We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wednesday night deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Agave

Casa Agave
Ranked #5,890 of 13,474 Restaurants in Moscow
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Central American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wednesday night deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

First, we like the food at Casa Agave. Perhaps the best Mexican in Moscow, although it doesn't quite achieve the level found in the southern US. The Wednesday night special is fun - a fixed price for all you can eat and drink. Generally it is limited to a taco bar (or burrito bar) and beer/tequila. But very affordable for Moscow, and fun to bump into other expats.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    42
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mexican in Moscow Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Who would have thought a great Mexican restaurant in Moscow. It's probably one of the best restaurants I've tried highly recommend this place, nachos ,ceviche,burrito, and the soup were excellent...good service and ambiance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Greece
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You have to visit it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent restaurant with great mexican food!
Friendly-helpful-polite personnel and ready to serve you!
Even though we hadn't reserved a table they found one for us and i have to mention that was crounded!
Happy hours cheap and great margaritas!
You have to go
Recommended

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K2Apache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Casa Agave Moscow's real Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I love Mexican food because I am half Mexican, but I haven’t had the real thing since 2007 in LA. Now,we have a new hangout, the short bar at Casa Agave Mexican Restaurant and Tequila Bar, which just opened near Metro Kitai Gorod. It’s the first real Mexican place since the short-lived Hacienda opened on Komsomolsky Prospekt. Sure there are places like Pancho Villa or La Cantina that serve Tex-Mex, but no real Mexican. Casa Agave is not just the Mexican-American enchiladas, tacos and chile rellenos I got in LA and Chicago with Carlos. Casa Agave has a real Mexican Chef, Pedro Martinez, who just arrived in Moscow after seven years in Madrid at Las Mañanitas, a restaurant well-known for its authentic Mexican flavors. There’s some creative cooking going on in the back of the house at Casa Agave.
Casa Agave is a cavernous, high-ceiling 850 square metres, broken by old, heavy brick arch-work. Wall colors are deep cream, bright yellow, old mauve, and azure. Robert Greco, Moscow’s premier tequila importer, is responsible for the exotic interior. He spent a couple of weeks combing the artisan markets around Guadalajara to fill two containers for the finish. His selections of fabulous, authentic Mexican artwork, figurines, pottery and tapestries decorate the walls, and his heavy brick-red terra cotta tiles cover the floors. The containers also brought the wood and wicker bar stools, stretched leather chairs, and tableware. Robert commissioned some rad sculptures that greet guests at the entrance.
There are two bars, the small one is our favorite, and a deep brown heavy oak monolith that looks like twenty meters. A huge, ceramic Russian stove, a holdover from the previous tenant, manages to fit right in behind the bar. Its big open layout, ample bars and incredible tequila and cocktail list mean Casa Agave is sure to make it a comfortable hangout. The ventilation appears good so I don’t have to take my dress to the cleaners like I would after a night at Pancho’s. A roving South American trio plays Mexican and Latin favorites at tableside every night. A pitcher of Margaritas runs 900 rubles, a Heineken 180 rubles, and Corona 260 rubles. Casa Agave is a Doug Steele production, so we can expect some great promotions, and some big party nights. Breakfast is served in the morning: Chilaquiles (595r) and Huevos Rancheros (195r). Irina and I will be bringing down some of her institute friends to work on their Spanish and English. Carlos, may he rest in peace, would have loved the place.
The menu, which bills Casa Agave as a Celebration of All Things Mexican, itself is a work of art. The first thing on the table is a complementary basket of corn chips, just like southern California. Guacamole (325r) heads the appetizers, followed by Nachos (495r), Quesadillas (425r) and Flautas (295r). The names will sound familiar to North Americans but the preparation is Pedro’s. For instance, the delicious Guacamole is dressed up nicely with a sprinkling of pomegranate seeds. I like the Queso Fundido (695r), a gooey appetizer of melted cheese with spicy chorizo and peppers.
The Ensalada Acapulco (395r) is a refreshing blend of mango, pomegranate, oranges and pine nuts covered with tamarind juice and served in a fried tortilla basket. Of course I need soup and bread, so I enjoy the Sopa Maria (270r), a chicken soup with cactus slices, served with boiled egg and totopo (baked corn chips). For a main course, I went crazy over the Pollo Con Mole (395r), an oven roast with a luscious dark chocolate and chili pepper sauce. The dessert Crepas con Cajeta (195r) is alone worth the trip to Casa Agave. It’s a sticky, white homemade sweet made with goat milk and filled with vanilla ice cream and chopped walnuts—wow!
Casa Agave
Bolshoy Cherkasskiy Pereulok 17
+7 495 624 5766
www.agavebar.ru

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Was there a week ago.

Nice place, tasty food, not very fast waitress, prices are above average.
For this moment it's the best mexican restaurant in Moscow.

p.s. They haven't churros. What a pity!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Agave also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Casa Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing