We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like Chinese, you'll like this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Druzhba Restaurant

Druzhba Restaurant
Ranked #397 of 13,475 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $43
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Maryina Roshcha (Jewish Quarter)
USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“If you like Chinese, you'll like this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This isn't your typical Chinese restaurant - like you'd see in the U.S. or Europe. The food here is authentic Chinese, made the way it is made back home. Yes, it is probably downgraded a bit on the "spice" aspect, to ensure it satisfies the Russian palate, but overall it is very flavorful and the options are vast. Want meat - name your animal. Want tofu - what do you want mixed in. Want veggies - they have it. Want to try something you've likely never had at a Chinese restaurant - you've come to the right place. Want beef and broccoli - keep looking, this place doesn't stock the same old, same old you're used to. Good, fast staff. Large portions and prices that aren't too outrageous. Unfortunately, you'll still be hungry in about an hour. ;) Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    67
    29
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A really good Chinese restaurant for Moscow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Moscow is lack of decent Chinese cuisine, at least for regular people. Most of them either hidden or poor.
This one is perfectly located, but kinda hard to find.
Book a table or might be seated at a heavy traffic place.
Dish sizes are enormous for Moscow, so bring in a big company.
The venue accepting cash only.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ildarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Chinese but not like in Los Angeles or New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Druzhba Chinese Restaurant
John Ortega and Charles Borden

Druzhba is one of those restaurants that Zagat gives a 25 for food and a 15 for décor and service. Druzhba is said to be the best Chinese restaurant in Moscow, and it may be but only because there aren’t any others, practically. What’s great about Druzba is that it is very much like your favorite local Chinese back home, and, if you believe the management, Druzhba actually has Chinese cooks (though the management refused to introduce us). Don’t get me wrong from the comments in the following review; I enjoyed Druzba and I could hardly set my chopsticks down to take notes. Druzba is authentic and cheap (by Moscow standards), qualities sorely missing from the city’s restaurant scene.

Druzhba (friendship in Russian) has been around forever, located directly above the Novoslobodskaya metro station with a McDonald’s to the left and a Starbuck’s around the corner. It’s tucked in on the right of the small Druzba torgovy dom (trade center) that fronts on Novoslobodskaya Ulitsa, and it’s down half a flight of stairs, which means, by the way, that you can forget your mobile phone. The staff are very friendly, and it is usually busy.

I tried Druzhba twice, once with Passport publisher, John Ortega, who loves the place, and then for lunch with Passport editor, John Harrison. With JO, we took one of the dozen or so private rooms at the back at a cost of 600 roubles per hour complete with video and music system. With JH, we selected non-smoking, but when we were ushered to one of the private rooms in the back, a small room with six tables, we retreated to “smoking” in the main dining area. The non-smoking room reminded me of one of those smoking enclosures that airports provide for the few smokers that remain in the world, mostly in under-developed countries.

The menu is in Chinese and Russian, but is illustrated with photos of each dish, tagged with a number to the description. As might be expected of a Chinese restaurant, the menu is heavy on pork and chicken, and the fish section is dominated by carp. As a lapsed vegetarian, I like to find good vegetarian dishes, but Druzhba has very few, and even the heavenly Tofu Homestyle has ample white meat mixed in.

With John Ortega, we tried large sample of the menu, served out on a large rotating glass tray: Fried King Shrimp (1800r), Sweet and Sour Chicken (500r), Koo La Roo #67Fried Pork with Sweet and Sour Sauce (450r), Tofu Homestyle (350r), Peking Duck (1500r), Wild Cabbage with Mushrooms (500r), and Fried Blini with Vegetables (the Druzba version of spring rolls – 400r).

There were no losers from our selection and the portions are ample. I don’t know whether it was nostalgia for Chin’s back home, or surprise that such food was available in Moscow, but I enjoyed. The Sweet and Sour Chicken and the Tofu Homestyle really got my attention. The chicken was prepared crispy, softened by the heavy sweet and sour sauce and garnished with pine nuts.

The Tofu Homestyle was the first good tofu I’ve tried in Moscow, served thinly sliced and layered with Chinese black mushrooms, bamboo (and the white meat) in a slightly spicy sauce. I like tofu, the high protein soy curd coagulated from soymilk. The tofu I find in Moscow supermarkets is either a very expensive import, or a home variety that appears to be made with animal feed grade soybeans. Tofu should be made from special food grade soybean varieties. Druzhba has the real thing.

The Wild Cabbage, slender, soft, steamed and served with a light sauce, was also tasty and a first, and it left me wondering where they found this vegetable in Moscow. Druzhba, surprisingly, came up short on the rice with just two choices: a bowl of steamed rice (100r), and their version of fried rice with vegetables, which was far away from the fried rice I’m used to and not worth ordering.

The wine list is limited to a half dozen of wines from French bottler Barton & Guestier, which are decent supermarket wines. They range in price from 1,600 rubles for a white Sauvignon Blanc to 2,600 rubles for a red Cotes du Rhone. The B&G

Druzhba
4, Novoslobodskaya Ulitsa
Tel.: +7 495 973 1234
Druzhba at Passport Restaurant Guide
Sauvignon Blanc runs about 400 rubles at a Moscow supermarket, so the Druzhba markup is four times retail and five+ wholesale, a typical Moscow restaurant markup. A Chinese Tsingtao beer runs 200 rubles.

On both visits, Druzhba was crowded. Druzba doesn’t accept credit cards and parking is difficult. But the food is great, and I’ll be back for the hugh portions !

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Food is awesome, portions are really big!
Service needs to be better, waiters are not paying enough attention to guests.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fedos2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“disappointment, finally”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I visited this restaurant twice after my last review on the website.
As i have mentioned previously, it might seem that they provide better service to the chinese there. Or this is just a disappointing coincidence. Anyway, the pork was of a very poor quality- the meat was dough and the dish was all of many fat cubes. The last time we had a dinner there, the pork was even worse, we could not find a single pork cube in this "pork fat with sweet sauce" dish. We complained to the waiter, he pretended to be very surprised and insisted that it was the first complaint on the pork quality. Anyway, the management and the waiter himself did not offer any apology or discount.
We will never come back to this place. $20 for the fat cubes is pretty much expensive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank futurestartsslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Druzhba Restaurant also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Druzhba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing