We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Supper in Moscow”
Review of Uilliam's

Uilliam's
Ranked #109 of 13,809 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Patriarch Ponds
Description: New restaurant on Malaya Bronnaya street in the center of Moscow opened by widely known chief Uilliam Lamberti.The most distinguishing features of the restaurant are: its chief Uilliam Lamberti and his Molteni kitchen situated in the center of the room which is made specially for this particular place.Every single dish is made in front of our guestsThe menu is short and without exceed. Food is simple but addictive. Every day we offer the best quality meat or poultry from suppliers“Uilliam’s is a place where I put my soul. That is why all turns out very friendly and homelike.Our food is a mix from the best cuisines of the world. French one is very technical; Italian – is very familiar to me, because I was born in Italy; English cuisine brings you a sense of novelty; and of course Russian – with its own spirit .There are lots of successful projects about the “atmosphere” in Moscow. Critics are reluctant to write about the restaurants as means of socialization. Personally I was interested in opening place about food which makes people understand, what it’s like to cook from the heart”.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Early Supper in Moscow”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Uilliams is in a very well to do part of Moscow near Verskaya Metro station. It's a a buzzy, packed restaurant full of trendies young wealthy Moscovites and expats. Tables are close together and fairly tightly packed which creates the atmosphere. The menu is both in English and Russian and a good mix of Russian and international cuisine - all excellent. The service too, like most restaurants in Moscow is very good and friendly. Wine list is varied but like all wines lists in restaurants in Moscow eye watering lay expensive - expect to pay 2 to 3 times London prices! That's why a lot of beer and vodka is drunk. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funtbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    111
    41
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“One of the most overrated restaurants in Moscow”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Typical with any Ginza Project restaurant, the success of Uilliam's is due mostly to the Ginza marketing machine. This is considered all the rage by many people in Moscow, and the food is good, but it is not fabulous, and it is not cheap (although not exactly expensive by Moscow standards). What really kills it for me is the atmosphere, since the place is always ridiculously crowded (there is no space at all between the tables, although it's more comfortable if you sit in the back room) and the attitude. As is often the case at certain places in Moscow, they really act as though you're incredibly lucky to get a seat there, and should be grateful for the privilege.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WilMiRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Parisian Bistro in the Heart of Moscow”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After a walk by the Patriarch's Pond, we grabbed a seat at the bar of this busy bistro which opens up very traditionally onto the street. The food was both simple yet elegant: the classic bruschetta was elevated with delicious shrimp and avocado creating a wonderful spin. For the main I ventured out, though I by no means needed to given the menu, and had the ox tongue with roast potatoes. It was amazing! The dish looked beautiful (honestly)' served on slate withe roasted garlic and onions. The meat was tender and full of flavour and the roast potatoes were crispy and light. No sampling of the desserts sadly a starter and main was more than enough.

A wonderful restaurant to visit in Moscow which would be quite at home in Paris.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I get cravings for the crab bruschetta in this place ist absolutely to die for. This place is always packed and could be anywhere in the world it doesn't really feel like Moscow. You must also try the house lemonade my favourite is the maracuja. Make sure you call to book !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth treating yourself”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Uilliam’s is a restaurant with great food and an incredible atmosphere.

We booked a table for six for Saturday night and were told that booking times were limited and that we would have the table from 19.30-21.30. This was not a problem and we didn’t feel rushed while we were there.

The dining area is mainly arranged around the open kitchen in the centre of the restaurant so that you can see the food being prepared. This gives a lively and informal feel to the place.

The four of us who were there all ordered different meals and all of us were impressed. I had seafood bouillabaisse for my main and the chocolate flan for my dessert and they were both great.

One thing which I would perhaps change is that they only offer bottled beers and they are all imported, so there’s no choice of a Russian beer or a draft beer available.

The bill was quite steep (RUB7,500/£155 for four of us to have mains, desserts and one or two drinks) but if you’re treating yourself or willing to splurge it’s worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dannycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uilliam's also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Uilliam's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing