We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business in Russia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Ranked #5 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Business in Russia”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good location for Arbat and just a short walk (or metro) to Red Square.
Try and get a room that is NOT overlooking the road, many people and cars use the area as it is very close to the Metro, and in the evening it can get quite noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I appreciate a lot your comments. In regards to the noise from the street I would like to mention that all our rooms equipped with soundproofing windows that provides maximum silence. Of course, if you are very sensitive to the sounds we will be glad to offer you a room facing the yard if the occupancy of the hotel allows us to do it.

We would be happy to welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to Moscow.

Best regards,

Ada Egorova
General manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    386
    38
    8
    2
See reviews for
158
508
122
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great hotel, good value in comparison to other hotels in the city. The room is nicely decorated and the shower is terrific. The hotel is really close to Arbat Street, right next to McDonalds and to subway station Smolenskaya. Staff members speak good English.

Breakfast is way too expensive, but that seems to be common in Moscow.

The address for the hotel can get you confused. You'd think the hotel is in a square, but it isn't. It's actually in a side street (Karmanitskiy pereulok), so it can be tricky to find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheynecris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the time to write this review and share your opinion.

In regards to the breakfast price I would to mention that the price of 1100 Rub (including taxes) is not higher than other Moscow hotels of our lever offer to the guests.

Concerning to hotel address, you are right that though our official address is Smolenskaya Square, the main entrance is from Karmanitsky Lane.

We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back at Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel!

Warmest regards,
Ada Egorova
General manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
326 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked this hotel for my partners birthday when the hotel was #2 for Moscow. We were not disappointed.

From the initial enquiries to Customer Service namely Olga and Tatiana re Visas/Taxis.

(We actually booked the company the Hotel use re taxi service and we were not disappointed picked up by Nickolai and transported to the hotel - the price in my opinion was very reasonable and not dear ie £35 from SVO airport and same back again. It took approx 1hr 30 - 2hrs getting to the hotel due to the traffic friday evening and the same re the return journey we had - heavy snow fall end of November).

Booking the Hotel Taxi service also saved the hassle of waiting/getting a normal taxi from the airport, trying to confirm where we were staying in broken Russian/English etc.

Nickolai the taxi driver who picked us up was standing there at the airport customs exit with a sign. He did speak some English and we were able to have a conversation about Moscow life!

(It does take a while to get to Moscow by taxi re traffic but this was convenient both ways for us. NB You can get the express train, but then you have to find the Hotel in the evening darkness. I would recommend the Hotel taxi service).

All the staff we had dealings with were courteous, professional and polite. From cleaners, reception staff, security to the supervisors, waiters and waitresses. Main areas were very clean, main corridors, toilets and of course our room.

The staff were not in your face, always there if you needed something. You just needed to just ask. They will also interact with you if you ask them something, some are learning English or at College.

On arrival we needed an extra pillow which was provided within about 15 minutes. The room was lovely and well equiped, not a great view from our room but we were in Moscow to see the historical sites not stay in the Hotel all day. But the furnishings, bed, shower and facilities were excellent. Double Bed was very comfy. Toiletries replaced daily if required/as and when we used them.

We had our breakfast at the Mercure as part of a deal by the hotel re Le Accor members for our 6 nights and the selection was very good. Certain items changed each morning for variety.

Really enjoyed the breakfast before our day in Moscow sightseeing. My partner is selective in what she eats and she was always able to find something be it an omellette or pancakes. A very good selection and variety for breakfast.

Of an evening we did eat in the Restaurant/Lounge for convenience after a tiring day and we were not disappointed and enjoyed our meals and drinks. Yes, it can be slightly dearer than certain street restaurant like "My My" Russian restaurant or Pubs/Bars but this is a Hotel.

(NB But that is Moscow, for example in Starbucks on Arbat St it was dearer than back home for coffee)

We enjoyed ourselves eating and having a coffee or alcohol with our meals in the Hotel.

NB There can be an issue regarding smoke/smokers in the corner lobby area but that is being readdressed by management re extractors fans .

On my partners birthday a little note, a bottle of sparkling wine and a cake was provided by the General Manager Ada and staff. Thankyou very much a nice touch! Well appreciated.

We loved Moscow and loved our stay in the Mercure, they are opening a new Mercure Hotel in November 2012 but when we return we will stay at Mercure Arbat, because we had such a great stay. The 6 days in the hotel flew so fast! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have great memories - thankyou Mercure!

CONCLUSION:

Would i recommend this hotel? Yes, i would it is used by Russians, tourists/business people which in my opinion is not a bad thing re standards. Facilities were excellent and it is a newish hotel.

Hotel is situated just off Arbat St approx 25-30 mins straight walk to all the sites Kremlin - Red Square/ St Basils/ GUM/Christ the Redeemer Church/ Bolshoi etc. A great location base to see Moscow.

SUPERMARKET NEARBY: Around the corner past McDonalds burger joint to the right past it there is a huge Supermarket called 7 continents in Russian, very good selection if you wanted extra bottles of water /food/crips or other perishables for your days out or return to the Hotel. (If unsure where it is just ask the Reception staff. They will direct you to it)

We did look at the Swisshotel and Lotte Hotels but the Mercure ticked all the boxes being nearer to the historic sites than one of the above hotels which was a very long distance away ( NB Check the TA map re hotel locations)

We felt safe walking along the streets in Moscow day and night and using the Underground passes, we loved it.

Look forward to our return to Moscow and this Hotel or returning to Russia to do a city break to St Petersburg!

(Any questions you have, feel free to ask me)

Room Tip: Any queries or requests just contact the Customer service via email prior to arrival or Hotel recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A.MACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights in Nov 2012. Summarizing:
+ clean
+ quiet
+ good location

- smoking allowed in the lobby
- restaurant. I never had breakfasts there, but had to stay for lunch a couple of times. Not recommended, poor quality & expensive.

Overall, the hotel is OK, but choose a different place to eat out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for letting us know of your impression of the hotel. We are glad that you have found the facilities and location of our hotel exciting.

In relation to the points you disliked, I would like to let you know that from 1 June 2014 smoking in public area (including restaurants and cafes) will be prohibited. We are really looking forward to make the hotel 100% free of smoking.

Regarding the food in our “La Promenade” restaurant we always push to better quality of the food to reach our guest expectations, at the same time we monitor our rates and stay competitive with the other hotels and restaurants around.

Hope to see you again in Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel!

Warmest regards,
Ada Egorova
General manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very nice new hotel. Close to the metro, close to the shopping street. The krem is about half an hour walk away. There was free wifi, and you could use a computer free of charge.
2 days is more than enought to see Moscow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Just wanted to say thank you for the review of our hotel!

We look forward to your staying with us again!

Warmest regards,

Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in September. The room was very up to date, comfortable, beautifully decorated and had everything you could want, plenty of hanging space, good bedside lights and other very nice appointments. We liked the fact that it had individual temperature control, and also windows that open - to let in fresh air. The staff were delightful, and exceptionally helpful, assisting us in booking our flight to St Petersburg, all airport transfers (which cost exactly the same as if you caught a taxi on the street, no exorbitant charges like in other hotels), and suggesting restaurants at which to eat. The proximity to the Metro is invaluable, and the Moscow Metro is just the best in the world, so you can get anywhere, even if you have to change lines, incredibly quickly. Other than that, it is also not that far to walk into the Kremlin, perhaps 15 minutes, and similarly to go up to the Tverskaya area (lots of great restaurants). We recommend, as note others have, the excellent Boulangerie Paul, just around the corner, for breakfast and light meals. There are also several very good supermarkets within a 100 metres, and there is a lovely little market just outside on the weekend. In the Novy Arbat, again very close to the hotel, there are several quite good restaurants, much better than the ones on the Arbat itself which are more touristy and not as good value. All in all, our stay at the Mercure Arbat assisted our enjoyment of Moscow immensely and we would certainly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrojoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the nice comments following your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the service provided by our great team here.

On behalf of all of us at Mercure Arbat Moscow, I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was at the hotel for 2 nights for a business trip. Somo of my colleages stayed at the Lotte Plaza just one bloc away from Mercure Arbat, This hotel is not a luxury one. but it´s really nice. Very nice decoration very new, I got a room like in an attic with the window in the roof, really nice.
The bed it´s big, the bathroom has a modem shawer.
Breakfast it´s fantastic. and all the people are very helpfull. I had a problem wit the wifi, I was not able to connect with my mobile or my laptop so I went down to reception and the girl there solved the problem and I was able to connect to the internet. There´s free wifi in the hotel.
All hotels are expensive in the center of Moscow but this is in my opinion very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yolanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada E, General Manager at Mercure Arbat Moscow, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful.

It is our goal to make your staying enjoyable!
Mercure Arbat Moscow is a 4-star hotel, though you can find Mercure hotels of other categories in some other countries we are doing our best to deliver great service at all Mercure hotel around the world.

We hope to welcome you again at Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel!

Warmest regards,

Ada Egorova
General Manager
Mercure Arbat Moscow Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 309 in Moscow
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmira Business Club
#48 of 309 in Moscow
275 reviews
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#22 of 309 in Moscow
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Arbat Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Arbat Moscow

Property: Mercure Arbat Moscow
Address: Smolenskaya Sq., 6, Moscow 121099, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Arbat Moscow 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Arbat Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing