We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Works Out OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherston Hotel
Ranked #142 of 308 Hotels in Moscow
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Works Out OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Right across the street from the train station Okruzhnaya (so, you will hear the trains!) and not a bad walk from the Vladikino Metro station (as long as you know how to do it - through a park, ect.)
The lady at the front desk had pretty good English, so really no problems. Room was clean and everything worked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    65
    53
    19
    11
See reviews for
10
52
23
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for nearly 2 weeks last month on Business. We were given a room facing the Train and was rather noisy. But the room is clean with all toilet facilities and good Shower pressure. The service from
Reception and cleaning staff was on average, but the buffet breakfast is OK. It offers varieties, including sausage, various types of Ham, cheese, fried rice/ spaghetti, eggs, fruits , salad, pancakes and different bread rolls,...
We went to Botancial Garden nearby, as well as to different sightseeing spots including Museums, orthodox churches, Kremlin,... by metro and/or Rail after squeezing time from Business work.
As to hotel expenses, we feel it is still worthwhile especially if need to visit and attend in Exhibition centre nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was really afraid of this hotel after reading some of older reviews.
Now, after 5 nights stay, I can safely say that this hotel was absolutely wonderful. It was very easy to find - few steps from train station Okruzhnaya (three stop from station Belorusskaya), 1 km from metro station Vladykino, 2 km from station Petrovsko-Razumovskaya. From Sheremetyevo airport by taxi about 40 minutes, price 1500 roubles. To city centre about 25 minutes by metro.
Rooms are spacious (also for two persons), very clean, furniture was new, beds were comfortable. Bathroom, unfortunately, looks like from old soviet era, but also here everything was clean and desinfected.
Windows prevents the room from noise, so you can sleep without ear-plugs:)
Wi-fi connection was great, it works without problems, we were able to call via Skype.
Breakfast room/restaurant was very nice, breakfast were good - eggs, sausages, butter, variety of cheeses, breads, juices, vegetables etc. You can eat and drink without limits:) Unfortunately, there is no vodka or cognac available in the restaurant:)
Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: My room was on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadovanDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambov, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is a little bit far from the nearest metro station otherwise everything is good, we booked online and we found confirmation on the desk, staff speaks enough english, the price was very good becausd with the same price you can't get much more better moscow I recommand this hotel for the economic trips for the students in Russia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maghreb_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for nearly a week in this hotel this September. The twin room and the bathroom, are spacious , but a longer "shower curtain" is suggested . Our room is quiet ( also very clean ) as we lived on the top floor facing the courtyard.
The receptionists ( 1 of them can speak fluent English) , cleaning maids, catering staff are friendly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is splendid, including sausages, eggs, fried rice/ spaghetti ( on alternate days) , variety of ham and cheese, good salad and fruits, together with variety of bread and many others, which are frequently Refilled. We have complimentary , free WiFi in public area and in our room, and we just need to get a new , daily, WiFi access code, perhaps for security reason.
As we have good sleep in a quiet room and plentiful choices of food in our breakfast, we are energetic on our day trips ( both business and holiday) by metro, just followed the signs on the platforms and the metro map, which are not difficult to locate if reading carefully.

As to location, from SVO airport we took airport bus 851 to metro station Rechnoi Vokzal where, after few stops, we changed from Circular line to another metro line Mendeleyevskaya heading for station Vladykno. There are such hotel's road marks on the pavement providing short-cut ( rather Safe walking ) , and just took us within 15 minutes on foot.

When coming back to Moscow next year on business, we would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked online and they pretented not to have my reservation. Later they told me that they did not receice my payment. And even later there was no room availible for 'that' price?!?!

I was not able to pay again on the spot and although I could show them there own confirmations, they did not care. It was late in the evening when I arrived and I had to wait for 5 hours in the lobby for them to find things out. I already showed them all there confirmations...

To speed things up, I went to an ATM and got more cash. I went up, double booking a room and I payed two times. No help, no understanding from Sherston. Very, very nasty administration and people behind the counter!!

Try to avoid this hotel. Really...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peterdewitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Beograd
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

As soon as you rich reception and by entering the III rd. floor room you started Moscow communist tour. Toilet is from that era, and it wasn’t refurbished all this time. Some of the tiles are different, after plumbing repairs; they didn't bother to replace with same tiles. My shower handle was broken, and it took 3 days for them to replace with new one. Don’t know how newly refurbish rooms look like but chances to have a one of those is less than 50%. Never seen stuff member smiling. Only positive thing is cleanness. Everything is perfectly clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ostankino
Hotel Ostankino
#76 of 308 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Voskhod Hotel
Voskhod Hotel
#125 of 308 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altay Econom Hotel
Altay Econom Hotel
#243 of 308 in Moscow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sayany Hotel
Sayany Hotel
#247 of 308 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Moskvich
Hotel Moskvich
#211 of 308 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Molodyozhny
Hotel Molodyozhny
#161 of 308 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherston Hotel

Property: Sherston Hotel
Address: Gostinichny Dr., 8/1, Moscow 127106, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 308 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sherston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing