We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive and authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of VietCafe

VietCafe
Ranked #578 of 13,474 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tverskaya
Moscow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

A chain of inexpensive Vietnamese restaurants with good quality food and big portions.
The interior is simple, which I guess allows them to keep reasonable prices.
Sometimes overcrowded and the service can be slow.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman_Affair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    52
    20
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places in Moscow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The restaurant is ideally placed in the city center, few steps away from main streets, shops, theatres, but in a quiet sidestreet. It is underground, no windows, but atmosphere is relaxing and cosy. We always enjoy their live-music evenings, and Thai soup Tom-Yam is probably the best to be found in Moscow :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank koxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada/Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with the business lunch menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The staff are always pleasant and welcoming. Food is good. The business lunch menu is a great value. That is why I go at least once a month.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyCanada/Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value Asian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a chain with seveeral restaurants around the city. Food is decent and of good value. Cocktails are also nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank adria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and friendly staff, but the food gave me projectile vomiting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The staff was friendly, helped me how to use their WiFi (though my Android phone never got connected) and explained to me the menu items. The interior furniture and decoration were nice, especially it was a few days before Christmas and nicely decorated. I ordered fruit tea and pan-fried seafood noodles. The fruit tea was slightly sweet and very tasty. The noodles tasted more like Indonesian or Chinese chow mein in thick source, and the seafood tasted like they came from either can or frozen mix.
2 hours later, I started feeling ill, then projectile vomiting started, followed by hours of diarrhea. I know it was caused by the food I ate here, because I hadn't eaten anything else for 24 hours before then, and the vomit & diarrhea smelled like the food I ate here. I regret I ate here, or to be more precisely, I regret I ate the seafood noodles here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisCheby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenagl, Public Relations Manager at VietCafe, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Boris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are very sorry your visit to the restaurant had ended up so badly. Please accept our sincere apologies. Can you please tell us which restaurant exactly you've visited so we can follow up and make sure it doesn't happen again. Please let us know your contact details (an e-mail or phone number) so we can get in touch.

Thank you again,
Elena Glinskaya
Public Relations Manager
at VietCafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VietCafe also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to VietCafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing