We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad....Exec floor not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2008

This Marriott was clean and the rooms were older but very well kept. The staff was excellent and helped in every way possible. Everywhere you go in Moscow it very expensive and unless you speak Russian you will have communication issues. The staff at the hotel spoke very good English and this was a big help. The bar in the lobby was convenient and the food was very good at the various restaurants…but be prepared to pay, it is very expensive, just like everything in this city! The Executive floor is not worth the extra money! Also internet access is very very expensive. This hotel is convenient to many attractions and you can walk to Red Square etc…use the underground walkways to cross the intersections!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
There are newer reviews for Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2008

I had to be in Moscow for 5 days, and the hotel was chosen for facillities and location. Overall both are very good, a 20 minute walk to the Red Square area with a few restaurants close by. The hotel has 3 restaurants, i ate in two and the star was far and away was Russkiy Pogrebok serving good local food with superb service - thanks to Maya, Pavel and the manager there. They are all stars. THe down was the executive lounge which was small and smokey. Breakfast in there was good but at the price of the hotel it's hard to expect to pay for drinks in the lounge. You save 20 roubles on a beer as compared to the ground floor bar and lose atmosphere. Staff try but it's too dark and dull to be a winner. The ground floor bar is good if expensive, like all Moscow. Quirk is wireless internet access, which worked well, but to get an access code you have to go to the special desk on the ground floor to obtain it. Odd. If I go back ot Moscow I will happily tay there again, but not on the exec floor, the lounge wasn't worth the extra £60 a night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Because everything’s so overpriced you feel you it costs a grand to stay there!

First of all great gym! Top marks for the diversity and number of pieces of equipment and treadmills –never did I have to wait, also is open 24h

Check in was efficient enough –for those who don’t know be prepared to have your passport taken for a few hours on check in.

Breakfast is a decent selection of hot and cold food; waitress speed with the coffee was a little variable.

There were small areas of lack of attention to detail…
The room hairdryer did not work,
And the TV had no menu option to show you your bill
The overall design of the room was poor there was no real way to comfortably watch the TV from the sofa due to them being 90 degrees to each other.

No tea coffee facilities in the room is a real pain for me so poor marks there!

Laundry was an other issue, Same day service still not back by 10.30pm.
Phoned down to be given some excuse that they where just starting their rounds delivering it! Come on tell the truth –your going to disturb guests at 10-11 pm to deliver laundry?????? Me thinks not!

20 minutes later still no delivery phoned again, 5 minutes later it arrived -- poor show!!

I lost my key card-no problem I asked reception for a new one – problem was they didn’t even ask me a basic security question to confirm guests name to the room number!!!! Poor show!!! MAKE USE OF THE SAFE

Talking of said item of the in room safe it’s adequate but alas it’s too small to fit a regular pc note book –poor show!!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
2  Thank Masspecguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

My room was very comfortable and quiet but the bottle of water left out for me was priced at 30 rubles = £6.50 or $13. This was more than twice the price of a bottle of Vodka in ths supermarket. Is Marriott having a laugh?

Photographic evidence attached.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stayed in this hotel on business several times. Very good location, plenty of restaurants around, bars, clubs, etc. metro is right there, but is a bit far from Kremlin. Unlike Courtyard, this hotel has nice gym with a pool, nice bar, rooms I guess are slightly better, but I generally find all Marriott rooms pretty average.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank ivanov0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

I found the hotel to be very nice, but a bit pricey (Moscow is expensive). Group rate was $398, which was a good deal. The restaurants and room service were good, but expensive ($35 - $45 USD for a single room service entree and no drink). The breakfast has a large variety of food available. The coffee is the blackest, thickest coffee I have ever had. The staff were all prompt, helpful, and attentive. I did not notice any "surlyness" that others mentioned. The hotel is reasonably secure, as you have to use your room key to operate the elevator. I always felt safe walking up and down Tverskaya. The room was ample sized with a comfortable queen bed and a nice sized bathroom. My room faced the side street above the main entry (5th floor) which was much quieter than rooms facing Tverskaya. The TV has a variety of channels in a variety of languages. You could get at least one US news network and the BBC. There is a currency change ATM in the lobby as well as a staffed exchange window (until 10 PM). Red Square and the Kremlin are about one mile down Tverskaya. It's not a bad walk and is worth it. There are a number of restaurants close by and on down toward Red Squeare. Some are inexpensive (My My at 16 Tverskaya is about $10 per person).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulsaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Stayed at Marriott Grand for work for two nights in March 2008.

Hotel lobby is very grand and the lobby bar was a life saver arriving late in the evening. Very relaxing atmosphere to enjoy a BLT and a drink.

Room was pretty standard. There was nothing wrong with it but it is a bit outdated and decor is slighly worn. The room (double for single use) was however very spacious and the bed is heavenly comfy.

Didn't have a problem using English in the hotel and found the staff helpful and friendly.

Location is central. It's located on Tverskaya street and it is about 30 minute walk to Kremlin. However, the immediate surroundings of the hotel seem to be pretty dull.
Drive to Sheremetyevo airport took about an hour on the way there in an afternoon and only about 40 minutes when I arrived late on a weekday evening. I guess I was lucky as the the traffic jams can be much worse.

All in all I think I would look for a newer and more updated accommodation the next time I'm in Moscow... providing I can find a decent price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank synnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 326 in Moscow
3,128 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 326 in Moscow
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel

Address: 26/1 Tverskaya Street, Moscow 125009, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#17 Business Hotel in Moscow
#18 Family Hotel in Moscow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $111 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business travelers and tourists, near business centers and historical places of interest like Red Square and Bolshoi theater, Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel is known for impeccable service and event facilities. Spacious rooms and suites at our city centre hotel in Moscow, Russia include many wonderful amenities. Stay fit in Grand Fitness Gym featuring modern equipment and indoor pool. With Grand Alexander restaurant, reflecting the very best of international cuisine, Samobranka restaurant, known for Sunday brunches, grand lobby with glass dome and fountain, you will have treasured memories of your visit. Over 855sq m of event space in Moscow city center, there is no better place to host business meetings, conferences, weddings and grand social events than in Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel where creative on-site and outside catering and assistance of professional event managers are set to ensure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing