We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Restaurant in the Kitay-Gorod Area”
Review of Noah's Ark

Noah's Ark
Ranked #299 of 13,716 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Armenian, European
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant in the Kitay-Gorod Area”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had an excellent meal at Noah's Ark, which is located close to the Kitay-Gorod Metro stop. (The name of the restaurant on the outside is written in Cyrillic.) The interior of the restaurant is beautiful, but we chose to sit outside because the weather was unbelievably warm. We had homemade breads, baba ghanoush, a variety of cheeses and fresh vegetables to start. We ordered a red wine, the least expensive at $70/bottle, which was pleasant by CA standards. We ate the house special of a variety of grilled meats that were the best we tasted in our 14-day trip in Russia. We closed the meal with coffees and a tray of dried fruit. The bill for four was about $300. The service was excellent, but be prepared, very little English is spoken. Luckily, however, we were given a menu in English from which to order.
The restaurant is easy to find as long as you exit the metro on the southeast corner. (We were barely able to sort through the Cyrillic and so it took us a long time to find the restaurant, but others might not find this so difficult.) We also were the only ones who had walked as cars and drivers were parked next to the restaurant waiting for their riders.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plumeria_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A very nice atmosphere but the food is average”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The atmosphere in the restaurant, the service and the staff are still on the high level. Besides it has a fantastic location in the heart of Moscow downtown far from the tourist routes. It wasn't my first visit to this restaurant and I should say that even the food is still good it is more average than it was 2 years ago. I mean that you can have the same food in many Moscow restaurants and today if you want to have a real Armenian lunch Noah's Ark is definitely not the best place to go. Besides it is not cheap at all...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirillIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Average and expensive...”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Went for corporate lunch. The place is owned by Armenians with the respective cuisine. The interio is fashible and has a lot of gold decorations. The food is authentic Armenian. Quality is average. The grilled meat was good. Nothing special. Price is high.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Went here for lunch in mid-October 2011. Had a little trouble finding it but had a map and asked a young Russia woman to help us, and she did. It's int he Kitay Gorod neighborhood, a very nice neighborhood and one that if you have time, should explore.

Know that the sign on the front of the restaurant is in Cyrillic so make sure you have the spelling in that, not Latin, in order to help find it.

Menu is is both Russian and English.

We had at the Business lunch - 600 rubles pp. Very tasty food. Server was friendly and competent. With dessert they gave us two pieces of Wrigley's Spearmint gum! Pretty funny. We found that some other places do this as well.

Hmmm.

Anyway, would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkland WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I found Noah's Ark again after a snowy visit back in 2006. This time, it was a sunny hot August day, and I had my husband and mother in tow. We sat out on their beautiful patio, cooled with misters and clever rolling shades. The Armenian food stood up to my memories. Lovely shashliks, wonderful grilled delights, and great wine. For a change from the typical Russian fare, the Armenian cuisine at Noah's Ark is perfect, any time of year.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noah's Ark also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Noah's Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing