We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel
Ranked #13 of 334 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel was only a few minutes walk from the metro, and in -25 temperatures, it had a great warm feel on arrival. Staff were working hard to keep the entrance areas snow and ice free. The lobby was nice and airy, with a large lobby bar on the left, and reception on the right. I felt safe in the hotel with security on the outside, the inside, and down by the spa. The hotel was only 6 weeks opened, and looked the part.

On entry, the bell staff were quick to offer assistance. At reception, I was greeted by a very friendly and smiling Anna. All of the reception staff spoke great English, which put me at ease, as my Russian was poor. I was checked in, recognised as a long-term loyalty member, and Anna offered to show me round the club lounge. The lounge look great, and I chose to use it during my stay. I was then taken personally to the room, Anna explained the features and my bags were delivered by the bell boy. There was no awkward pauses waiting for tips, and the staff left the room with no indication they were tip-expectant - which I liked.

The club lounge was very nice - smaller than some I know, but quiet and sophisticated. Free alcohol for 2 hours in the evening, hot/cold snacks, soft drinks and hot drinks throughout the day. Royal Ambassadors receive a small discount on the lounge supplement if not already in the room rate - I'd say it's well worth it.

The bedroom was a good size, well decorated, big bathroom with Elemis toiletries, and the mandatory laptop safe. I was only on the 5th floor - views were OK, and I can only imagine the views from higher floors. The windows kept the ridiculously low temperatures outside, and I was very warm inside. The bed was comfortable, and I did oversleep on the second morning. The minibar was stocked with complimentary soft drinks and beers, with spirits and champagne on request. The spirit prices were fairly steep, so I steered clear. An iPod dock was next to the bed.

There was free wifi in the hotel, although this is only 128kbps. Paid for access is 4Mbps, and is recommended.

I didn't use the bar or restaurant during my stay as I was out and about, although I did have a look round - good menus, touch on the expensive side. If you have lounge access, it makes no sense to use them.

I used the gym and sauna during my stay. The gym had 12 items of cardio and 6 weight machines, along side free weights. Free water and towels were supplied, and the changing rooms had water and toiletries available (deodorant, hair mousse/spray, body lotion). The running machines had the in-build iPod and MP4 connections, and the nice thing was that the gym was for guests only and wasn't sold to members of the public.

My only negative comment would be the sauna. The spa area was well decked out. Twice the sauna was superb, twice it was cold, and twice it was closed. The steam room was always very steam, but after a few hours in -20+ temperatures a sauna was the preference.

A special thanks to Ekaterina and Nahezeshka (apologies for the spelling) in the club lounge, and Anna on reception for making my stay superb.

I will most definitely return if in Moscow. Small tip - when you exit Tverskaya metro, look for the Nokia, Pepsi, and BEKO rooftop signs. Walk towards the BEKO sign (keeping on the opposite side of the road), and it's a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: If you would like a view over the front, theres a bit of noise (but I slept though it). If you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youngsterdave76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver H, General Manager at InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Dear "youngsterdave76" - on behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you very much for your comments; we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we are still the 'youngest' among the Moscow hotels, your comments show us that we are on the right way - and that is a great thing!
We have noted your comments about the sauna and you are absolutely right, we've experienced some trouble with the control unit of the sauna after it's installation, but I am quite confident that we have now 'mastered' it.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next trip to the Russian capital!
With best regards,
Oliver Horn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 987 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

I’m a business traveler, so I spend a lot of time in Moscow. I tastes a lot of hotels, but this one is perfect!!! Smiling and helpful stuff, great rooms, everything new and comfortable. I will recommend this place to everyone I know!!! You are the best!!!
Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paull S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver H, General Manager at InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Dear 'Paull S' - thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again. All the best from Moscow, Oliver Horn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel 2 weeks after opening and I must admit that I had one of the best hotel stays in my life. I travel a lot and I’ve stayed at many InterContinentals and easily this hotel is one of the best InterContinentals I’ve ever seen. The Facility itself is not huge..they do have around 210 rooms if my guessing is correct but it’s a very cozy hotel and you feel the warmth once you come through the door.
Not to forget that this hotel’s location is truly amazing, it’s located in “The street” of Moscow which is Tversakaya street 15 mins walking to red square and famous attractions.
The hotel is not yet officially open and there are some construction works being done at the -1 level where the gym & Spa are located but my room was on the 9th floor and I couldn’t hear anything. As a platinum Ambassador I was given a superior room, fruits, water etc but also free minibar and lounge access which is more than great. The interior design of the room was more than amazing and the bath was certainly the highlight of room (Amazing Bathroom).
The Staff of the hotel certainly are one of the highlights of this property and they give you the impression that they know the answer to your next question before you even ask it. Either in the lounge, on the front desk, in the restaurant, the housekeeping or anywhere in the hotel you will definitely feel more than comfortable. I was amazed by the food in the lounge especially the desserts and I asked if the chef can show me how to this type of dish and surprisingly the hotel calls me next morning while I was at work and inform me that they have already arranged a special cooking class for me with executive chef of the hotel – Where do you get such amazing service?
The food is more than great in this hotel I have tried the breakfast, the lounge and the dinner at night in the main restaurant. All was more than perfect however there is only one restaurant in the hotel so if somebody doesn’t like the menu he won’t have much choices to choose from.
Overall this is a more than great property and I hope they would keep this amazing service but knowing the intercontinental brand, I’m sure they will. My only concern for the hotel is the slow internet. Although they give you an option between fast paid and extremely slow free internet, the free version is so slow that its sometimes more than useless. I have already mentioned this to front desk and I’m sure they will fix it in the near term

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HyperVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver H, General Manager at InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Dear "Hypervacation" -
thank you very much for your review. On behalf of the whole team I'd like to tell you how much we appreciate your feedback - it's great to see that you loved what we are doing here at the hotel. You'll be happy to hear that the construction is coming to a close, the gym is fully operational and the spa will go into it's 'try-out' period from early next week. We've also taken your and other guest comments about the internet into account, have reviewed the installation and corrected some errors. I hope that during your next stay you will find that the service has improved considerably.
We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us - and are looking forward to seeing you again with us here at the hotel!
With best regards,
Oliver Horn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Warning: hotel is officially opened, however it's not fully functional and some construction is still going on. SPA is not opened yet, and (as I understand) wine bar is still being prepared. For me the biggest problems was not the lack of functionality, but the ongoing construction work, which I was able to hear even on the seventh floor.

Nevertheless, this is still one of the most exciting new hotels in Moscow. It has one of the best locations in downtown Moscow, which at the same time provides great comfort and good service. All wrapped in a very tasteful and delightful design. It's really a property I've been very much looking forward to. I've lived in Moscow for more than ten years, and now I'm visiting it both privately and for business regularly; and for me there is absolutely no better location that this. It's in the middle of the main Moscow street, within the walking distance to major attractions, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants; and ideally located just next to three metro stations, which makes it perfect for exploring the city. There are some other hotels nearby, but for my taste, most of them need a major face lift.

I was staying in a junior suite, which was quite spacious, and well equipped (very much liked a TV above the bath tub, and iPod docking station). The suite is also perfectly designed, with a real home feeling. I found bathroom to be really one of the highlights of the the room.

Staff was very pleasant (which is very rare in Moscow), though still a bit insecure, this will certainly improve over time.

What I found a bit problematic, was that the free wifi in the rooms, was extremely slow, and for many purposes almost useless. It turned out that there is a faster paid option, though somehow no one managed to mention it to me until the check out.

Also worth mentioning, is that the hotel has basically only one restaurant. there is also a bar in the lobby, and I was told that a wine bar should be opening soon. The restaurant itself is also strangely designed by occupying the whole first floor and not being separated from the staircase. It looks a bit awkward. For me this is not an issue at all, as I rarely eat in a hotel restaurant, and there are more than plenty really great ones, basically just next to the hotel, but I had to mention this, as I find it unusual for a hotel of this category.

Due to mentioned issues, with the ongoing construction work, unopened facilities and not fully trained staff I'm not able to give the "excellent" rating to this property. I do however believe that it has amazing potential, and I'm certain it will improve over time. It has anyway, already become my favorite hotel in Moscow, and I hope that one my next visit I will be able to give a 5 star rating to this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dBogda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver H, General Manager at InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Dear Sir,

on behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impression of your recent stay with us at the InterContinental Moscow. Being the latest five star hotel to open in the city, your feedback is very important to us to ensure that you receive the services that you rightfully expect at any InterContinental Hotel around the world. We are very happy that you appreciated the design of the hotel and that your interactions with my colleagues left a good impression. I am in fact very proud of our team and I believe we've put together a great collection of people that will, as they get more comfortable in their environment, deliver really brilliant service.
Of course we have also taken note of your constructive points: as we are planning to finish building in the gym, the spa and the private dining room of the restaurant at the end of this week, the signs of construction will disappear from the hotel and you'll be able to enjoy all the services that we have to offer. With regards to your comments about the internet - we do offer complimentary access at low bandwidth and a paid high speed version - of course our colleagues should have told you about that during check-in and I apologize that this did not happen. We've shared your comments with our team and have made sure that this is a standard going forward.
Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback - we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again to the InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya and we'll make sure that you have an even better stay with us!
With best regards,
Oliver Horn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel one week after the opening. Of course there were some works being done but it did not bother me at all.
The hotel is right in the middle of the city on Tverskaya which is the 5th Avenue of Moscow. It is a beautiful, modern design, the materials used are very good qualityt.
Which was really surprising is that the service was absolutely top notch like if the hotel was open for a long time.
Great hotel guest love!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver H, General Manager at InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Dear Ivan, thank you very much for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and have shared your comment with our team. We are currently working hard with our partners to finish the last "snags" that still need finishing in our brand-new hotel and I am confident that within the next couple of days these works will be completed. We still have quite a way to go until we reach where we want to be in terms of service delivery, but your comments motivate us to work harder to get there. Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I rated it for myself as one of the top 3 hotels in Moscow. I've got to try the food yet, but I'm sure it's as fantastic as everything else I've seen.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver H, General Manager at InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear Pavel, thank you very much for your comments about our your experience with the InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya. Being a brand-new hotel, we are still growing into our role, but for the team and me, reviews like yours are really nice to see. Thank you and see you soon again.
Oliver Horn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Dominique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 334 in Moscow
3,421 reviews
Tverskaya
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
The St. Regis Moscow Nikolskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel

Address: Tverskaya St., 22, Moscow 125009, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 334 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range: $134 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moscow's latest five-star hotel, located on the main street of the Russian capital, within easy reach of all important business and cultural venues in this exciting city. The hotel features 203 beautifully appointed rooms and suites that give give a distinctly residential feeling. Chekhonte restaurant serves food prepared to traditional Russian recipes, served in a new, modern presentation. P-Square Bar's motto is "Chocolate by Day, Martinis by night" and it is the perfect place for meeting friends or simply to hang out with good music and great drinks.InterContinental Spa will help you to relax and rejuvenate after a busy day in Moscow with brilliant treatments in an energizing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing