We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet hostel chocolate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chocolate Hostel Moscow
Ranked #91 of 1,460 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“sweet hostel chocolate”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Chocolate hostel is really a nice hostel. First of all, it's clean. So, i felt comfortable. Staff is also nice and helpful. Since it's not a big hostel, there is more friendly atmosphere with staff and other travelers. They even sometimes serve you pie and some other things. Location is excellent. Close to metro station and the Kremlin.
Disadvantage can be that it may be a bit difficult to find. There isn't any sign about the hostel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gorjachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
8
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in the Chocolate hostel. Its small but cute and cozy. There is a really nice atmosphere in the hostel, you fell more like in a friends place not in the hostel.
The good thing about this hostel is that common room is combined with the kitchen and there is a big chance that you will meet someone to talk to there.
The girls from reception are doing their best to entertain and to gather all guests together. They made a pizza one day for us, and the other day we spent playing UNO almost until morning.
Whenever we hade questions the staff was happy to help us, and the had lots of tips about places to visit.
The important thing before you come to the hostel to read the description how to get there cerefully, because Moscow is huge and people on the streets not always know the street you are looking for, if you will just remember the metro station and the name of the hostel, if you are not lucky you can spend hours searching for it, eventhough its just 5 minutes from metro Pushkinskaya.
There is a small shop in front of the hostel and supermarket 5 minutes away.
There is a cheap restaurant with russian food near metro Pushkinskaya.
The best area to go out - is metro Kitay gorod, there are plenty of bars and clubs.its 30 minutes walking from the hostel, or 2 stops by metro.
I would recommend this hostel to everybody who is looking forward to meet new people and not searching for quite boring hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 748LindaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I rightly recommend Chocolate hostel! This is a amazing place. The staffs were all quite helpful and I met people from everywhere.
Very well located just few minutes walking from Red Square, and with a very good level of clealiness;

Thanks to people from chocolate hostel my experience in Moscow were brilhant. I will for sure see u all again one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCA1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's a bit hard to find - they're no signage whatsoever. I went into the courtyards several times, and had to ask several times before finding it.
It seems a bit old, but relatively well kept up.
Staff is decent.
Pretty close to Pushkin square - about 5-6 minutes from it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perunak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ok first of all, this place is a pain in the bum to find. When you leave Tverskaya metro station, it will be the second street to your right. IMMEDIATLEY after the big, fancy Intercontinental hotel. Keep walking down that street.... it looks wrong...but keep walking.... past the park and it's on your left.

First impressions upon entering the building aren't good. The communual area is a bit minging but things improve when you enter the hostel. Our receptionist from Hong Kong (I think!) was very helpful and friendly throughout.

We stayed in a twin room which was very basic...but we always knew that. It was clean and had towels so thats all that mattered. FREE wifi!!!

There are 2 showers and 2 toilets so if the hostel was busy, you may have to queue. I recommend using the facilities on the first floor... not ground floor.

You can walk to Red Square in about 20 minutes... or it's one stop on the metro.

TIP: When you walk back towards the metro station, there is a restaurant on the left hand side. I can't remember the name but it has a green sign. It is a buffet restaurant and is very good value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddy0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It may take a while to find as the location is in a side street, but this is a gem of a place. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, clean bathroom, good location. Easy to walk to the Red Square and right in the middle of Moscow. We were there on New Year's Eve and the hostel threw a party with great Russian Food, singing and of course Vodka :).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeckishAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Choco hostel was a little hard to find. The best thing to do is get the metro to Tverskaya station (name looks like "Tbeckar" in Russian). Exit onto the main road (also called Tbekcar) and walk straight up it (north on a map). When you reach the Intercontinental Hotel, turn right onto the street just after it. Keep heading down the left hand side of that road until you get to a park then you will see the big black door in the block after the park on your left. Buzz number 4.
Not hard once you've found it the first time.

The staff were friendly (in a Russian kind of way =p) and the place was neat. Sadly there was no hot water working in the main bathroom when we were there and the 2nd bathroom had quite a small, dingy shower. The usual bathroom for guests was nicer though.

There were decent lockers in the rooms and they provided clean sheets and a towel etc.

The hostel is located on a quiet street so it's easy to sleep at night, and the hostel itself, when we were there, was also fairly quiet.

Location is great. A 10-15 minute walk down the road to the Kremlin and Red Square =) lots of cheap, but Russian-style food nearby,

Basically, it's a small hostel - don't expect anything more. But it felt friendly, safe and had dynamite hot chocolate in the mornings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCash92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Apple Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Khovanskiy
Boutique Hotel Khovanskiy
#193 of 313 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Moscow Tverskaya Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skver Hotel
Skver Hotel
#31 of 536 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pushkin Hotel
Pushkin Hotel
#4 of 536 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Che Hotel
Che Hotel
#55 of 536 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolate Hostel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Hostel Moscow

Property: Chocolate Hostel Moscow
Address: Degtyarny Lane, 15/1-4, Moscow 125009, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 1,460 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chocolate hostel (hostelship "3 Penguins") is located in the heart of Moscow, by the side of Pushkinskaya square, Lenkom Theatre, Tverskaya street. The Red Square is situated within 15-minutes walking from our Chocolate Hostel. Along walking distance from our Hostel there are The Museum of Revolution, The Patriarchal Ponds, Hermitage Garden, great number of night clubs, cafes and restaurants, cinemas.We invite you to visit our city to see all the amenity of Russian capital and we, Chocolate Hostel, will do all our best to make your rest in Moscow. Inexpensive residing with all conveniences in our minihotel, home atmosphere, tasty hot cocoa, chocolate and pancakes is just the small part of services which Chocolate Hostel provides you.To have a drink chocolate, to take a backpack and ride a bicycle to the most beautiful places of Moscow or to take a walk, or take a boat trip isn't it what you need?You will be met by the hospitable personnel of our hostel, English speaking and knowing places of interest and beauties of our city well. We will help you organise your visit to trifles.We will help you to organize your visit: booking of tickets, river boat tours, museums, excursions, exhibitions, clubs, cinemas and many other things.In our Hostel there is no curfew and we are working 24 hours in a day.Welcome to the Chocolate Hostel Moscow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chocolate Hostel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing