We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect service in this well located hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
Ranked #17 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't expect service in this well located hotel.”
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Handy spot to red sq etc. but first of trying to get here from the metro we call them best help we got was turn left walk 500 meters ??? We are out on a 4 way intersection can you help explain some more please or put a walking map on web site. Then trying to check in took ages as on of the hotel ladies was to busy flirting and getting the phone number if a departing guest to allow anyone else room to get to desk and check in. No help or offer of help with bags entering hotel or ding way to room just fend for yourself. But hotel quality is ok but not for the money and given you do everything yourself! But hey your in Russia. The concierge lady was helpful in recommending good local places to eat so thanks to her.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwikimchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    467
    110
    36
    10
See reviews for
172
280
102
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Nice comfy lobby, great to people watch. Some language difficulties, but not bad as other staff speak decent english. Currency exchange right there in the hotel which is great, decent rate as well for a hotel service. Unlike other overseas hotels you cannot get cash out on the room charge so you better have enough cash to exchange, or use the ATM.

Bed needs to be replaced. Not fun trying to sleep on a mattress that slopes. Internet is expensive, about $39 for 24 hours, but at least it goes fast enough.

Hotel was almost an hour drive from the airport so make sure you have enough time for that. Location is good, short distance from hop on/off bus and about a mile from the Kremlin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopperTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was worried about hotels in Moscow since there seems to be a different standard, we chose to go with the Marriott because we knew what we'd be getting. We paid the advance purchase rate which took some of the sting out of getting an American chain hotel in Moscow (they can cost up to 2x what you'd pay for them elsewhere in the world). This one is very well-located close to a main metro line and it is very easy to get around the city from there. They supply free maps, etc.

Check-in was speedy and all my room requests were accommodated. As Marriott Gold members we were supplied keys to the executive lounge which was good but there is no free wine/beer in there as there usually is in executive lounges. Though they do put out a nice spread of snacks especially between 5 and 8 p.m. and the free breakfast up there is adequate. The staff working in the executive lounge is very polite and solicitous.

The room itself looks like a Marriott room anywhere in the world, which is what I wanted. It was quite large, the bed was comfortable, the view of the street below was fine, and everything was very clean. There were robes and slippers and nice bath products. And TURN DOWN service! Love that. Also, props to the Marriott because they have working air conditioning on-demand, unlike most hotels in Russia, even five-star ones, where the air conditioning is centralized and only gets turned on in like, July. The bathroom was also very nice.

My only complaint about it is that they had one of those showers where the shower is on a long arm and then hooked to the wall, and ours kept listing about and shooting water at the wall, the floor, etc. Once we worked it out it was fine, but I far prefer those proper bolted-into-the-wall showers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neimanmarxist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just a one night stand at the commencement of our Transiberian Rail journey on the Zarengold train.
Room was roomy and bed was huge, and comfy. Big flat sreen TV and all the other necessities required when travelling.
Meals were excellent, could not fault the buffet dinner or breakfast. Staff were very helpful and friendly with good English.
Only minus point was the tiling around the bath, shower water running down the walls was channelled around the edge of the bathtub and flooded the floor. Very poor design or poorly supervised tiler.
Would stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They gave my two children teddy bears upon checkin which was nice touch. The cleaning staff was spot on. Due to jet lag, our sleeping schedules were off which meant we left the hotel room at odd hours (usually in the afternoon)....always to return with the room made up!! Another plus for the kids and (and our time zone/sleep issues) is that the pool is open 24 hours. The kids loved being able to swim at 2am!! Concierge staff was very helpful as well. Executive lounge was well staffed and offered great treats for breakfast and evening reception

Only negatives: The elevators were frustrating. In order to get to other floors, you have to insert your card. Sometimes it was slow to give the "greenlight" and the doors would close to quickly which made for some really long elevator rides (ex. we were on floor 7 and would have to go to floor 8 for executive lounge. Sometimes when going back from floor 8 to 7, if you didn't get the card to read fast enough, you would travel all the way back to the lobby before finally heading back up to the 7th) nitpicky, but annoying.
Also, as a Marriott Platinum, we didn't receive an upgraded room, nor did we even get put on the same floor as the lounge. (Many Marriott properties seem to have the "Concierge" floor on several floors.) So, if you are an elite with Marriott Rewards, access to the lounge (and bonus pts) is all I would expect as premium perks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagaphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

2 Nights during Feb for a conference.
Quick check in, friendly stuff with good English. Was surprised how modern the room was and by the selection of amenities. Mattress was way too soft (seen better days). Really good modern western style hotel. But like everything in Moscow it is very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giligen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It is a good hotel for business with relatively polite staff (relative to other moscow hotels). The cleanliness is a little behind at times, but service is quick. Bring breakfast and usually very good food. I think is overpriced but then it offers a very good and comfortable stay in Moscow

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pers-imm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#5 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel

Property: Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel
Address: Tverskaya st., 26/1, Moscow 125009, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#15 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#17 Business Hotel in Moscow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
#18 Family Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Tverskaya street for business travelers and tourists, nearby business centers and historical places of interest: Red Square and Bolshoi theater. Moscow Marriott Grand hotel is known for impeccable service and event facilities. Our specious rooms and suites offer wonderful amenities. Stay fit in Grand Fitness Gym featuring modern equipment and indoor pool. With Grand Alexander restaurant, reflecting the very best of international cuisine, Samobranka restaurant, known for Sunday brunches, grand lobby with glass dome and fountain, you will have treasured memories of your visit. Over 855sq m of event space in Moscow city center, there is no better place to host business meetings, conferences, weddings and grand social events than in Moscow Grand hotel where creative on-site and outside catering and assistance of professional event managers are set to ensure success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Moscow Marriott Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing