We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressing, as it should be” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Museum of GULAG's History

State Museum of GULAG's History
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.64*
and up
Communist Moscow: Evening Walking Tour
Ranked #110 of 2,388 things to do in Moscow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The large-scale exhibition "The national remembrance of the GULAG" opened on the 30th October 2015 in a new building of the GULAG History State Museum. The exhibition is organized as a chain of altering expositional areas, representing the recollections of the epoch of the political repressions to visitors. The central part of the exposition includes clothes, documents, photographs, "voices" of witnesses from the collections of dozens Russian museums, associated by the GULAG's history. The map of USSR with marked points of labor camps, camp administration and the amount of prisoners in different periods displays the geographical length and broadness of the exhibition. One of the main purposes of this exhibition project consists of enlightening the theme of the maintenance our historical remembrance of the terror and the GULAG, in promoting the profound comprehension and perception of the Soviet period in the Russian history, in connecting museums of the remembrance from the various Russian regions.
South Pole
Level Contributor
156 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Depressing, as it should be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Gulag Museum may be not as massive or design-y as Terror Museum in Budapest, but it's a solemn, if rather chamber, experience. I visited a temporary exhibition, "The Commissar Disappears," to see examples of analog photo-faking. The exhibit was ok, although all the most interesting examples of disappeared politicians and augmented reality also feature in the book "Making People Disappear" by Alain Jaubert. What spaces were not occupied by the photo show contained the permanent collection. The museum is pretty small so I recommend everyone to flash some kind of a student card at the cashier's desk and get a discount (down to 20 Rub), because for the normal price of 300 Rub you'd want something more.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xamhayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    40
    29
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having read the previous reviewer's comments, we didn't have high expectations of this museum, but it was much better than we expected. The staff were friendly and patient with our lack of Russian, and there is enough information in English to give you an understanding of how appallingly people suffered under this system. It was a shame that the film running in one of the galleries didn't have subtitles, as all we could gather was that it was about Lenin, but the exhibition on the use of propoganda and how photos were altered to serve Stalin's ends was very interesting. I hope more people go to and support the museum as, with the current regime's inclination to whitewash Stalin's atrocities, it receives no state funding.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BryonyMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A missed opportunity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was really looking forward to visiting the Gulag Museum and finding out more about this terrible period in Russian history but I found myself a disappointed. It didn't help that the man at the desk was rude, sullen and sarcastic, but even the exhibits themselves were a bit too general and not detailed enough. But on the plus side the captions and commentary are available in English and I guess if you don't know much about the gulag system, it provides a reasonable primer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaybxl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

An interesting museum on the hidden secrets of the Soviet Union. There is an eye-opening exhibition on the manipulation of the press and the media during this time. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessi_H5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Much better than I thought”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I went to the museum thinking that it would mostly feature describe the torture that went on at the Gulags where Russians were sent. Instead I learned so much more about the use of propaganda, "photoshop", backgrounds on families that had a member sent to the Gulag and even more about Russian history and the evil that was Stalin. Almost everything had an English translation (which was appreciated since almost every other place we went didn't). I really think that this museum is very underrated and truly gives a background to a very dark period of Russian recent history. Absolutely would recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Redlionny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Museum of GULAG's History also viewed

 

Been to State Museum of GULAG's History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing