We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean by Western standards, cosy and equipped with all necessary facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taganka Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #246 of 1,565 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am a Westerner with some Russian heritage and have deep knowledge of what the Russian standards are. I stayed at Taganka in a 6-bunk bed female dorm with a friend in September 2012.
The hostel is rather new, and knowing how distasteful Russian taste can be, must say that Taganka has definitely been decorated with taste and it is far cleaner and nicer than many hostels in London!
The atmosphere is very relaxed and privacy is highly respected. I guess this is also because of the language barrier, as the majority of the clientele is Russian, mainly people travelling to Moscow for business/study, with a fair share of tourists. Hence if you're a group of party animals, this is not the place for you. I'd rather recommend it for couples, small families and small groups of friends who'd rather go to bed after a long day of sightseeing. Not a youth hostel in the sense you might get in the West (there are some in London, for instance, which even have dedicated nightclubs/pubs in the hostels themselves....Taganka is anything but). I mean, there is little scope for socialising and related. It is more of a nice place where you come back to rest after a long day.
The hostel staff is very nice and helpful. Showers and toilets are as clean as a whistle and there is also one single toilet with a basin and mirror which you can use for private use. Showers are in a shared facility, however there is also one shower where you can lock yourself in on your own (I believe there is also a washing machine there, if I'm not mistaken).
Rooms also are very clean, equipped with lockers which have a spring lock and you keep your own key, which opens the door too (if I remember details correctly). You are given bed sheets and a towel I believe. There is also a cafeteria with TV where breakfast is served for a fee, or which functions as a bar for the rest of the day. We have used the kitchen instead, which is small and has only a small table with two seats, however it is very well equipped. The furniture is all very new and tasteful, the kitchenware, cutlery and cups and the pans are all new and well-kept (you must do the washing up by yourself - and it is so clean that you will indeed feel like cleaning up after yourself as it'd be a shame to make such cleanliness dirty!). There is a microwave, a boiler, a water distributor and a huge fridge. You can keep your food in there safely, however still beware that this is a hostel - so it's helpless to complain if something of yours does get stolen from the fridge!
There is internet access upstairs, with three computers, which at the time was free of charge. I believe there is also Wifi access. The hotel rooms are located upstairs, hence there is some further privacy if you choose the hotel option.
To sum it up, I have stayed in the past in renovated Soviet or post-Soviet hotels which hence qualify as 3 or 4 stars and would never swap Taganka for those (unless if I went to a Hilton or Western hotel chain, or a 5-star hotel). In a nutshell, central, yet in a Muscovite and non-touristy neighbourhood, meeting and exceeding standards of cleanliness and very welcoming and cosy hostel/hotel. Relating to my experience in the hostel part of Taganka, I'd personally say you get something closer to a hotel experience for a hostel price. Value for your money! I will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katusik k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Taganka Hotel & Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is located just three minutes from the metro station Krestiyanskaya zastava and ten minutes from the station line Koltsevaya- Taganka. If you choose to walk hotel is about three kilometers from the Kremlin. We used a double deluxe room, but for three adults.Clean, comfortable with everything necessary for a pleasant stay. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. At three minutes from the supermarket-Perekrostok who works 24 hours. High level of security,cctv and secured access card.Missing is a fridge in the room. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TodorStoyanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Tqgqnkq hostel is a very new and amazingly neat and clean hostel. The rooms are spacious and airy. The kitchen, shower and common area, which has a small snack bar are all very well designed. This hostel being new, does not have many international travelers, however I am sure that will only improve as the hostel gets older. Very close to the metro station, a little further away from the main kremlin area, taganka is a great one might stop. A good breakfast for 100py6 is definitely worth it for onward travel.

Room Tip: A dorm too has only 1 charging point.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I arrived in Moscow not for long time, just passing through. Stopped in the Hostel Taganka and was not mistaken. It's a nice and very clean place with friendly staff and reasonable price which is hard to find in Moscow. Breakfast is really good and cheap. Metro is at 3 - 5 min walk distance, two different lines are closely available. There is a food shop right across the street. The street is not so busy, so it's a quiet place; the hotel is a small house located behind the big building facing the street. That's why it's not so easy to find.
P.S. In this day at the hotel was the day of birth. The whole administration of the hostel congratulated the guests and treated with sweets and champagne. It was a very nice and interesting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
Thank georgi-858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ViaHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alyona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Tagan
Spektr
Spektr
#117 of 326 in Moscow
21 reviews
Sayany Hotel
#212 of 326 in Moscow
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tagan
Vorontsovsky Hotel
Vorontsovsky Hotel
#11 of 592 in Moscow
65 reviews
Tverskaya
Hostel Bolshoi
Hostel Bolshoi
#18 of 1,565 in Moscow
30 reviews
Tagan
Hostel Netizen
Hostel Netizen
#6 of 1,565 in Moscow
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taganka Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taganka Hotel & Hostel

Address: Vorontsovskaya St., 35B, Moscow 109147, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 1,565 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range: $63 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taganka Hotel & Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Taganka Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing