We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Moscow”
Review of Cafe Mu-Mu

Cafe Mu-Mu
Ranked #218 of 13,829 Restaurants in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery
Neighborhood: Khamovniki
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good choice for Moscow”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Cafe Mu-Mu is a fast food place, actually, but since Moscow is a very expensive city, with overpriced restaurants and cafes, Mu-Mu is a very good choice for travellers and business visitors who do not want to pay a fortune for just a lunch. It is clean, cheap and simple, but has a touch of Russian style cuisine and quite fast. Don't forget that Russia has a "soup culture", typical Russian dinner is unthinkable without a soup, so, be sure to order one, Mu-Mu has a nice choice of them.
Mostly recommended for budget dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    128
    61
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fast and easy”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

well it was my first time in this kind of cafeteria. It was also my first return to Moscow in 1995. Brought back good old memories. Moderate selection of food and drinks. Fast and easy meals and not too expensive in Moscow standards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hai-Anh-Pham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for Russian cuisine”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Russian typical fast food restaurant. Fast timing service, Significant and Miscellaneous Russian dishes, Always crowded during mealtimes. Ambience is average, the interior is alike suited in the farm. I had rice, grilled pork chop, fried chicken, salads, and chicken noodle soup for my choice, of course along with a cold beer which relieves my stresses after the long hours of work. I had outdoor seat where could capture the street performance at night, and also stay away from the indoor din. The only drawback is the language barrier, I had to do all kind of hilarious body languages to clarify with my order and expenditure. It was a little bit embarrassing to behave like that in the public. It probably applies all the same in the city since the figure indicates only 3% of them speak English.

Anyway, I would still definitely come back again in a few months when my visit to Moscow is arranged. Have a try of local taste, its worth to pay a visit! Bon Appetit

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlitos_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you're looking for traditional Russian food, there's no place like Mu-Mu”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Mu-Mu isn't exactly a cafe. It's not a place you'd go to for a nice cup of coffee with a friend or to close a business deal or whatnot. And if you're looking for more gourmet-type restautants, please avoid this cafe! It's simple and serves very traditional homemade-type food. If you're out and about alone or with your family exploring Moscow for the day and you get hungry for lunch, Cafe Mu-Mu is perfect because it serves good quality food in a nice atmosphere - gives you the chance to taste traditional Russian food you'll find in any typical home in Moscow. It's nice and pretty cosy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank porcelainfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for sight seeing traveler”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

When I first come to Kemlin in Moscow, I visited the coffee. It's not easy to talk in English but ok because of English menu. Food is all good . i love Okroshka that is a cold soup we can't taste in another country.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitsuo_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mu-Mu also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Cafe Mu-Mu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing