We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you like Mariott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
Ranked #18 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Very spacious rooms, decent internet connectivity, great beds.
Good bartender @lobby bar,
Excellent breakfast. 15 minutes walk to Red Square - so good for a first timer in Moscow, can do business and see the main sites.
If you have a tariff with free internet - check your bill on checkout, as they always forget to remove it.
Disadvantages - can be expensive, but so is Moscow.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank A_Norski_Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed here during business trip to Moscow. Convenient to metro, Red Square and Kremlin (20 minute walk). Staff was very helpful with advice. Rooms were clean, but on the small side. As with most Moscow hotels, internet connection cost was an outrageous $30 a day. Buffet breakfast included in the room rate was a plus. Was last in Moscow in 2005 and prices seem to have gone up 4x.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bewickwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We spent 2 nights at our own expense prior to joining a conducted tour, which began at the same hotel. That was why we copped the huge tariff, as we did not want to move from another hotel. However I must say that for the AU4-500, you could have up to 4 people in the room (we had 3). I don't know how it compared to other Moscow hotels.
But it was comfortable, clean, staff very helpful, especially in early days when we needed invitations etc for our visas. We refused to pay for AU$60 for the breakfast, finding much cheaper places down the road. But when we had the breakfast as part of the tour, it was an excellent range and good quality. The location was also good - near metro, and easy to find your way around. I don't usually stay in 5 star hotels so I don't know how it compares - but it was good - but expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed three nights at this hotel whilst attending a conference there, the hotel was not sumptuous, but it was extremely comfortable, with spotlessley clean rooms and ample, quality toiletries which were replenished during my stay. I had several meals in the Samobranka restaurant, including breakfast and lunch, plus room service on one occasion. Meals were plentiful and delicious, and the staff were very attentive, always polite and ready to greet with a smile, which makes for all the more pleasant a stay. Reception staff too were very polite and all staff, from the reception, to porters, room service, and concierge, spoke excellent English and were most obliging. All in all, an excellent choice and highly recommended. All hotels in Moscow are expensive, and the Marriott Grand is no exception, but because of the quality of the service, it was a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldmanHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Great location, near the Kremlin and shops. Relatively quiet from street noise

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris4418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

This was a good hotel. Not great, not bad. If you consider yourself relatively low maintenance, then this will be a perfect fit for you. If I was staying at a Marriott at any major US city, I think this is consistent with what I'd find.

PROS:
*LOCATION. Go left and you're headed towards the Kremlin. Go right and you're headed towards shopping.
*BREAKFAST. Decent breakfast in the mornings. Horrendous coffee - try the tea.
*BATHROOM. Nice big, clean bathrooms in the rooms.
*BEDS. The beds are very nice - Marriott obviously shipped these beds from the U.S.

CONS:
*NO FRILLS. Come with your trip advisor recommendations instead of trying to ask the staff.
*ELELVEN DOLLARS per beer. If you have a free 30-60 min. before a tour I hear they have diet cokes on sale for $7.50.
*LOUD. We stayed on the 4th floor and could still hear a wedding reception in the basement due to the hotels circular shape, trapping in the sounds. If you're looking for the ultimate in quiet and relaxation, this might not be it.
*NO WIFI. Perhaps a bit strange in the capital city.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmasterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Please, Marriott Grand, put some better Satellite TV channels in the rooms, and provide a cheaper internet service. $35 per day for a connection is rough.

I am here again for a long term business stay and after a week here it is DULL. The gym is a saviour.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r8z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 327 in Moscow
3,188 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 327 in Moscow
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Presnensky
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel

Address: 26/1 Tverskaya Street, Moscow 125009, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#17 Business Hotel in Moscow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#18 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $99 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business travelers and tourists, near business centers and historical places of interest like Red Square and Bolshoi theater, Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel is known for impeccable service and event facilities. Spacious rooms and suites at our city centre hotel in Moscow, Russia include many wonderful amenities. Stay fit in Grand Fitness Gym featuring modern equipment and indoor pool. With Grand Alexander restaurant, reflecting the very best of international cuisine, Samobranka restaurant, known for Sunday brunches, grand lobby with glass dome and fountain, you will have treasured memories of your visit. Over 855sq m of event space in Moscow city center, there is no better place to host business meetings, conferences, weddings and grand social events than in Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel where creative on-site and outside catering and assistance of professional event managers are set to ensure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing