We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice in Moscow”
Review of Aquamarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquamarine Hotel
Ranked #14 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good choice in Moscow”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nice hotel and reasonably priced (for Moscow). A good 30 minutes walk to red square but then we did get a bit lost (walked over the same bridge twice).

Staff friendly and helpful both in the restaurant and reception (who were happy to give advice and directions). The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service good.

It is situated a short work from quite a good selection of shops and restaurants catering for a variety of tastes (including a MacDonald's if that is your taste).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    228
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
158
48
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modling, Austria
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is extremely nice, located in a very quiet, protected area about 30 min to walk to the red square.
The interior is very modern and stylish,large rooms. The breakfast buffet was great, the service was alright. Subway station, Tretyakov gallery and several restaurants are on the mains streets around 10 min to walk. Sauna and spa are nice and clean.

Unfortunately, the hotel is quite expensive as all hotels in Moscow so rather catering for business travelers.
As long as such homophobic laws are effective, I cannot recommend anybody to travel to Russia as a tourist.

Room Tip: Rooms into the courtyard are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterbrunner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquamarine2010, Guest Relations Manager at Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear peterbrunner71,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is our pleasure to hear that your experience was a positive one!
We are very pleased to know that Aquamarine Hotel met your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about hotel facilities, breakfast and hotel team. It is the best motivation for us in our work.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel!

Kind regards
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel was great just a ten minute walk from the metro to the airport, about a 15 minute walk to red square. We visited in January and it was -18 outside but the hotel was always warm. Hotel reception staff were helpful. We arrived late and had a meal in the bar/restaurant and the food was good as was the russian champagne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquamarine2010, Guest Relations Manager at Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear PaulS1978,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. com. We are very glad to know, that our hotel met your expectations. Thank you for your great comments about the warm atmosphere of the hotel, the quality of food in our bar and restaurant and our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Locating the hotel was easy with the help of Google Maps. We travelled from the Sheremetyevo airport with the AeroExpress. We then went on the Metro, and then got a taxi to the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance from the nearest metro, but we just wanted to get our luggage to the hotel. The hotel is in a nice neighbourhood and there is a grocery store located in between the metro and the hotel.

We arrived late at the evening, and were pleased to see that the bar is open 24 hours a day, with the same menu as the restaurant. The check in went flawless and the staff spoke English. We had a good meal in the bar while talking to other tourists and business travellers. The room was decently decorated and furnished. The room had several windows to the large back yard. We ate breakfast in the restaurant hall. The breakfast was quite nice, and you could have a chef prepare boiled or fried eggs for you.

All in all a very nice stay. One minus was that the cleaning staff knocked on our doors quite early one day. That could've been avoided by using the "do not disturb"-sign though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehldotno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquamarine2010, Guest Relations Manager at Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Mehldotno,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com! We are glad that the location of the hotel was convenient for you as well as the surroundings. Your detailed and positive comments regarding our staff and the comfort of the rooms are very important for us. It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant and the menu choice in our Lobby-bar.
We thank you for your kind comments and will look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel,

With kind regards,
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I took the opportunity to spend a day in Moscow on my way home. It was mid 30s so I decided to stay In town rather than the airport.

I selected Aquamarine for its location, trip advisor rating, walking distance to attractions, but still tucked away from the tourist sites. It's 25 minute walk to Red Square or 500 rubles taxi. I walked to both the Red Square and Pushkin museum - cutting thru neighborhoods rather than hugging the river that my map application recommended. I came across lots of neat buildings, parks with art work on my walks.

The room and hotel was very nice, clean, up to date. The hotel staff was very good. The fitness center is small, but equipment both machines and free weights were in good shape, there is a spa didn't use it. The room has a tea pot to heat water and a mini bar. Bed was firm, sheets clean and comfortable. Pillows were a bit thick for me. LCD flat screen TV with quite a few English stations. The breakfast buffet has a very nice mix of healthy and unhealthy food - from fresh fruits to bacon. I heard very little hall traffic, but I am here off season.

I had access to a small executive room on the 8th floor. It has two computers and a printer. I was able to access the internet easily, speed was fast.

There are lots of nice cafés nearby, on Pyatnitskaya ulitsa avenue, 10 minutes walk. The area is very active with couples, young adults. The cafés closed at 11 pm though. I felt safe walking around, but was still alert of my surroundings. Since it's February, the streets are dirty with snow treatment, so dress accordingly.

Also, I prebooked Martex Taxi, www.zz.ru, for transfer from the airport to the hotel and back. 1350 rubles each way. They met me in the airport, very prompt. I think hiring a taxi on the spot is more expensive.

I thoroughly enjoyed my short visit and hotel experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank fivermillions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquamarine2010, Guest Relations Manager at Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Fivermillions,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review on Tripadvisor.com. Our team is happy to know that your experience was highly positive. The location of the hotel in the “quite center” of Moscow allows taking walks to major city sights and to enjoy surroundings. It was a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the cleanliness and the equipment of the room, the wide variety of our breakfast, the business lounge and the gym. Our team is always at your service.
Your valuable comments regarding the travel around the city and the possibility to pre-book the transfer to the hotel will be helpful for other travelers choosing our hotel as their destination in Moscow. Thank you for sharing your experience!
We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel again!

With warm regards,
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel was a good base for exploring Moscow. Heading north towards the city centre was a bit fiddly as the entrance is kind of at the rear. Difficult to describe really but, to head towards the nearest Metro or walk to Red Square, you have to go east towards the canal first then back on yourself. Just a bit of an odd street layout I would say. The Metro is 10 minutes walk, Red Square is 25 minutes. Paveletskaya (for the Aeroexpress from Domedodovo Airport) is 15 mins.

Moscow was freeziing cold when I was there so the warm hotel was great to come back to in the evening after a busy day sightseeing. I ate out in the day but had meals in the bar every night and the food was really quite good quality and good value for a city centre hotel.

The room was changed daily. The maids would come round each night with chocolate and a card which was a nice touch. Staff on reception and bar staff spoke good English so no problems there.

Didn't take breakfast so not sure what that was like. There were reasonable cafes on the way to the Metro/City centre instead.

Overall, would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjlse546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquamarine2010, Guest Relations Manager at Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear gjlse546,
Thank you very much for choosing our property and taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
It is great to read that you liked our facilities and location. Please accept special thanks from our Chief Alexandr Zavadsky concerning your comments about the dinner at Ruby Bar. He was really happy to hear such positive comments!
Hope to see you soon at Aquamarine hotel,

Kind regards,
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed in the Aquamarine Hotel Moscow in the winter. Very quiet room on the upper floors with a view towards the river. Extremely clean, after an early check in the room maids came around in the afternoon to again check everything, replace towels etc. Staff were very nice, spoke English very well too. I missed the breakfast on both days, yet the bar had good food, with a complete menu. They have an excellent spa too, if you have time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any upper floor rooms, on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquamarine2010, Guest Relations Manager at Aquamarine Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear happytravelersLDMN,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that your experience was a positive one!
We are very pleased to know that Aquamarine Hotel met your expectations. Thank you for kind comments about our staff. It is the best motivation for us in our work.
We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel!

Kind regards,
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#5 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
Mercure Moscow Paveletskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmira Business Club
#38 of 313 in Moscow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#11 of 313 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarine Hotel

Property: Aquamarine Hotel
Address: Ozerkovskaya Emb., 26, Moscow 115184, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Zamoskvorechye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 313 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamarine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stroll away from the Kremlin, Tretyakov State Gallery and close to the main Exhibition centers the new Aquamarine Hotel is the ideal address for Business and Leisure in Moscow. The hotel is perfect for the needs and lifestyle of the modern businessman and business woman. The 159 exquisite rooms and Suites are equipped with the latest multi-media technology and offer state-of-the-art business services. The guests can enjoy gourmet meals at the Topaz restaurant or light snacks at the Ruby Bar. For relaxation hotel offers the Fitness Centre including a steam room and a variety of massages, full SPA facilities with exclusive cosmetic products. The Aquamarine hotel is your new place to be in Moscow for Business and Pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aquamarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing