We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the recent past in futuristic setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunker-42 Cold War Museum at Taganka

Bunker-42 Cold War Museum at Taganka
Book In Advance
More Info
$220.00*
and up
Private Moscow Must-See Tour
Ranked #77 of 2,388 things to do in Moscow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A unique exhibition of Cold War history located about 65 meters underground, Bunker-42 is a military history museum and an entertaining complex founded in the former classified military building of the USSR.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back to the recent past in futuristic setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Bunker 42 is said to be hard to find, but if you google it and get the address, it's not that big a problem. Getting in is not as easy. Reserved tours for groups of ten people or more only. And not very cheap either. That being said: if you have the time, and you're at least a bit interested in the cold war, it's well worth the effort. Gives a great insight in how serious the Soviet government was about the bomb. A movie at the beginning of the tour is actually quite scary, but things somewhat lighten up after that. Not a must see, but certainly one of the better things to do in Moscow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    115
    52
    20
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't go without a booking and dont expect any signboard or direction on the way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I took lot of effort to locate the place, but they wouldn't admit walk-in. You need to go with a tour only. How sad.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nareshkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

What an amazing place to preserve and show off to tourist.
Im surprised by it condition and amazed how people managed to get this bunker made one should definitely visit this place highly recommendable

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Cold War Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

It is a very interesting tour specially if you appreciate recent history. You will be led way down into a bunker under Moscow literally. Just incredible to see what the human being can build (and destroy) in war time. It is not my kind of attraction when visiting a place but I recommend Bunker 42. Expensive but worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cold War Bunker visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our guide really didn't want to take us here. But I thought my husband would like it, and if the weather was bad at least we would be indoors.
Even though we were with our own guide, we had to take the tour with about 20 other people, way too many IMO. The guide was interesting, but with so many people, it was difficult to hear him. The bunker is very interesting, especially for people who lived through this time period. I can understand younger people not believing any if it or finding the tour too Disneyesk. After watching the movie shown, you wonder how we could believe anything our government told us.
I thought it was good, however it was a bit hooky. My husband liked it less than me. The subway ride to the bunker is interesting, and you do get to see a real residential neighborhood.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank UpperWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunker-42 Cold War Museum at Taganka also viewed

 

Been to Bunker-42 Cold War Museum at Taganka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing