We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in Moscow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Ranked #5 of 310 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    387
    38
    8
    2
See reviews for
158
509
122
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here while attending an exhibition at the Expocentre. A little gem of a hotel, friendly, calm and quiet. The staff are very polite and helpful, the rooms clean bright and comfortable. Buffet breakfast is very good, the restaurant menu slightly limited but I enjoyed a lovely bowl of borsch and a very tasty beef stroganof. The metro is only a couple of minutes walk away and is an excellent and cheap way to get around the city and only a 10 minute ride, 2 stop journey to the Expocentre. Old Arbat Street is only about 100 metres from the hotel entrance - an ideal street for souvenir hunting, shopping, and restaurants. The Kremlin & Red Square are only a brisk 25 minute walk away with plenty of underpasses to get you across the very wide & very busy roads. Price in relation to a lot of the hotels is definitely reasonable and no more than you would expect to pay in London for a hotel in a similar location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shrives197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest!
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It was a great pleasure to read your detailed review. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location, hotel restaurant and room. And of course it is a great reward for us to know that our service met your expectations.
We would be glad to welcome you again at Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel for your next visit to Moscow.
Warmest regards,
Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riedisheim, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Well you can say just a french touch for this nice and quite elegant Hotel for the brand. In my experience a Mercure hotel is well placed as a 3 stars category in France. However this hotel in Moscow belongs clearly to another category. It is very well located close to the Ulytsa Arbat. Two metro stations are close to the Hotel. In addition it is not far from the Kremlin and the red square area, just 20 min by walking. The quarter is good. You can find easily restaurants and cafés all around. The staff was kind, elegant, discrete. Decoration was soft and elegant at the same time. Nice pictures related to Russia in white and black format.
My room was quite good. Well I spent my time in Moscow for professional reasons so I could not appreciate enough all the comfort of this hotel. I liked the breakfast with most french than russian specialities, except a good choice of fresh cheese. I recommend it although I think it not reserved for small budgets, but for the prices of Moscow I consider rates I got, about 250 euros a night with breakfast was more than acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mario O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest!
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel. We are delighted to read how highly you valued the service! It’s a great compliment for us that you found our hotel with a French touch.
You are absolutely right saying that Mercure Arbat Moscow is not a 3-star, but 4-star hotel indeed.
We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our central location, room, interior and quality of service. We will be happy to see you with us again on your next trip to Moscow.
Yours sincerely,
Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

What a treasure! There really aren't many mid range hotels in the centre of Moscow. We were told that the choice is pay a lot to stay Central Moscow or pay less to stay in a soviet apartment block.
This hotel was by no means cheap (but it was by Moscow standards) but it's a fabulous location off the Arbat & it's a modern spacious hotel with friendly efficient staff.
Look no further for the ideal hotel in Central Moscow - for business or leisure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel and for taking the time to place your review of our hotel.

We are very grateful for your positive comments which will be shared with our hotel team. Inspired with this one, we assure you that we will continue to deliver great service at all times. It is a great pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

We will be happy to welcome you back at Mercure Arbat Moscow!

Yours sincerely,

Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A great choice if you don't want the pomp and bustle of large luxury Moscow hotels.
Pluses-
Well appointed rooms with a fresh new look.
Very comfortable beds.
Prestige rooms are quite a good size, with a queen bed,a small desk work area, and a coffee table with arm chair. No cramped feeling at all.
Very high speed wifi, i downloaded a 1.9gb film in 15 minutes.
Krups espresso machine in room, and tea and coffee selection.
Large marbled bathroom, with huge walk in shower.
Very quiet rooms! Great for sleeping.
Decent breakfast, not to Marriott level, but not bad.
Good service at restaurant.
Quite good food, i had lemon poached chilean bass with ginger which was tender, juicy and flaky.
Overall, the hotel is quiet, cosy even.
All rooms are nonsmoking.
With a exec room At 12600 tax and breakfast included, a pretty good value.
Minuses-
Bizarrely, no movies....at all! I asked the reception staff and she confirmed. Mercure, you should address this asap. Business travelers look forward to a good movie in bed.
Service at reception was a touch spotty, could be sharper and more polished. Answers were sort of fuzzy, not confident.
Overall, a good addition to the selection of hotels in Moscow in the category below luxury.

Room Tip: 406 was very quiet, away from main street. Privilege room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfad0zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your design and equipment of our rooms, buffet breakfast, food and service in the restaurant.
I am sorry that service at reception didn’t meet your expectations. We are constantly training our staff. I have shared your comment with the reception staff to inspire them to satisfy your requests in more confident manner.
Indeed we do not have Pay TV as nowadays it is not demanded by majority of our guests. Meanwhile we provide 26 multinational channels, among them are movie channels in several languages. Moreover as you mentioned we provide very fast high-speed internet which allows to download various movies free of charge.
Once again thank you for your comments.
We will be happy to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I spent three days here over the course of two weekends, and I was pleased by everything about the hotel. In a city where relatively few people speak English, the staff was fluent and ready to help with any questions or needs. The rooms were very well appointed and, if a bit small, nonetheless entirely comfortable. The hotel's location served me very well. It is, at most, two minutes away from the Smolenskaya stop on the #3 metro line (there is also a Smolenskaya stop on the #4 line--that's a little bit further away). From there, you can get to Red Square, train stations, and other destinations quite easily. Moscow does not appear to be teeming with hotels in the center of town, and the Mercure Arbat offers great value, comfort, and convenience. And I should add that the Arbat, just a couple of minutes away, is a major attraction in itself, with its shops and restaurants and nearby historical sites.

One alert: despite the address, you can't enter the hotel from Smolenskaya Pl. It's down a side street. You can see the sign if you look down the side street. If you come out of the metro station on the #3 line, you will be in a courtyard; there are three exits from the courtyard. Go through the one that is more or less straight ahead, and you'll see the hotel across the street you come out on.

It's a terrific hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Casually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you a lot for your positive feedback about experience of staying at Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel.
We are very glad to hear that you were happy with our central location and efficient service.
I have shared your kind words with our team who are also very glad to know that their efforts have not gone unnoticed.

Please, do choose Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel again and we will do our best to remain terrific as you mentioned!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure Arbat Moscow hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

A very decent hotel in the center of Moscow. The location is very good as it s very close (2 min.) from a metro station (ideal way to travel in Moscow center). The breakfast is very good and complete. Friendly and good professional service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate a lot your time and sharing your experience of recent stay at Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel.

We value a lot every comment that our guests leave on TripAdvisor.

It was a great pleasure to read that your enjoyed hotel location as well as hotel breakfast. And thank you very much for your kind comments about personnel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Ada Egorova,
General manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 310 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmira Business Club
#40 of 310 in Moscow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Arbat
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Lotte Hotel Moscow
#1 of 310 in Moscow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Arbat Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Arbat Moscow

Property: Mercure Arbat Moscow
Address: Smolenskaya Sq., 6, Moscow 121099, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 310 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Arbat Moscow 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Arbat Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing