,313 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel

Address: Petrovka St., 11, Moscow 107031, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#7 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#11 Business Hotel in Moscow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $154 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel. It`s the only hotel in Russia provides a butler service to all guests. This luxury Moscow hotel in city center is the perfect base to explore everything this metropolis has to offer. With 232 guest rooms and suites, all day dining Aurora restaurant, famous for Sunday brunches, Polo Club restaurant, the original steak house in Moscow, you will have precious memories of your visit. The lobby bar is an ideal place both for an internal drink or a meeting with business partner. The event management team in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel has a high level of expertise in ensuring the smooth running of any event. There are 6 meeting rooms, 580sqm of total meeting space in the hotel. Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel offers popular service - outside catering. The hotel is few minutes away from historical places of interest such as Red Square, Arbat street and most popular shopping centers: TSUM and GUM. Warm and welcoming service coupled with fantastic amenities make us a unique Royal hotel in Moscow city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing