We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten path” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retseptor

Retseptor
Ranked #197 of 13,475 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tverskaya
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful little spot. If you'd like a little Russian-Asian fusion, this is a great bet, and good value. Good music too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aquacheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    52
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Lovely and Healthy One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've been here already more than a dozen times and each time everything was nearly perfect, even in the middle of winter with -25 outside this restaraunt worked flawlessly. The quality of food is very high, especially in comparison with most of other places. Also, many thanks for making the menu healthy and almost meat-free. They serve wonderful home-baked bread and each dish has a history behind it - just ask the waiter!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir_H29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Dish portions are appropriate and the taste is very good. Live and pleasing music during the day. Very favorable discount system for the lunch time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“A real find: good service, good food and not wildly expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

A friend and I were wandering late through central Moscow the other night, looking for somewhere to eat, despairing at the prices and the smoke-filled rooms, when we stumbled across Retseptor. This is a small restaurant down some steps and has a separate smoke-free dining room that really is smoke-free. The service was friendly and the food was excellent. The restaurant has a mix of Asian and Russian dishes. My friend had the salmon and I had the carp cooked in aluminium foil and both were fresh, tasty and well cooked. The selection of drinks was limited, with only two kinds of vodka, and the house wine was indifferent. But for two main dishes, two fruit drinks, a bottle of Perrier, two big vodkas, two big whiskies and a glass of white wine we paid just $70, which for Moscow is wonderful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service even more appalling than one might expect....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

It goes without saying that you'd be foolish to expect good customer service in Russia. However, the Receptor restaurant in Moscow managed to exceed our already low expectations on poor customer service.
The cheaper bottles of wine on the menu mysteriously seemed to be unavailable, leaving only the more expensive ones.
The bread and the side dishes that we ordered to have with the main course arrived first. They were very nice - no complaint about the quality of the food, just that they turned up in the wrong order. My main course then arrived. I waited politely for my husband's to arrive. Half an hour later and having asked the nonchalent waitress several times where his food was, it eventually turned up, by which time I had finished. No apology was given.
When we came to pay, we tried to do so with our debit card, which had worked in every other restaurant etc. in Russia during our trip. She tried 3 times and it failed to work each time. When I asked how else we were going to pay, the surly waitress just shrugged. She wasn't very forthcoming when I asked her if the supposed cancelled transactions had actually been cancelled.
Luckily we managed to scrape together enough cash (minus the tip!) to pay for the bill and a helpful customer translated the debit card chitty to confirm that it had been cancelled.
The service was truly appalling, even by Russian standards. So, if you're feeling hungry in Moscow, give this place a wide berth!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skapole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retseptor also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Retseptor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing