We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”
Review of Lotte Hotel Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lotte Hotel Moscow
Ranked #1 of 320 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed in the Lotte for 4 nights during February. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The customer service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble.

Pros - Conveniently located in the Arbat district for shopping, restaurants and bars. The hotel is quite close to Red Square/Kremlin. Leave the hotel and turn right, then at the end of the street turn right again, keeping going for 15 mins going under two subways and you will reach Red square. As noted the customer service was excellent and the rooms are clean, modern and spacious.

Cons – there is a 10 lane motorway opposite the hotel. Whilst the windows managed to block most of the noise out I would recommend a high floor room. Breakfast was a little expensive (£30)

Overall I would definitely stay in this hotel again if visiting Moscow

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    102
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
82
191
63
531
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stay here frequently for work mainly due to proximity to the office. Bottom line is that is is a quite good hotel with one major problem, that the rooms are impossibly hot with no way to manage this. But for this, I would probably have little criticism, but the heat is such a problem I am beginning to stay more at the Ritz.

Check-in: Rarely a wait, lots of staff. Staff always asks if I want to upgrade, which I find annoying. They also offer the purchase of club floor access, which is an expensive but helpful perk (see below).

Rooms: Rooms are all very nice and very large. Bathrooms have heated floors and seats. Amenities are Molton Brown, which is very nice. Lots of nice towels. Easily operated lights. Japanese toilet with heated seat and bidet. Nice views. Extra seating area and office space with very good free wifi and wired internet. Rooms do not have plug adaptors, you have to ask for them and they don't come quickly. Ask for an adaptor at checkin. Beds are comfortable and overstuffed, not firm. The sheets are not very soft. and unfortunately they do not have a top sheet, which is a problem because it is too hot to use the comforter.

The thermostat is non-functional. The rooms are extremely hot and while turning them down does cool the room a little, you will still be very very hot. You can open the window but it is very loud. As a result the rooms become very dry, and like a sauna. I woke up every day with a sore throat, feeling achy all over, which happens when I am in unhealthy conditions such as this. This problem needs to be addressed and guests should have control over room temperature. The other problem is that because it gets so hot, I would wake up sweating, and anyone who travels for work knows that the worst thing in the world is to have your natural sleep interrupted for no good reason. It is hard enough to fall asleep when you are 10 time zones from home, so being awaken due to heat is unacceptable. For this reason I may have to stop staying at Lotte.

Gym: The gym is top quality for Moscow. It is free with club floor access but I don't know if it is free in general. There are 5 treadmills, a few steppers, lots of new equipment, free weights, an adjacent pool. Very nice. There are no yoga mats which is the only negative.

Club Floor: The 3rd floor is club floor. It costs $200US (5900 Rubles) per day. For this price you get all meals served buffet style, and drinks (including wine for 2 hours at dinner). They offer menu service from the in-hotel restaurants but you just pay the menu price. Acess to club floor also gives you gym access, pressing of 2 items, a shoe shine, and some amenities like fruit in your room. I had the shoe shine and I could not tell - It was easily the worst shoe shine I have ever seen, and it would have cost $30US if I did not have club floor access. Since it was "free" I did not complain.

In short, the club floor is very expensive but since food is expensive in Moscow it is worth it if you take all meals there as many businessmen do. It is also convenient if you work long hours and/or don't want the hassle of trying new places or exploring. Everyone there seems to spend a lot of time at Lotte and hence they all know each other. Most appear to work at one or two oil companies.

Summary: Lotte is a luxury hotel with luxurious rooms that get very very hot and which you cannot make cool. It is the most expensive hotel in Moscow for good reason and offers a lot of amenities that make travel easier.

Room Tip: there is no need to upgrade as all rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for the first time(, on business) - am frequently in Moscow but usually stay at one of the Marriotts.

I was very impressed with this hotel overall - it seems that Lotte are trying to set a standard in a city/country where standards are already unusually high - and they certainly do succeed.

I was already surprised by the number and attentiveness of welcoming staff - the doormen in -15C outside, the hosts in the lobby, concierge etc. Check-in was great - very quick and efficient.

The room should impress just about anyone. Everything seems to be on an immense scale, and in particular the bathrooms are very luxurious. Even more impressive is the spa and fitness area - it is huge for a hotel and still manages to create a special atmosphere.

Breakfast was the only slight disappointment - and only becuase the hotel inspires such high expectation. I don't know if the hotel is regularly so empty, but mabye because of this, the chef seemed to have economised on the perishable produce - i.e. poor selection of fresh fruits. Everything was available to order, but the buffet items simply didn't taste. I'm in particular comparing this to the opulent buffet at the Marriott Grand. However there is a live pianist at breakfast if you can believe!

Moscow is VERY expensive - and this hotel certainly keeps up with the prices - room-service mineral water costing US$40-a-litre!!!

Regarding location I'm a little mixed especially as regarding tourism. The hotel is located on the end of the Arbat area - very beautiful, but I felt that I missed being on the main Tverskaya Boulevard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPG_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

since i have been to much busy,i take my time now to review this wonderful lotte hotel.i spent 5 days with my family on july 2012.there is nothing to complain about the hotel.large rooms,very well appointed(electronics board,all facilities),good agencies of the bathroom with separate shower and toilets and in beetween the 2 lavatories.beautiful decor assorted with the curtains.very nicing and helpful staff,from the lobby to restaurant to fitness center and especially the concierge(they will help you as much as they can and speack all languages you need).imagine that i lost my mobile(i-phone4s) in the taxi and they found it to me after 1 day.and one night the a/c was a little bit out of order,so they upgraded us to a suite and offer room dinner with lot of appetizers and wine.the breakfast is is very good with a large choice and especially salmon and caviar. and the final bouquet u will certainly meet a superstar as they all choose lotte hotel for their staying at moscou.for example my boy(16 years old) was so happy to meet star football: coach carlo ancelotti, and former football player of barcelona,samuel etoo.we took pictures with them and had autograph.finally the location is unbeatable,with metro station at 5 mn walking and in the middle of famous arbat district.i almost travel and have tried many hotels, i can tell u that lotte hotel is one of the famouset i have stayed in.u will absolutely not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank achif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with great location. You can walk to the Red Square, Kremlin etc... from here. It is right in between the old and new arbats. This hotel is Korean owned and it shows with the technology used in every room. The hotel has multiple restaurants, spa, gym and bar. This hotel is very clean and the service provided is impeccable. The staff at hotel is friendly and helpful, and the cleaning service provided by the hotel is top notch. There is also a fine buffet breakfast for the guests of the hotel. I would recommend staying here if you don't mind forking up some money, but this is not the hotel to stay at if you want to have a cheap trip to Moscow.

The only drawbacks to this hotel are the cost to use the business center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrektheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed on business for 4 nights and had terrific service and the room standard was one of the best I've ever experienced. Very comfortable bed, and desk, sofa, etc made it very comfortable for working and relaxation. (I was in a deluxe) Bathroom very high standard, including Japanese high tech toilet. A new experience. Location is very good, handy for Old Arbat (overrated) and close to Metro. The public areas are grand in style and the entrance is a bit over the top but striking in design. Breakfast selection and service was top class, food in the bar very good too, if a little pricey, but in line with the nonsensical prices in Moscow generally. Room was overheated and needed not only heat turned off but a window opened to start with to get down to 21. High tech lighting controls malfunctioned once- all lights came on unexpectedly. Fixed rapidly by staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauriceMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

From beginning to end, the staff of this hotel went above and beyond to make our stay great. The rooms are near perfect and the beds are a godsend to jet lagged travelers. The location in this tough city is perfect for business and sight seeing. It is expensive, but worth every penny. I will be back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrazierSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 320 in Moscow
3,063 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 320 in Moscow
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte Hotel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Hotel Moscow

Property: Lotte Hotel Moscow
Address: Novinskiy Blvd, 8/2, Moscow 121099, Russia
Phone Number:
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Arbat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 320 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotte Hotel Moscow 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Lotte Hotel Moscow located on Novinskiy Boulevard in the very heart of Moscow was opened in September 2010. The hotel offers 300 spacious standard rooms and suites, the largest Royal Suite in the city and two splendid restaurants - OVO progressive Italian cuisine restaurant, managed by Carlo Cracco - a Michelin holder and world-famous restauratuer and chef, and MEGUmi, a modern Japanese restaurant. Lotte Hotel Moscow also boasts six conference halls capable of accommodating banquets and business events of any size and format, an innovative Executive Club Floor, a three-level underground parking facility, and a state-of-the-art fitness center and pool. The world-famous Mandara Spa combines the ancient Balinese spa traditions with the latest achievements of the Elemis and Bellefontaine cosmetics lines. As a part of The Leading Hotels of the World, the largest luxury hotels & resorts collection, Lotte Hotel offers a wide range of top-level facilities joined with outstanding client-oriented service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Lotte Hotel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing