We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but let's put in context”
Review of Beard Papa's - CLOSED

Beard Papa's
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Khamovniki
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good, but let's put in context”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Truthfully, I'm writing this middling review simply to balance out the previous reviews of greatness, which had Beard Papa's at #10 of all food places in Moscow. Beard Papa's is certainly a small pleasure, but with an emphasis on the word "small". It is a worldwide chain (I've actually had better Beard Papa's cream puffs in NYC) and you can do far better in Moscow than going out of your way to pay it a visit. If you happen to at the Pushkin Museum and are in the mood for something light and sweet, stop by. If it's out of the way, not worth the effort trekking there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank coolpapabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“shoe cream?”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Yes, we see anywhere in big super markets this shop in Tokyo, and glad to have them in Moscow! I think taste is close to those we have in Japan. Our kids are glad to eat them in special celebration days in Moscow.
By the way, cream puff is called "shoe cream" in Japan that you never eat, but in fact it is from French word "chou à la crème", which is brought to Japan by French in the end of Samurai era (late middle of 19th century). Even I thought it was Japanese national food in childhood. Beard Papa's one is enough good and can say excellent in Moscow but I'd classify it in the middle of quality. If you don't believe it, go to Tokyo, cut up cafe and scream for "shoe cream"!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kangoool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Default City
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I can't believe it is Japanese!”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

What are these people doing inventing these beautiful profiterole! It must have been french, italian or at least american to make it taste soooo good. I am truly amazed. And I don't know anybody who can resist one. Cafe inside is really small, but they do offer tea/coffee which you can have with your precious profiterole.

Helpful?
Thank defene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you like cream puffs, this is your place”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I first saw them in London and was sad to know Moscow doesn't have those. And they have finally opened several places in Moscow! And if you don't like cream puffs, after you try one of theirs, you'll wonder how you lived without them all your life. Yes, they're that good :D

Helpful?
1 Thank Elena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beard papa's lovely cream puffs”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I found about Beard papa's last winter after they opened their first Moscow shop on Gogolevsky bulvard 6. The Japanese making something very French (puffs filled with vanilla cream)... the idea sounded a bit weird at first. They were so good though! Light and crispy dough. The cream is cool, smooth and very rich with its natural vanilla aroma.

Beard papa's originates from Japan. The chain of small shops selling cream puffs spreads across the world through franchising. The head company insists not only on the same format, but on using exactly the same Japanese ingredients (especially flour and vanilla) no matter which country the outlet operates in. The first and main thing is this round puff with vanilla cream.

Moscow outlet now has two more: green tea and chocolate.

See more pictures here: http://fooodstory.blogspot.com/2011/02/beard-papas-moscow-lovely-cream-puffs.html

This year I also found Beard papa's in Bangkok Siam Paragon shopping mall. Another one I saw in Singapore Takashimaya mall. This shop have lots of cream puffs forms and flavors.

Now I'm back and can't help comparing. Yes, it's true, the puffs are same good everywhere. Hope they'll get more flavors to Moscow shops soon.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaSorokina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beard Papa's also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing