We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two nights and then I moved out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
Ranked #19 of 326 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent two nights there and then moved out because it could no longer be continued. The room was a wrack, outdated and looked so... used. There was always something crowdy and noisy going on at the lobby, this ruined my impression about the Marriott brand in general. I used to believe it was luxury... not so. Breakfast food was untasty, and the vegetables were almost dried-up! As if they had servedit all the day before.

The only good point was that the room cleaning lady made was very friendly.

My rating may be harsh, but don't forget that this hotel is a Marriott, and the room total was $1200 for two nights and internet. I assume anyone would expect at least a good sleep, a hot breakfast and some rest. I didn't get either of that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank IglRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
There are newer reviews for Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've got a Marriott rewards card, so I stick to their hotels anywhere I go. Normally, I pay the room rate and have a good time. In Moscow, the hotel was extremely expensive, but without any special benefits... Nothing was included, even Internet turned out to be an extra charge. That is just nonsense.

The bed was big and comfortable, but I did't really like my room. Breakfast room looked like a soup kitchen for homeless... so many people there. The lobby was always overcrowed as well.

I will stay there again if I get a price below EUR100. However EUR300 - they must be kidding me...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 36o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

One of Marriott's gems. Great location, beautiful hotel, and you see it when you walk into the lobby. The service is excellent, everyone is very helpful and goes out of their way to ensure you are happy. The rooms are large, typical north american sized for standard rooms.

Now remember, this is Moscow and you get what you pay for. The hotel is relatively expensive, from food, lodging and internet but the value is there. Keep in mind you are in Moscow and if you want upscale then it will cost more, more than most cities.

The platinum lounge is fantastic, great selection of food for a lounge and accessible late.

Travel Tip:
Getting a taxi at the Moscow airports is a 'challenge' to be polite. Call or email the hotel and ask the Concierge to setup a pickup for you. I did it with the Marriott and they had everything setup the same day. I have done the same with other hotels. They will have a trusted driver waiting to pick you up who works with/for the hotel. You may pay a bit more like an extra 20-25$ but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadwar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was my first visit to Moscow and my sponsors were paying for the room so I cannot comment on value for money. The room was large and well appointed with a couch, easy chair and coffee table. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom adequate, although very limited on toiletries. As mentioned by others the internet was very expensive and very slow, although you could use free wifi in the foyer, which is what I did. Breakfast was in the lobby restaurant and was the normal fare. The staff were reasonably friendly but there seemed to be a shortage at the reception as there always seemed to be a queue. I had a morning spare so walked down to the Kremlin and Red Square which was within easy walking distance. There is also an underground station within 10 minutes from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lifts!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel was much better than we expected. Our room No. 651 was large and very comfortable. There was enough space for two big suitcases and there was also a sofa to have a rest. There was a small table with chairs for afternoon tea and a desk for using a computer. The bed was large and comfortable and the bed linen was high quality and snow white. Pillows were very nice and comfortable. The room was really nice, decorated with an excellent sense. There was a pricelist of linen, pillows, bathrobe...if you want to buy them. I am afraid there are people who take these things from the room with them so clever hotels make such a list. If the baggage was not a problem, we would surely bought that linen and pillows, but we still had a month of travelling ahead. Staff was kind even very busy all the day; it seems this hotel is used for big turist groups. The view from our room was not so nice but also not so bad. Anyhow we were lucky to see a wedding from the window. Since we hate to use any kind of transportation, the only problem for us was the location. The hotel is on Tverskaya which leads to Kremlin but it is too far to walk there. The metro station is very near. The hotel is large and kept well, very clean. The breakfast was also wonderful. The dinning room is very large and even there were many people there were no long queues. If you intend to visit Moscow I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors because there are big buildings all around
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjana1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went in for business in Moscow. This hotel is rather expensive, but you get what you pay. In this case I received excellent service and a great room for 3 nights. The food is simply delicious and the athmosphere in the dining hall is quite nice. Although tne internet was not included in the price, I rate this hotel with 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linogeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Checked in with high expectations. Stayed in many Marriotts but this one does not live up to the standards.. Rooms are a bit outdated, noisy and everything is overpriced. Internet access is very expensive and extremely slow. The food in the restaurant is very overpriced and of low standards. A disappointment for me...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lupus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 326 in Moscow
3,128 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 326 in Moscow
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel

Address: 26/1 Tverskaya Street, Moscow 125009, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#17 Business Hotel in Moscow
#18 Family Hotel in Moscow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: $111 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business travelers and tourists, near business centers and historical places of interest like Red Square and Bolshoi theater, Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel is known for impeccable service and event facilities. Spacious rooms and suites at our city centre hotel in Moscow, Russia include many wonderful amenities. Stay fit in Grand Fitness Gym featuring modern equipment and indoor pool. With Grand Alexander restaurant, reflecting the very best of international cuisine, Samobranka restaurant, known for Sunday brunches, grand lobby with glass dome and fountain, you will have treasured memories of your visit. Over 855sq m of event space in Moscow city center, there is no better place to host business meetings, conferences, weddings and grand social events than in Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel where creative on-site and outside catering and assistance of professional event managers are set to ensure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing