We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe choice in Moscow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 334 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times over the last couple of years and always felt well looked after. What is nice at the Marriott is that all employees speak very good English and that is worth a lot in Russia.

The rooms are OK but a bit aged and could do with a refurbishment. Housekeeping is very good though.

Gym is perfectly fine and they also have a lap pool. They can also supply you with jogging map if you feel for a run outside.

I have only ever eaten breakfast here which is good but not spectacular.

The lobby bar is OK but again just middle of the road, nothing to write home about.

Would I stay again? Probably as it is a safe and secure choice, the room rates are however quite steep but this is Moscow.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Marriott stands for its quality. Everywhere around the globe. You get what you expect. Rooms are big, business lounge is nice incl breakfast and apero.
Location is great. On tverskaya you can walk to red square.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PartTimeAngelOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I spent 5 days at the Marriott Grand in Moscow, and my overall verdict would be, look elsewhere.

All in all, the services, rooms, and facilities are passable (but no more); there is nothing about the hotel, the food or the decor that is particularly noteworthy, and in fact, some of the food was slightly below average. The one plus point was that the service was largely friendly and helpful (ignoring perhaps the demeanour of the surly lady at the Business Centre who seemed to feel that looking up new recipes for soup was a more important aspect of her job than helping guests).

Ordinarily, all of this would not be a problem - surely there's no shame in being average right? Someone has to.

The problem however is that the general rate and costs are unjustifiable. Leaving aside the room rate itself (which does not represent value for money), the additional charges are extortionate; for example the internet charge was 50-60 USD a day, and a 1L bottle of water in room was almost 12USD.

I am not unaccustomed to high hotel charges, but when the charges are this absurd, and are from a hotel that flounders and struggles to be anything more than run of the mill, it actually begins to border on offensive.

My STRONG advice would be to search out alternatives in the city - you will find preferable ones without much effort at all. That, or to bring your own water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on business as it was close to the office and located a 5 minute walk from the metro station. Check-in was straight forward and the staff were attentive and spoke English.

My room was spacious, an executive double room with queen size bed and sofa. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with complimentary shampoo and shower gel. On the downside, the bath towels were quite small.

The bed was very, very comfortable as the mattress moulded with the contours of your body and I slept like a log.

Breakfast was not included in the room rate and was very expensive; 1500 Roubles (approx £38) but for this you could eat until you were stuffed!

Evening meals were of a similar cost e.g. Burger and chips 925 Roubles (nearly £25) but the burger was 100% beef and the best burger I've had. If you like wine with your meal then the house wine will set you back about £40, so we stuck to the local beer, £9.

Regarding other facilities, there was a very good health club with pool, sauna etc, shops and beauty parlour. There are two restaurants and a business centre.

Overall, if you are staying on business then it meets all your needs ( as long as you have the budget).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Grand for two nights and a very good stay. Compared to other nice Moscow hotels like Savoy this feels totally like a Western chain hotel, but that's down to your own preference. Internet access is very expensive which also impacts my rating.

The rooms are spacious and all the basics are well done. Service is friendly and the breakfast sumptuous.

Personally I also like the location. It's about a 15 minute walk from the Belorusskaya Train Station, meaning you can walk after taking the Aeroexpress from the airport. It's about 20 minutes on foot to the Red Square, but you can also walk to the Patriarch Ponds and other nice locations very fast so on some ways it's actually better to be a bit off the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Moscow Marriott Grand for three nights as part of an escorted tour. The tour company offered two classes of hotel and this was the cheaper. The premium for the better hotel was something like fifty percent of the tour cost. What a waste of money for those (mostly wealthy Americans) who chose the dearer option.

The Marriott Grand was just that "Grand". Although the main entrance is sort of up a side lane off Tverskaya Street, the foyer is elegant and expansive. The front desk staff speak perfect English and responded positively to any request. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are also elegant, spotless and well equipped.

The breakfast is magnificent. Anyone who can't find what they want here is not trying. I always love it when you can go up to the chef and order eggs freshly cooked to your own specification.

The hotel offers all the modern necessities including a fitness centre (not that I had time to try it out on the tour) a swimming pool and even a cloakroom and shoe shine station (both staffed every time I walked by).

There is a Bureau de Change in the hotel comprising a staffed office and an ATM. The ATM was easy to use and a much cheaper option for cash withdrawals than the office.

Overall a totally luxurious stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The rooms are very nice - warm, hot water, clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The mattress in my room should have been replaced months ago. But other than that I would highly recommend this hotel. I would not spend twice as much to stay at the Hyatt, for example - this place was great.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 334 in Moscow
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Presnensky
Crowne Plaza Moscow World Trade Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel

Address: 26/1, Tverskaya Street, Moscow 125009, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Moscow
#12 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#17 Business Hotel in Moscow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $104 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business travelers and tourists, near business centers and historical places of interest like Red Square and Bolshoi theater, Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel is known for impeccable service and event facilities. Spacious rooms and suites at our city centre hotel in Moscow, Russia include many wonderful amenities. Stay fit in Grand Fitness Gym featuring modern equipment and indoor pool. With Grand Alexander restaurant, reflecting the very best of international cuisine, Samobranka restaurant, known for Sunday brunches, grand lobby with glass dome and fountain, you will have treasured memories of your visit. Over 855sq m of event space in Moscow city center, there is no better place to host business meetings, conferences, weddings and grand social events than in Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel where creative on-site and outside catering and assistance of professional event managers are set to ensure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing