We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place and friendly staff”
Review of Delicatessen

Delicatessen
Ranked #99 of 13,624 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: One of the World's 50 Best Bars, best bar in Moscow and legendary food.
1 review
“Wonderful place and friendly staff”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

So glad to have found this place. (And keep in mind that it is a bit hard to find, since it is tucked inside a courtyard and there are no signs on the street. You have to go through the arch that's by the Coffee Haus into the building's courtyard).
Delicatessen is a pleasant escape from what seems to be the increasingly franchise-dominated dining scene in Moscow. (See Coffee Haus). Everyone in our group really enjoyed their food, which was inventive and very we'll done. I also loved the chalkboard wine menu and their homemade nastoika.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    63
    23
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite bar/restaurant in Moscow”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stumbling upon Delicatessen is one of the best things that happened to me in my 4 months in Moscow. Not only is the food excellent, but the drinks are also phenomenal. The skilled bartenders know how to make a wide variety of drinks, from classic cocktails to creative mixtures unique to the bar. The servers were all friendly and let me order in Russian despite the fact that, as I found out during my second visit, their level of English proficiency was very high. At least one of the owners of the place (There are four) always seems to be there and is usually working in some capacity, either at the bar, as a server, or as the chef, which I think elevates the atmosphere and results in higher quality service overall.

Next time I go to Moscow, I'm making a Beeline for Delicatessen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eschwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real surprise”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Visited based on recommendation. Found a table for us despite not having booked. Great quirky interior and convivial atmosphere. Food did not disappoint and in keeping with surroundings. 3rd trip to Moscow and this by far the best restaurant I've visited.

Helpful?
Thank Ivancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Cosy and cool”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A great cocktail bar, with a good selection of beers, some cider and a nice choice of wine by the glass.

It also does food, but I only sampled the burger. It was really tasty and juicy, but tiny!

It is not so easy to locate - they even have a sign above the door "Thank you for finding us"!

One warning - it is quite smoky. But is does have a cool and inviting decor; Delicatessen is the kind of place that you could linger in for hours.

I shall definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KennyK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Please don't go here!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Please don't go here, because the place is getting too popular! The cocktails are GREAT, the food is unique and wonderful, and the staff is friendly and helpful.

I've been here enough times to notice that most tables are booked for dinner which leaves me to plan my next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicatessen also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing