We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff”
Review of HM Hostel Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HM Hostel Moscow
Ranked #401 of 1,564 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We found this hostel recommended by a friendly russian guy who helped us out after our first hostel let us down. They accommodated us late at night and the staff were very friendly and helpful to our need for directions and advice on continuing onto st Petersburg. The hostel is warm, inviting and very clean. Although hard to find (which seems to be the case for most hostels) it is in a very good location (Arbat Street) which has many things close for daily needs. One shower and two toilets but not a problem at all if your willing to wait or shower before bed. All in all a great stay and have already recommended others we have bumped into who are on their way to Moscow.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet2336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Janet! Thank you for your warm words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we will be glad to see you again in Moscow any time. Big hugs! HM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for HM Hostel Moscow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hostel is very small, clean, and tidy. It's not your typical hostel, it's a very nice flat with three rooms: girls dorm, mens dorm, and mixed. The staff is very friendly and everyone speaks English. Excellent location, too! I really recommend it, I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Martin! Thank you for your warm review. We are happy you liked the place and we will be glad to see you again nest time you are in Moscow. Big hugs! HM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had to make a last minute change to my vacation plans and stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The facilities were actually quite good, good amount of space, nice lounge, full kitchen, and good bathrooms. Being a hostel, you have to expect your quality of sleep to suffer, but I have to say I was still quite satisfied with the experience. As for the location, it doesn't get much better than this. If I had one complaint it would be to add an additional shower. Although I didn't have a problem with waiting to use it while I was there, I can definitely see that as being a potential issue if you stay here. The dreary entrance-way and dubious elevator are extremely typical in Russia, I'm not sure than this hostel can do much to fix that.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at HM's. We hope to see you next time when you come to our city. Hugs from Moscow! HM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very nice stay in HM Hostel. The staff was helpful and friendly. They speak english or german.
The room was amazing! It was big with a small couch and a table. The beds (I tested 2 of them) were very comfortable. The locker seems new. Everything is close and for those who don't like to walk, the metro station is right across the street.
I'd only see 2 negative points: it's the price of water bottle and the code to come in the building that changes unexpectedly.
I'd go back to HM Hostel every time I go to Moscow,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieLyinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Marie! Thank you for your warm words. We hope to see you again. And we are thinking of changing the water price and codes policy. It was a pleasure to have your company as guests. Hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Friendly atmosphere without being over the top. Natural in all ways. Really comfortable bed or bunk. Marble bathroom has full size bath and great pressure in the shower. One toilet in bathroom and second next door. Lovely kitchen with marble topped benches and fully equipped. Free internet in lounge without pressure. As an older female traveling alone I felt very secure in this small hostel which was around the corner from Arbut Street which is a famous shopping area which has McDonalds etc......
May I thank the young man from Eygpt who escorted me to the railway station to connect with my flight. The Metro is great but I had not had the chance to experience it sufficently to confidently make my way in time.
This hostel I would recommend to any traveler for a clean, quiet, friendly hostel close to the Metro at a very reasonable cost.
Thanks again
Lorraine

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Lorraine!
Thank you for your review. We are always waiting for you to come again. Hugs from Moscow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great staff and friendly people... not exactly a good sleep night, but people are very nice. Free internet is wonderful as much as the central location (15 min walking to Red Square)... unfortunately there are no separated rooms for female and male, even if booked as it!!! Building first impression were a little bit creepy. Old entrance, archaic elevator..but getting upstairs the hostel is comfy and pleasant. Don't let yourself get scared before that. After all, the adventure totally worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina_Novelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear, Nina!
Thank you for your review. We are happy you liked to stay with us. We are working on to make the building more beautiful. As for the female and male rooms... we always had both separate rooms and one mixed room. I'm afraid maybe you stayed in the hostel that is one floor before?.. Well, anyways we always will be glad to see you one more time in any of the room that you will choose. Hugs from Moscow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The location is great for getting to the Kremlin and the Arbat Metro station. Clean good quality hostel, but with only one bathroom which meant quite a bit of queing unless you get up early. The hostel used to be an apartement so there is a good sized kitchen and lounge area with tables, chairs and a TV. Very good if you want to save a few Roubles and cook your own food, storage and a large fridge. Some parts of the decor especially the cracked floor tiles need attention, but well maintained otherwise. Some staff were great, while others are less so, some confusion over my booking as the guy's language skills weren't great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IGL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are changing every day to become better and better so I hope one day you will visit us once more and would be able to notice the positive changes. We are happy that still you liked our place. Waiting you in Moscow. Hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Vinegret Hostel
Vinegret Hostel
#19 of 1,564 in Moscow
80 reviews
Landmark Hostel Arbat
#25 of 1,564 in Moscow
104 reviews
Arbat
Hostels Rus - Arbat
Hostels Rus - Arbat
#141 of 1,564 in Moscow
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Flamingo on Stary Arbat
Flamingo on Stary Arbat
#98 of 592 in Moscow
1 reviews
Arbat
Labordage Hostel
Labordage Hostel
#211 of 1,564 in Moscow
23 reviews
Red Kremlin Hostel
#204 of 1,564 in Moscow
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Hostel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Hostel Moscow

Address: Gogolevskiy b-r 33/1, 4th Floor | Apt. 14, Moscow 119019, Russia
Location: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Khamovniki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 1,564 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
Price Range: $10 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HM Hostel is located in the heart of Moscow, next to the famous Arbat Street and only a few minutes walk from the Kremlin, Red Square and the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. We are located in a very close proximity to two metro stations, making all of Moscow easily accessible to hostel guests.The Arbat area has a lively night life with many bars and restaurants, yet more often than not, guests like to stay in and enjoy a night together at the hostel, because of its warm and friendly atmosphere. Our friendly English and of course Russian speaking staff are at the hostel 24/7 to make your stay enjoyable, to provide assistance as needed and to ensure that the hostel is clean and friendly at all times.Our hostel has several dorm rooms, including one which is men only and a women only room as well. We do not simply push guests into every available corner we have, but made our rooms a very spacious and non-claustrophobic place to rest your head. We have a beautiful bathroom and our well-equipped kitchen is a great alternative to visiting Moscow’s (not so cheap) restaurants. We also offer free Wi-Fi and have a computer in our cozy common room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your HM Hostel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing