We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a tourist willing to feel what was good about SU”
Review of Pavilion

Pavilion
Ranked #1,641 of 13,633 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $100
Cuisines: European, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Patriarch Ponds
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a tourist willing to feel what was good about SU”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Perfect kitchen, great location.
Waitresses in starched aprons, stylized interior and music and a very-very good food!
I couldn't even imagine a better place to feel that Old Moscow.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arifmetika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quality - high prices”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I used to live in Moscow for four years, just 100 m away from the Patriarch's Pond. So I have been to the Pavillon a few times. I love their tuna tartar as a starter, the best one I ever had in Moscow. Overall, this is one of my favourite places in Moscow, but clearly one of those places which are better if somebody else picks up the bill :)

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niklas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Good food, cosy atmosphere, very expensive. But a place to have gone to at least once.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Loverly4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“I picked the wrong dish, but the place is worth going to, I think”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Pavilion is set in a park like area overlooking a small lake. The setting is quite nice and relaxing. I stumbled upon the Pavilion quite by accident and was glad for it, as it is quite a well known place. I stopped in to have something very light, as I was going to have a late lunch at Scandinavia (see my review), and didn’t want to ruin my appetite. But nonetheless, I can report that their menu is quite extensive with many hardcore traditional Russian dishes. It was my intention to return, but I didn’t get a chance.
I had piroshky, which is a mixed meat kind of ‘mini patti’ and okroshka soup with doctoral sausage (boiled) The piroshky were quite delicious, while the soup was not at all to my liking, although I can say that it was prepared well. Hey, you’re not always going to like things you try in different counties, but you can still tell when something is at least prepared well.

My recommendation would be to check this place out for dinner, as the menu is really expansive and the outdoor setting is quite nice.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mapglobal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Set in a really swish part of town, this charming eatery by the lake in a little park called Patriarshy Prudy (Патриаршие пруды) serves a great menu and yummy drinks. The entire neighbourhood is up-market, with some groovy cafes, bars and restaurants nearby. But I really enjoyed my choices from the Russian menu, partly for the lovely outdoor setting and partly for the modern edge to traditional cuisine. Not much English spoken here, but more than most of Moscow! Price range is not cheap, but not crazy, about $40 per head with drinks.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavilion also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing