We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, helpful staff, location not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Moscow Monarch Centre Hotel
Ranked #21 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, helpful staff, location not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Have been staying in this hotel on and off for nearly a year. A few initial teething problems have been fixed - i.e. shuttle bus to Belorusskaya and more English language TV channels. Staff friendly enough (by Moscow standards), room service good, but watch out for the delivery charge on the bill. Good sushi in the bar. Exec lounge ok - beer available all day but poor selection of snacks in evening and breakfast just ok. Free wifi in the lobby, good gym.

Short walk to Dynamo Metro, but in the middle of winter this would not make a great location to stay in Moscow as impossible to walk around. As it is, not much within walking distance...nice Uzbek restaurant across the road.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms do not have a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    256
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
38
76
28
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sitting in my chair
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Large hotel, 10-15 minutes walk from the nearest Metro, very near an excellent quality and, for Moscow, inexpensive restaurant (Uzbekh, I seem to remember). Rooms a reasonable size, comfortable, very clean and with (one single exception), very friendly and helpful staff. Free wireless internet (quite slow) in public areas. Easy and fairly quick to get to the city centre from the hotel. That's the good bit...
The prices are outrageous, especially the restaurants, which have decent food but nothing to justify the price tag - even by Russian standards. Having said that, few hotels in Moscow suitable for your average 'westerner' are much different. Both Moscow and St. Petersburg suffer from the delusion that they are operating in a modern, civilised country with foreign visitors who don't realise that they are being robbed blind. Moscow, in particular, takes this to the level of an art-form, and I can find little to commend it, or anything in it, to anyone. And I am talking from the viewpoint of being closely related to Russians and having all my friends from Russia.
To be fair, there are far worse places to stay if you're on a business trip and especially if you don't speak Russian, but 3* is the best I can give it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matchwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stay quite regularly on business. Rooms always good quality. Had an issue with laundry but manager resolved it pretty quickly, which is expected considering I could buy clothes for the same price. Breakfast great. Nothing cheap though.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during Figure Skating Championship 2011. It's new, fresh and very clean. Rooms are beautiful, big choice of meals at the breakfast buffet. Several times I visited Premier Restaurant, cuisine is fabulous and I highly recommend it for any type of meeting. Staff is kind, efficient and helpful. Nothing but very good impression, definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grinvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Yes, it's quite huge, expensive (esp on food side), a little arrogant - after all, it's Moscow, get used to it!

The location is not great by any means=if you are, of course, not vising figure skating championship in Megasport nearby! =noisy, at the intersection of two major roads around and across the city, far from undeground station.

The breakfast is quite good, they do keep promise on free internet for Silver and Platinum guests (Wifi is fast, esp in comparison to another Renaissance in the city), executive lounge has a good choice of drinks and food throughout the day.

A brand new hotel, so the property is fresh, rooms are clean and nice.
Swimming pool is almost impossible to make laps, open 7.00 to 23.00 only! = do not believe their website.

The personnel (except for the lounge attendants) is a weak link, lengthy check in process, nobody to ask the questions, a porter needs to be called 3 times before he appears by check-in desk, breakfast hostess have regular issues with whether or not your breakfast included in the rate....

Overall, four-five stars property with 3 stars service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kostiantyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed here with our toddler for 2 days & it was a pleasant stay.The hotel is everything you would expect of a 5 star hotel- plush with all the amenities & extremely comfortable.The same can't be said about Russian hospitality! At the time we checked in, which was late afternoon, we got no help with our luggage (I had a sleeping child in my arms & my husband had to lug all our luggage to the room). The restaurants were very expensive but the food was only average. The closest metro station is a good 15 minute or more walk which is not ideal in the cold weather.

The rooms are great though & the lobby is very plush. A great place to stay if someone else is paying your bills!

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are noisy but have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keyamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Satyed here fin April 2011. Was great! Very comfortable, clean and nice hotel. Rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything you may need. 4 different size pillows per each bed, mini bar (extra pay), iron, free bottled water, big TV, air-conditioner, shower cabin and bathtub, bathrobes and slippers. What surprised me was light inside of the wardrobe. You open it and it is illuminated. Very comfortable if you are back at night and need to put something inside and don't want to disturb your roommate. Also each room has a small kitchenette which consists of a kettle, glasses and a box with coffee, tea and cream for coffee. Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to use the gym and pool so can say nothing about them. We had breakfast only and it was great. Again I was surprised because I didn't expect such a big choice. A few types of cheese, fish, pancakes, thick pancakes, salads, vegetables, sausage, bacon, porridges, omlet, fried eggs, jams, different types of bread, fresh sliced fruits, different desserts, yoghurt - perfect. This hotel is absolutely different from all the russian hotels I've seen before. It's an European class hotel. I would recommend it to guests of Moscow from others countries. The only one minus is that free Internet is acceptable only in lobby. If you want to use it in your room you need to pay extra.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Philistine
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Presnensky
Sheraton Palace Hotel Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Moscow Monarch Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Moscow Monarch Centre Hotel

Property: Renaissance Moscow Monarch Centre Hotel
Address: Leningradsky Av., 31A/1, Moscow 125284, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 309 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Moscow Monarch Centre Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Moscow Monarch Centre Hotel, Russia! Our Moscow hotel features 366 luxurious rooms and suites and is ideal for both groups and individual business travellers. Catch up with work; keep in touch with the free Wi-Fi in this Renaissance Moscow hotel lobby. Pamper yourself in the bathroom featuring both a wall shower and a rain shower with Renaissance amenities. In this Moscow hotel exquisite Renaissance bedding awaits you. Or keep in-form in exclusive Fitness Centre and relax in the indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Moscow Monarch Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing