We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special but yes, its comfy and conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
Ranked #20 of 317 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing Special but yes, its comfy and conveniently located”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I choose marriott grand to avoid any hassle (especially language) that may result if I wrongly choose a hotel in moscow. Okay this is not a planned tour, just a day stopover. My taxi dropped me at Tverskaya side of hotel, not the main entrance but on a shopping arcade connected to the hotel’s restaurant. Although there was a staff near the hotel’s door but he did not show any effort to help with my big luggage or even just say good morning (Ok, not the best first impression). The rest are acceptable except some language barrier (For example : I asked bellboy, “where is the toilet… ?” and found out that he cannot speak english – so he has to call his friend just to tell where the toilet is) and the outdated bathroom.
Plus :
1. Location. Well, not superb location but still reachable within sight – 5 minutes walk to the nearest Metro station, and about 30 minutes walk to Kremlin. Near money changers, shopping area, and for sure : safe place.
2. Super Fast internet.
3. Comfort bed
4. Helpful Concierge guy
Cons :
1. English capability of the doorman, housekeeping, and waitress
2. No warm welcome from hotel staff; no initiative to greet, or help with my luggage. The doorman even leave me when I asked to take a picture at the hotel lobby (Hopefully those are because of english capability, otherwise, I am very disappointed with the service) – Exception is given to concierge guy who is very helpful.
3. Room are very…very standard (but very spacious). No sign of luxury except comfortable bedding. At the same price, you can get luxurious room at other countries, but…well, its moscow….everything is expensive. So live with it 
4. Bathroom is outdated, really! Not an italian marble, but just a descent ceramic with dull color.
5. Passing restaurant tables to get to/from Tverskaya entrace is very inconvenient as you have to pass many people sitting in restaurant.
Tips :
1. Write down hotel telp. number when you go to moscow. You really can’t rely on taxi driver when you are lost.
2. Ask for pocket maps from concierge
3. Using hotel transport in cash is much cheaper than charging the cost to your bill. Well, using taxi is cheaper, off course.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    485
    114
    37
    14
See reviews for
188
299
104
629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very good business hotel, spacious bedroom, bedding is very comfortable.
Bathroom is a little outdated.
Buffet breakfast is good, large variety and fresh.
Great location on Tverskaya.
Good service, everyone attentive with a smile and ready to assist.
I will come back.

Room Tip: Be aware of the noise coming from Tverskaya, better choose a bedroom facing the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel located on famous Tverskaya Street. The Tverskaya Street area is the most expensive shopping street in Moscow and Russia and is the centre of nightlife and entertainment and twenty minutes walk from the Kremilin and Red Square. The Hotel staff are very friendly and do speak English if you don't speak Russian. The hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable and if you want a quiet room ask for a room on the courtyard side, though having said that, the air conditioning unit continually hums even though it is switched off. Some meals I ate meals in the restaurant and the quality is as you would expect from the Marriott, some of the descriptions are not what they seem and it is best to ask. Breakfasts were typical european breakfast, evey taste under the sun was catered for but I preferred the cold buffet, somehow the English are the only ones capable of cooking a full English, (that's just my experience). There is a gym and spa, hairdressers and some expensive shops on the lower ground floor. The only disappointment was the internet connection massively expensive in your room but there is free WiFi but only the ground floor by Reception.

As a single female on business I was within walking distance of my workplace so did not feel out of place or uncomfortable walking to and from work. Crossing the roads was a lesson in itself, you have to use underpasses to cross the major roads and these are dotted along the street, but in some instances you might have to walk 1/4 mile to find one and then walk the 1/4 mile back on the opposite side of the road to get where you are going to!

Taxis can be a bit dodgy in Moscow, unlike London where you can step out and hail one safely. If you are on your own always ask the hotel (or your workplace) to organise a car for you to take you to your destination and pick you up. Pre-arrange your travel to and from the airport also as you don't know who is a taxi driver and who is moonlighting. The state taxi drivers do have id badges and I was quoted 3,500 roubles to drive me to the hotel whilst waiting for my driver, lucklily my driver arrived.

Room Tip: If you are given a roadside room ask if you can be moved to the courtyard side or move up above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well located, minutes to the Kremlin and related goverment offices, and several theatres. Opulent, as are all the large chain hotels in this district, with prices to match. There is an excellent basement swimming pool and gym. Rooms are spacious and clean. At $30 per day in rooms (though free in the lobby), the internet is a major disappointment - it is unreliable and there does not appear to be a system to monitor connectivity problems unless they are reported. If you are not keen to spend the $40 for the buffet breakfast, try the Starbucks a minute away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located and tries for a grand marble/mirrored foyer and reception that is a bit old hat.
The breakfast buffet has a good selection...but the cold id better than the hot!.
The rooms and bathrooms in particular are a bit dated but they are spacious and clean.

Overall satisfactory for a business trip

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Spent my birthday in Grand. Everything was very good - room, hotel location, great swimming pool! But service left much to be desired - a person from housekeeping entered the room even without knocking, when there was Don't disturb sign. They also forgot about my b-day and I received a cake only after my boyfriend called Concierge desk. But still hotel is very good and all the rest was excellent

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60irinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is another great hotel of the Marriott chain. It is comfortable with all the amenities you could wish for. Great location, near to many of the significant attractions. Walking distance to Red Square and to Metro. Food was great and the service exceptional.

Room Tip: Do not drink the tap water. Take care with the mini-bar as it has electronic surveillance that will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lino737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 317 in Moscow
3,024 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 317 in Moscow
1,505 reviews
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel

Property: Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
Address: 26/1 Tverskaya Street, Moscow 125009, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#17 Business Hotel in Moscow
#18 Family Hotel in Moscow
#20 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Tverskaya street for business travelers and tourists, near business centers and historical places of interest like Red Square and Bolshoi theater, Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel is known for impeccable service and event facilities. Spacious rooms and suites at our city centre hotel in Moscow, Russia include many wonderful amenities. Stay fit in Grand Fitness Gym featuring modern equipment and indoor pool. With Grand Alexander restaurant, reflecting the very best of international cuisine, Samobranka restaurant, known for Sunday brunches, grand lobby with glass dome and fountain, you will have treasured memories of your visit. Over 855sq m of event space in Moscow city center, there is no better place to host business meetings, conferences, weddings and grand social events than in Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel where creative on-site and outside catering and assistance of professional event managers are set to ensure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing